We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of Waverley Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend the hotel as in a good location and had good quality food. Room was modern and nicely decorated. It was a pleasure to stay and nothing seemed too much bother for staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielritchie
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The welcoming approach and the excellent staff. The rooms were fantastic and clean and roomy, bathrooms were also very clean and the added luxury of bathrobes was very welcome. The food and facilities were brilliant and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The bet nights sleep I have had in a hotel for a long time! Beds are so comfy!...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our team looked after your needs and found our facilities great. We look forward to seeing you again.

Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Please note this is a review of the restaurant, not the rooms in the hotel. After a below average meal in Wetherspoons last year, we decided to try The Waverley for Christmas 2016 as the previous works meal there in 2012 was good. Must say the staff were pleasant, the dining room wasn't cramped and the service was efficient and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlennA946
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The staff were helpful and Imformative ,I was in an upgraded room which was fine ,the bathroom was clean and looked refurbished. I stayed at the premier Inn prior to this and it was better than this in terms of parking and quality of food and also clientel . It seems to be more of a working mans hotel with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nahim A
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Been here many times with the family friendly staff decent food badly priced though location in an undesirable part of workington great with kids offer a loyalty card that u have to pay for to build up so many points for money off in the long run not really saving anything adjust the prices of drinks and food accordingly to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theflitmeister
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed our food and service, we offer 3 course lunches for £6.25 and early bird meals are £5.95(buy 2 child eats free) our loyalty card entitled you to 10% discount off all drinks and points to pay for food.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The room was absolutely lovely ....the staff couldnt do enough to help , the food was gorgeous and plentiful . We stayed here for 4 nights from the 30th December till the 3rd January , Lynn the owner is lovely , Janet . Zoe and all the rest of the staff are so conciensious and attentive . We have already...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we could make your New Year stay and enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit :)

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Had a great night food was lovely the staff where very friendly and entertainment was excellent as well. The food was served as soon as we got there we got a welcome drink as well and we will be going back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy W
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much the team are delighted you had a great time at our glitter ball and enjoyed our food and hospitality. We look forward to seeing again.

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

we were at the glitter ball food was not very nice turkey cold and dry by the time veg came out sticky toffee pudding was ginger cakes been in microwave to long hard bits in it will not go there again for £26 very poor DJ was rubbish my granddaughter could sing better

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rumpus93
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We regret you did not enjoy our glitter ball we do strive to ensure everyone has a great time and are disappointed out of everyone who attended you and your friend were not satisfied :(

Maryport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Attended the Christmas Glitter Ball this evening... I'm pleased I wasn't staying. Most of the food was pretty awful. Raw cauliflower,soggy carrots,just plain boiled potatoes, the turkey was watery and obviously sliced from one of those plastic wrapped turkey joints. Not even fresh turkey at this time of year. We had to ask for more veg, 4 adults were expected...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jennifer C
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We regret you did not enjoy our glitter ball we do strive to ensure everyone has a great time and are disappointed out of everyone who attended you and your friend were not satisfied :(

Cumbria, England
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We decided to stay at the Waverley Hotel due to its central location; only 5 minutes walk from the centre. We took a ‘Superior Room’, which would be best described as ‘cosy’. It was clean and the essentials were there, plenty of cupboard space and the bed was very comfortable; it was just that the room was a bit small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Coyote
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our excellent breakfast. We are delighted you would stay at the Waverley Hotel again and would look forward to any future visits you may have.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.9 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
121 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
108 reviews
0.6 km away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
4.2 km away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: RM304 - RM487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for upgraded”
 of 5 bubbles 987nahima, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 870anthonyl, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles davev218, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are not young or super fit and active ask for a 1st floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Silvertraveler55, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Phone them direct”
 of 5 bubbles 720edr, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5