We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (35)
Dining (6)
Room & Suite (4)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Membership_Interstitial_for_Hotel_Review_Returners
We can monitor prices for you!
Sign up to receive alerts.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average4%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“black cock”(37 reviews)
“the pub”(27 reviews)
“great food”(15 reviews)
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Free Parking
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
107
51
8
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
107
51
8
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack cockthe pubgreat foodspecials boardstayed here for one nightfriendly atmospheresteaksunday roastlovely mealwill visit againfamily mealfriendly staff and localslive musicwhilst working in the areaslow servicealarm clocknice village
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 189 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A thoroughly enjoyable one night stay, in this truly traditional, cosy, English pub - a long established example of a hostelry at its very best !! ...... - only downside was that we couldn’t stay longer !! (we were on a touring schedule) - superb...More

Thank HondaSP2
Reviewed yesterday

We stayed here for one night on a wowcher deal with our dog Ruby. What a lovely place, ALL the staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for their guests. There was a blanket and towel in the room for Ruby and she got...More

Thank julsngaz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night, loved the place, typical old Inn with all its old charm still in place. Great food too and great staff(Jo think it was.,was very helpful. Yes it creaks, yes it's quirky but that's is its charm. People complaining on other...More

Thank Vince W
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’m sleeping in the room and it’s 10.20pm now. Downstairs is a pup and it’s very noisy. There are people singing and playing music instruments there. I don’t understand how they can make upstairs hotel? How can we sleep? Be aware and avoid!!!More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Kirsty M, Owner at The Black Cock InnResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The name of our business is The Black Cock INN. We are a traditional Inn on the outskirts of the Lake District offering guest accommodation, great food and a traditional pub experience We didn't...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I to stay her via a Wowcher deal Sunday 26th March 2018 and paid the extra £17.50 each to stay the extra night. We travelled here from Manchester and it took us 1 Hour 35 Mins and was easy enough to find....More

3  Thank Gen W
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$55 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$55 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (35)
Dining (6)
Room & Suite (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Julie F
25 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from stacey l | Property representative |
Hi you can pretty much park where ever you like in the village there isn't any restrictions and no pay metres, thankyou for your enquiry kind regards The Black Cock Inn
0
Votes
angiepeden69
17 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Choosy983 | Reviewed this property |
Definitely book in advance. Contact the Black Bull direct for music weekends
1
Vote
Kevin_S_13956
10 January 2017|
Answer
Response from stacey l | Property representative |
Hello yes we cater for gluten free customers and we have 17 gins on sale and we serve gin specials, kind regards The Black Cock Inn
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Avoid Room 1 if you are taller than 5ft4 (the door in to the room is small)"
Read review
"don't have room 2 if they have live music & you want to sleep before 1.30am"
Read review
"Book early!"
Read review
"We didn't stay over night but on the basis of the bar area would recommend a stay."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing