We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ginn House Inn

Orbitz.comUS$96*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$99*
US$96*
Great Deal
US$99*
US$99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Ginn House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Old Ginn House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Waited 45 minutes to be served with food the service is awful and no one paid attention to our table, won't be returning. One member of staff with blonde hair was rude when talking to us wouldn't recommend Staff need manners and the service needs improvement as I work in a hotel/ restaurant myself and this is by far the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
OGH o, General Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry you did not have a good experience with us, unfortunately in very busy periods there can be a longer wait for food as we cook food fresh to order. With regards to the rude member of staff we don't know when you were here and there are several members of staff with blonde hair...

Stone, Staffordshire
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night only whilst on business. The rooms are lovely, clean, modern and well decorated. However, I could hear the gentleman next door in the bathroom and snoring in the night - the walls are very thin! I ate in the restaurant and we very disappointed by the lack of healthy or grilled food. It was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hero_hr
OGH o, General Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. With regards to the food, we feel that we have an extensive choice, there is something for everyone, healthy options include Steaks, Gammon, Salads... none of which are deep fried. If guests ask for our 'Lite Bites' at evenings as long as we are not too busy we...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We cannot believe that we were treated so lovely. Arriving early am as drove through night. Staff organised breakfast and room (bear in mind check in is 2pm) so we could get into room for some well earned sleep. Helped with best places to visit around the Windemere and Coniston area. Food in the Bar was excellent. Staff all lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trishaw59
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your excellent review and kind words - our staff will be pleased that their hard work is appreciated. We hope that we can welcome you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We (4 people) booked 2 rooms at this hotel and were traveling all the way from London. There was an accident on the road and therefore we were going to be delayed with regards to picking up the room keys. We called the hotel to explain the situation but the hotel was absolutely not willing to compromise or find any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Firasco
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

We think that your review is totally unfair. Until this review was posted, the Old Ginn House had no knowledge of an accident on the road which had apparently caused your delay. Also, there was no mention of the accident by the booking agency when they emailed us after you contacted them. The Old Ginn House is an Inn (a...

Burscough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped for two nights ate in hotel both nights.Rooms are clean and all one would expect.Staff are what makes this hotel very helpful and pleasant.Food is served in a large dining area,very busy ,large portions,good value. Menu not fine dining more good old fashioned pub grub.It is very popular with the locals. Only point in the whole stay is having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveandsue60
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Usually stay in Cockermouth and now have an alternative hotel when visiting Workington. The restaurant is quite big and the food is of reasonable quality. The staff are all good and the room I had was large and comfortable. Be careful with Satnav as it may take you to another restaurant about a mile away. I think this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GraemeCoyne
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Hubby and I went away for a few days between shifts and could not have picked a better place. It's ideally situated near to the Lake District or the coast. It is in a quiet little village with everything you could need. Our room was spotless and comfortable. We had drinks in the bar and ate in the restaurant twice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles0912
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from 3 nights stay at the excellent The Old Ginn House in Great Clifton just outside Workington. Geographically, it is very well located to visit a number of local places. In our 3 day stay, we went to Langholm in Scotland, Carlisle, Lanercost Priory and Hadrian's Wall, Silloth, Maryport, Whitehaven, St Bees and Workington. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Nice clean hotel with friendly staff, our family room was nice size with bath which had plenty of hot water for bath, Wifi was available in the room at good speed, bar priced was reasonable and breakfast was nice. Staff are very knowledgable on area and what's on, the staff were really the whole stay and while place has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fyfebbq
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I'm writing my first review because i just had an excellent meal in the restaurant. I had the leek soup of the day to start which was really good. Then I had the mozzarella and basil burger for mains. It was really, really good. One of the best veggie burgers I have ever had and the definitely the best one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mitchilin

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
1.1 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
3.6 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
3.7 km away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
126 reviews
7.7 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
614 reviews
4.8 km away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Old Ginn House Inn

Address: Old Ginn House Moor Road | Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: RM434 - RM517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ginn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Ginn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Workington
#3 Family Hotel in Workington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ginn House Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Old Ginn House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was perfect directly opposite the reception”
paulcJ4310PR, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“room 30 is a great size room for families”
750trishk, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It is situated in a quiet village, all rooms are good.”
Bubbles0912, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are good standard motel type rooms with a couple of superior suites I think.”
Ericrowse, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are comfy and very clean and tidy showers are first class and beds are great”
arnold_richard6, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$96* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$99
Expedia.comUS$99
Hotwire.comUS$99
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates