We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Screes Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Screes Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 398: English reviews
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was closed when we tried to see if things had improved = and it seems they have finally packed up and closed. Here's to new owners making a better go at it and to not repeat the last owners mistake of keep changing their offer, as this only succeeded in inconsistency, confusing customers and blaming them when they then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbhardcastle
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

A really cool pub to relax in after a strenuous hike up Scafell Pike. We loved all the quirky memorabilia on the roof and the walls and the background music was excellent. Stunning location with lots of outside seating to make the most of the stunning views. My husband recommends the Wizard beer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen p
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed for a few days as part of a walking holiday and found the accommodation to be well suited for those walkers looking for somewhere basic and quite to stay. There is good WiFi for those that must but thankfully no TV in the rooms. Our room was clean and modestly equipped and the bed was comfortable. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewen028
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I only stopped for one night. I was running a little late from climbing Ben Nevis is Scotland, so I rang up and let them know I wasn't going to be there until a certain time. He was lovely! Although the pub shut a little earlier he made sure I still got into the accommodation by leaving me the code...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katiehopkins27
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

The Screes is in a beautiful secluded area of the lakes. We just wanted a cheap break away, a room to use as a base, somewhere to sleep on the night as during the day we are out walking in the hills. Stayed for 3 nights in room 2 - the budget double room. It's not posh! A few stains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We spent a night here for my pals birthday. It's ideal for a group of pals basic accommodation but very clean and great bar and restaurant. Recommend it for a pals weekend away as its also an ideal base for the lakes whether you're going on foot or bike.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This is our 3rd time at this inn and in the past i was critical of certain things so i will bring things up to date with an honest critique . Across the road from the Screes inn is a very popular and well established hotel /Inn ,in a nutshell it must be very difficult for the Screes to attract...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 361Gordon_M
Leeds
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 friends the night before climbing Scafell Pike. Slightly concerned after recent reviews on here. We arrived late, after food had finished being served and after normal check in time but staff were still happy to check us in AND made us some food. The pub was cosy, the beer was good and the bar staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonArnold
New York
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I've been here before in previous years on an annual holiday and never had any complaints, but oh my what a terrible visit the other day! There appeared to be minimal staff on, not enough to deal with bar, till, waiting on etc. It was early and we had a toddler with us, which we were told was no problem....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Swifty1982
screesinn, Owner at The Screes Inn, responded to this review

Firstly we do have a range of drinks for children. we have j2os, coke, lemonade, fresh orange juice, cordials etc. granted we ran out of straws, it was after a busy weekend, i can't apologise enough. Regarding our stroganoff we have never recieved a complaint about it before, you were offered a replacement meal or an alternative which you declined...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Whilst the hotel itself was perfectly fine, the staff were severely lacking. We weren't provided with any information on check-in with regards to meals/check out time etc etc. When we'd had a drink and enquired about an evening meal we were told they were fully booked all night and couldn't help us. We were never advised that there is only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ellie S
screesinn, Owner at The Screes Inn, responded to this review

ok, lets get this into perspective. All guests are given an information sheet detailing meal times, check - in times etc. they are also told on arrival by the staff. this guest stayed on the bank holiday weekend (busiest weekend of the year) and didn't book to eat with us. we ask guests if they would like to eat and...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
0.1 km away
The Strands Hotel
The Strands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nether Wasdale
158 reviews
5.2 km away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
134 reviews
5.8 km away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
135 reviews
29.1 km away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
822 reviews
2.8 km away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Screes Inn

Address: Seascale, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Price Range: RM186 - RM328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Screes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Screes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Screes Hotel Nether Wasdale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Screes Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Screes Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View of Scafell Pike! Lovely little village! Comfy beds”
 of 5 bubbles Katiehopkins27, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 6 was large and had 2 double beds in it and a bathroom with shower over bath”
 of 5 bubbles 361Gordon_M, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room five suited us to the ground”
 of 5 bubbles tomphelps73, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room six is impressive with its size and nice views”
 of 5 bubbles claresnowdon3, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 2, at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles kevind965, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay