We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ginn House Inn

Expedia.comUS$97*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$100*
US$97*
US$100*
US$100*
US$97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Ginn House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Ginn House Inn
 Click to rate
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once again staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was adequate for over-nighter with usual facilities including free wifi. Plenty of off-road parking.Breakfast was the usual full english with healthier options available. Very good for the price..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTG21
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had such a lovely time here! Very friendly and helpful staff, the rooms were great, nice Interior, comfortable and clean. The food was fantastic, very good quality food and great to relax and have some drinks at the bar in the evening. Would come here again to stay. Thanks to all the staff :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma R
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Booked at the last minute and pleasantly surprised. Nice modern room with all usual conveniences. Staff very friendly. Food was nice, with large portions. Would definitely recommend a stay here. Value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant often + can not fault it! The food never disappoints it is lovely + fresh + tastes delicious, the menu is often updated so lots to choose from! The staff even though they are often very busy are friendly + welcoming + the service is quick! The hotel itself is modern + spotlessly clean I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

All in a very average stay, let down further by food and service. Food in restaurant 6/10, only ate there two nights purely for convenience. Nice people but service at times lacking. When checking out, waited 10 minutes for someone to attend the reception, no one in bar/reception/restaurant, at a time when people would be checking out. In the end,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smyffies
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We stayed in room 30 for one night which is a great size for a family of five. Good bathroom and comfortable beds, in a quiet area and so a good night sleep. We only had breakfast here the food was good but the service was a bit sloppy, the waitress also had a conversation around the corner and used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish K
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Pre-ordered meal for 18 so expected to wait for freshly cooked meal (as per website) but not over an hour, especially when other tables who arrived after us got served! Our table seemed to be invisible at times? Funnily enough when we asked when we would be served the whole table was served quickly (1 positive remark) food was disappointing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
Newtown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

There is not a great choice of places to stay in or near Workington but The Old Ginn House provides a solid offering, particularly good for (and popular with) business users. Staff are friendly, the décor is fine, rooms are warm and Wifi works OK. Not a romantic location but good for groups/ family/ business users.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scrumpitbum
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Waited 45 minutes to be served with food the service is awful and no one paid attention to our table, won't be returning. One member of staff with blonde hair was rude when talking to us wouldn't recommend Staff need manners and the service needs improvement as I work in a hotel/ restaurant myself and this is by far the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
OGH o, General Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry you did not have a good experience with us, unfortunately in very busy periods there can be a longer wait for food as we cook food fresh to order. With regards to the rude member of staff we don't know when you were here and there are several members of staff with blonde hair...

Stone, Staffordshire
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night only whilst on business. The rooms are lovely, clean, modern and well decorated. However, I could hear the gentleman next door in the bathroom and snoring in the night - the walls are very thin! I ate in the restaurant and we very disappointed by the lack of healthy or grilled food. It was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hero_hr
OGH o, General Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. With regards to the food, we feel that we have an extensive choice, there is something for everyone, healthy options include Steaks, Gammon, Salads... none of which are deep fried. If guests ask for our 'Lite Bites' at evenings as long as we are not too busy we...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
1.1 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
3.6 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
3.7 km away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
121 reviews
7.7 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
601 reviews
4.8 km away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Old Ginn House Inn

Address: Old Ginn House Moor Road | Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: RM443 - RM527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ginn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ginn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Workington
#3 Business Hotel in Workington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ginn House Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Old Ginn House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 30 is a great size room for families”
750trishk, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It is situated in a quiet village, all rooms are good.”
Bubbles0912, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are good standard motel type rooms with a couple of superior suites I think.”
Ericrowse, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are comfy and very clean and tidy showers are first class and beds are great”
arnold_richard6, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We have had a family room on both occasions, which was more than adequate for 3.”
Accipiter2011, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$100
Hotels.comUS$97
TripAdvisorUS$97
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates