We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Washington Central Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Washington Central Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Washington Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Me and the wife booked to stay for new years eve, we live in workington and thought it would be good change from sitting in at home for the new year. We arrived around 5pm and went up into the bar after checking in and sat in the window looking Over the main St outside. At 6pm we went and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craig s
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig, We really are grateful for the very kind comments you have posted in this review site about our New years eve party. it is wonderful to know that the efforts and commitment of the whole team during a very busy time of year are genuinely appreciated. We sincerely hope that you will join us again and welcome in...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Visited the coffee shop on Xmas eve around 13:45, family of 6 ordered, sandwiches/ soup/panini's and baguettes along with drinks. Table we sat at was dirty, and had not been cleaned from the previous guests, asked for this to be done, then had to ask one of the young waiters if he could now actually wipe the table clean, instead...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oswaldmoses
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent observations of The Central Coffee shop after your visit on Christmas Eve. All your points have been discussed and addressed with Anne and her staff in the coffee shop. We do endeavour to clear all tables as promptly as possible, but this can take a few minutes when we are busy and have a high...

Cumbria
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

Group Christmas party evening last night. I didn't eat there so I can't speak for how that was. However £17.00 + for 2 double bombays and tonic, for where we were, is robbery. Wine as well was appallingly priced for what was basic plonk. Not in a rush to return to say the least.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephh91
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steph, Thank you for the observations you made in your review. A Bombay gin is priced at £3.50 a measure so the pricing is correct. We did offer several promotions on drink and wine throughout the festive period, which many guests found to be excellent value for money. Unfortunately your drink of choice was not included in any promotion....

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Had our xmas do here last night. 19/12/2015, and I must say for £25 a head it was disgusting! There was turkey steaks I think? , not proper turkey 🍗 some frozen crap! And a tasteless lasagne, I mean come on Xmas carvery, Turkey, beef,Yorkshire pudding and sprouts, will not be going back here any time in the next millenia,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulio849
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor , even though they were somewhat disappointing. The Christmas event you attended was 'The Glammed' party night in our function rooms attended by over 230 guests. The menu that evening was a hot buffet which offered the choice of fresh turkey escalopes, chasseur sauce, chive mash and vegetables or...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

The restaurant was very busy with work parties, however the service was efficient and courteous, lots and lots of lovely sandwiches, beautiful scones and lots of lovely little cakes, could not fault the food at all and staff checked on us frequently to see if drinks were required. A lovely good value afternoon tea

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Tripadvisor member, Thank you very much indeed for your extremely positive appraisal of our afternoon teas. The fact that you enjoyed faultless, efficient and courteous service during a very busy time is most pleasing for all the restaurant staff. Your appreciation of the home-made pastries, scones and cakes has been cascaded to the kitchen team. Adding this review...

Cumbria UK
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Went there tonight for an Xmas work do. £30 a head for a 3 course. The food was ok - nothing you would have paid more than about £16 for in spoons tho - but the weird way they delivered your bread rolls to the table was hilarious - 1 huge basket in the middle of the dance floor that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KelCumbriaUK
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Kel, We value all the feedback we receive, so thank you for logging on to your tripadvisor account and spending valuable minutes compiling your review. The fact that we brought some laughter to your table is pleasing; created during our endeavours to silver serve all our guests with hot bread rolls, a service that is generally appreciated by...

Salcombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We stayed for 3 night with the Groupon deal. The hotel looks very nice and seems to be well kept. Our room was nice and the bed nice and big and comfortable. I was woken up early each morning by the sound of the boiler, also by the noise coming from deliveries and bin collections in the street outside but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wren86
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Thank you for choosing the Washington Central hotel for your weekend away with the Groupon deal we recently offered. Your appreciation of the well maintained and comfortable bedrooms as well as the pool and spa, is most welcome. Being a town centre hotel we do unfortunately experience noise disturbances from taxis, revellers and deliveries to the shops nearby....

Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2015

we went to washington central hotel for a xmas party,meal was really nice no complaints there but the bar service was terrible,only one type of bitter on,the local brew off,so had kronenberg which i believe is a premium lager,this was served every time in basic beer jug type glasses told they had no branded glasses(bear in mind its a 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john h
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon John, Thank you for taking the time to add your positive comments on trip advisor regarding the 'really nice' meal. At the time of your visit we were unable to restock with Jennings bitter due to the devastation that the brewery experienced during the floods, hence no stock available. We do however have branded glasses for some of...

Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

Me and my friends attended the 70s and 80s party night which due to the weather conditions should have been cancelled we paid £24 pounds to attends and got nothing for our money the band could not get there through no fault of theres which when i called to see if the night was still going a head just after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe W
kawildwchotel, Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Zoe for your time taken in posting your review on trip advisor. You may recall that the evening in question as being a horrendous night for hundreds of flood stricken families throughout Cumbria. And due to the extreme weather conditions our planned entertainment was not able to get to Workington after being turned back by the emergency services...

Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights in October using a Groupon voucher that included a double room, breakfast and access to the spa facilities. The room was small but nice and the bed very comfortable, bathroom was spotless and had a decent sized bath/shower. However, we were woken up very early one morning by the clothes deliveries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Rachel, We are most grateful when guests take the time to 'log in' and post a review on Trip advisor. Your appreciation of the comfort and cleanliness of the bedrooms, as well as the hotels leisure facilities is most pleasing to read. I have taken onboard your observations of the breakfast staff . Thank you...Keith

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
3.1 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
3.7 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
3.7 km away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
457 reviews
0.3 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
117 reviews
0.1 km away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Central Bistro & Bar
Central Bistro & Bar
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This excellently maintained and well appointed modern 4 star hotel, boasts 57 en-suite rooms and enjoys a town centre location. The hotels convenience to the West Cumbrian energy coast, and close proximity to The Lake District make it an ideal location, for both business clients and holiday guests. This luxurious hotel offers genuine hospitality and excellent facilities, which include suites for banqueting, weddings and conferences for up to 300 guests. Locally sourced food is presented with flair and imagination in the contemporary Central bistro & Bar. The Coffee shop and Caesars Pool & Leisure club are all open to residents and locals alike. The comfortable Lounge Bar offers a varied selection of fine wine, beers and spirits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Washington Central Hotel

Address: Washington Street, Workington CA14 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: RM656 - RM775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Washington Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#4 Business Hotel in Workington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Washington Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Washington Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not use room 8 very noisy and located at front of building”
 of 5 bubbles Norrie9032, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a window room rather than a skylight if you are claustrophic (like me)”
 of 5 bubbles 580christineg, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had room 12”
 of 5 bubbles leeD346, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great food great service”
 of 5 bubbles TRACE_JANE_BATES, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs - the walls are like papet”
 of 5 bubbles Rachel89123, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay