We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Greenhill Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Greenhill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 153: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here weekend in January, the staff made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us, food was good, good breakfast too Very clean and spacious hotel plenty of parking Our dog Walter loved it too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I will pass them on to the team. It was also a pleasure having Walter here, he curtainly enjoyed the grounds. Hope to see you & Walter again soon

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Called with friends and family yesterday for lunch and we were blown away with the quality of the food and the service that we had. We had to wait a while to be served due to a large party having lunch in the function room but it was well worth the wait. It's been a while since we've had 'Silver...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALAN J
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, and I am pleased you enjoyed your lunch. We have been making many changes since last spring and it is great that these improvements have positively impacted your visit. I hope to see you again soon where our hard working team would love to look after you again. I will pass your...

Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night, Groupon Offer, Friday 13th - but not unlucky for us, any easy and very enjoyable drive, lovely building but needs some TLC, room and bed comfortable, unfortunately couldn't lower the heating, it was on all night, food very enjoyable, better than lots of hotels, but not great, service and staff, superb, very warm and friendly -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, we are currently renovating some guest areas and have more planned in which will bring all areas of the property to a high standard. A little TLC as you mentioned. Please contact us before your next visit so I may ensure our food offering meets your...

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Lovely start to our build up to Christmas. Grand Old building, Hotel was situated in its own grounds and entrance was well lit up with Christmas lights, warm and welcoming. We were given our room at the top of a beautiful grand old curved staircase, 30 stairs, worth noting as no lift. As we had a great offer of bb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valtona12
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, I will pass it on to the team in our next briefing. In regards to the heating, we are reviewing in room temperature controls which isn't an easy task due to the age of the plumbing but it will be resolved in the new year. Thanks and hope to see you here...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Great Hotel, standing in it's own grounds, ideal for weddings!.....lovely large rooms, the room we stayed in needed dusting behind dressing table and bed, the carpet under radiator needed hoovering!...excellent breakfast, very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SummertimeLady
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, I will speak to our cleaner & housekeepers about the dust and review our checking processes. Please ask for James on your next visit and I would love the opportunity to say hello and look after you personally. Kind regards

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Purchased a groupon for a overnight stay with dinner and breakfast, wasn't disappointed. Room 1 was clean, well presented, bed really comfy. Dinner was three courses, with plenty of choice, favourite course pudding - tiramisu which was scrummy. Breakfast once again plenty of choice cereal, fresh juices, fresh fruit, toast, Cumbrian cooked breakfast, once again well presented and delicious. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Warhorsefan
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you bery much for your comments. we have been making many improvemnt here over the summer and it is grea to see them working. Looking foward toyour next visist Regards

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Me & my husband arrived for a couple of nights this week. We booked through Wowcher and as such were impressed by the grand beauty of the building from the minute we drove up the manicured driveway, It is a majestic building and is in a beautiful and picturesque part of the country. Inside was as grand as out and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roweyfraggle
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are undergoing a bit of a revolution here at present and have been for around 6 months. the beds you mentioned are in the process of being replaced, we have renovated 3 rooms now and they all have king size beds in them. My apologies for the bill issue and the...

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary on a groupon special deal 2 nights b+b plus wine and 3 course evening meal for 1 of our nights for 2. Such a beautiful place, stunning views all around. Staff were very pleasing they couldnt do enough for us. First night we decided to eat in. What a great choice, meals were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene C
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, I will pass this on to the team as they love hearing good feedback for their efforts. Looking forward to your next visit.

Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Stayed here end of Aug for 3 nights with our Weimaraner. No big issues, food ok room could have been bigger and not the biggest shower. The room was directly above the kitchen so once the kitchen staff arrived in the morning that was the end of the lie in. I'm a real ale drinker so hoped to try some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank firstjohn
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments. We are reviewing now the kitchen extractor location to reduce noise impact on this room. We now also have started stocking more local ales which is something we want to have a better variety of in the future. I can welcome you with a pint if your in the area again, just ask for James...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Very dog friendly, lovely old building, very big and comfortable bed and room. Room was very warm but easily remedied by opening a window. We had room 8, which faces the back, which is good as it reduces traffic noise dramatically. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Food was ok, simple menu and satisfying.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tersam S
whitesmithjames, General Manager at The Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, I will pass it on to the team. If you return again please lets discuss your food feedback so we can prepare something to better suite your pallet as all our food is freshly made so we can be very flexible.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigton
0.0 km away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
110 reviews
9.7 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
464 reviews
13.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
492 reviews
13.8 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,519 reviews
30.7 km away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country House Hotel, central location to northern lakes & Southern Scotland. Georgian architecture, grade 2 listed building with great grounds and stunning features. Fresh seasonal food, Sunday lunches, afternoon teas, weddings, corporate & special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Greenhill Hotel

Address: Red Dial, Wigton CA7 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wigton
Price Range: RM486 - RM579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Greenhill Hotel Wigton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Greenhill Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
Edinburgh
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Greenhill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 or 3”
 of 5 bubbles 945TimS945, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe pay the extra for up grade as rooms are quite large but beds could be larger and bedding could be improved.”
 of 5 bubbles Valtona12, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ear plugs are a must for windy evenings.”
 of 5 bubbles Roweyfraggle, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask from a room to the front as there was some noise from the kitchen's at the back”
 of 5 bubbles mmbell3103, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms all have beautiful views of the countryside”
 of 5 bubbles 777andrea, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5