We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

PricelineUS$85*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$85*
US$85*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Ellijay, Georgia
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We arrived in beetham and just looking at this beautiful building we knew we were in the right place. This was our 1st stop of 8 weeks in lake district. The room was charming and tidied daily. Food was fantastic, great local brews plus very varied menu. WE never went anywhere else. Great location for hikes and lake walks. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarr620
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Visited Tues 24th May with our dog. We both ordered the scampi & chips at £11.95 each. Service was quick and the barman/waiter was friendly and helpful...however, we were pretty disappointed when it arrived!! 8 small bits if scampi that didn't have much of a hint of scampi taste.....chips were a bit underdone and a little greasy....small salad was ok....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miacat1
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments you have posted. I must point out that the Scampi we serve is Whitby Wholetail Scampi which we have been serving for many years with no negative reports so I am at a loss as to why it should suddenly lose its taste but I accept that you were disappointed so will apologise for that....

Preston, England
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We visited early on a Saturday evening and had not booked. Our table was in the back room which was a thoroughfare for the toilets. The room seemed to lack attention, definitely not as welcoming as the entrance area. A good dust all round and a review of the whole room would go far. We had to ask to order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 79mayflower79
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

We were really sorry to hear of your recent problems, I think this must have been last weekend when our Chef had an unexpected illness and we had to draft in a relief Chef at the last minute who although an experienced professional understandably struggled slightly in a strange and very busy kitchen. I can only apologise for you having...

Darvel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The room was a superior room (Levens). Not sure I'd want to see the others. Bed was comfortable. There was a couch in the room but it looked tatty and dirty and we did not use it. Likewise the chair beside the bed. The bedside table was quite rough and only one of the two drawers had a handle on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Keith H
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This hotel is just off the A6 near Milnthorpe. We called and had a really nice lunch. Special offer of 2 courses for £7.75p. Excellent value, good food, and friendly staff. Very varied full menu as alternative

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbparker66
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

This hotel is well signposted off the A6, so we decided to call in for our evening meal.We were very glad that we did. It is a beautiful old building set in this pretty village. We were made very welcome and the staff were happy to let us choose where to sit. The room had a lovely fire burning and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz n
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Shocked at the current rating. Party of four over priced and disappointed with the whole meal. Frozen and reheated with high prices. One of those places where the staff never asked once how the food was as they already knew how bad it was. The service was extremely slow too starters took over thirty mins. And the Caesar salad was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jaspersuk
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

We were disappointed to hear you were not happy after your visit to the Wheatsheaf. We did try to contact you via the website to find out exactly when this happened so that we can investigate fully. However we have not had a reply so all we can do is comment generally. Firstly if we are busy there is always...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2016

We just stayed for lunch and drinks prior to a local company visit, and the food was lovely with a wide choice, the location is pretty, the staff were polite and friendly, If I was in the area I would definitely go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anatholie2014
Cheshire, UK
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Surprised at other reviews because our party of 4 found it very poor. Ordered what we were told was vegetable soup but turned out to be lukewarm onion soup - sent back for reheat. 3 ordered pie but were then told there were none and when tried to order chicken only one was available. Coffee was lukewarm. Shame because previous...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank janbrad
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

We were very sorry to hear about your problems and I can only apologise wholeheartedly for the problems you had, this is well below our normal standards especially since you have been before and know how we usually serve people. We do make our food freshly from scratch and sometimes run out when we are busy so unfortunately occasionally run...

Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We went out for lunch and on spec called in at the Wheatsheaf, Pleasantly greeted and shown to table, the pub has open fires and has rather an old aspect which suits the building itself. Service was quick and the food off the lunchtime specials menu was of good quality at a reasonable price. Beer/drinks prices were average and real...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raggy0001

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.2 km away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
111 reviews
4.4 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
464 reviews
8.4 km away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
13.0 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
168 reviews
11.2 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Address: Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Price Range: RM418 - RM484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Wheatsheaf at Beetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Hotel Milnthorpe
Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf at Beetham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a variety of rooms, but we did not see the inside of the other rooms.”
AlanReeve, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Good hotel for hikers”
JohnJ117, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms had lovely views.. Close to beautiful church”
helencJ8181CF, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book another hotel which puts customer safety first!”
lexcoups, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay over night”
carolynl717, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$85* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$85
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates