We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Fleece Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Golden Fleece Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

792 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 788: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Fleece Hotel
 Click to rate
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch which we found to be good value and excellent quality. The beer was good too. A roaring log fire to sit by made the whole place very homely and we will certainly be returning in the future. Maybe to stay for the night to check the accomodation side of things too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrobjohn
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I think the worst room in the pub is the room where hotel guests come through to get to there rooms. The carpet is filthy. Apart from that the food is OK. The drinks are OK. The cellars are not lit enough so it can be quite dark.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard5556uuiii
Malton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been stating at the Golden Fleece now for a few years and always try to get over for the special night that they do on or around Valentines Day. We have always been welcomed back like long lost friends, but this time things have changed somewhat. The hotel has obviously gone through a management change and a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smlemmon
Management response:

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your visit to The Golden Fleece. We are glad that you found our team friendly but are saddened that you didn't find the hotel as personal as your previous visits. Our aim is to make everyone feel at home when they visit the hotel so I am sorry that...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed for two nights over a weekend and found the Golden Fleece in Thirsk to be located in an excellent position on the Market Place with free parking at the rear of the hotel. The room itself was fine but the bathroom was the tiniest bathroom we have ever had in any hotel we have stayed in. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2014Jandy
Management response:

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to The Golden Fleece, its great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us whilst visiting the area. We are sorry that you felt the bathroom was 'tiny', all of our rooms and bathrooms are different shapes and sizes so when you do make a return visit you can...

Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Great hotel situated in a typical market square, very warm welcome on arrival, room was more than adequate, with plenty of hot water in the shower and big fluffy towels, lovely tea tray amply replenished, after travelling we decided to eat in the restaurant, good selection in both the main menu and specials, food was served piping hot with a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
Management response:

A huge thank you to you both for such an amazing review! Our team work very hard to ensure that all our guests are well looked after during their time at The Golden Fleece and on this occasion it sounds like we did exactly that! Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed not only your time in the hotel but...

Thirsk
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Just had a fantastic weekend in Thirsk. The Golden Fleece was a great place to stay so close to everything being on the market square. We went to the James Herriot museum which we loved, so much to see and do, and a five minute walk from the hotel. The room had just had a refurbishment and was lovely. all...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janeI8508GI
Management response:

Thank you ever so much Jane, your review was lovely to read. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the area, for a small town there are is plenty of history and places to visit. Its great to hear that you will be returning, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards The Management...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Loved everything about this hotel, particularly how dog-friendly it was. The room was elegant, spacious and comfortable and the staff were all very friendly. Good food, great atmosphere, on-site parking at the rear was very convenient

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renata D
Management response:

Its sounds like you and your dog enjoyed every aspect of the stay. Many thanks for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We do hope that you pay us another visit next time you are in the area. Kindest Regards The Management Team

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Great location with parking in a very friendly small town. Good menu and food with open coal fire. Staff were very friendly and gave an excellent service from reception, the bar and the restaurant. Will go again after refurbishment

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick237
Management response:

Thank you Mick for your review. Your lovely words about the team have been passed on and praise given to each department. We look forward to welcoming back after all the work has finished. Kind Regards The Management Team

Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Lovely hotel centrally located in Thirsk and therefore close to all local amenities. All Staff were welcoming and friendly, customer service excellent. Food was great with a large choice, specials available everyday of our stay . Fantastic room!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 27rayp
Management response:

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Thirsk, many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your kind words have been passed onto the team. We do hope to see you again next time you are in the area. Kindest Regards The Management Team

Thirsk
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Lovely hotel with lots of character. Ideally located for travelling pretty much anywhere in North Yorkshire. Thirsk is a nice if quiet market town with plenty of pubs and a nice Indian and a Thai restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X8326MGandrewt
Management response:

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Thirsk. We do hope that you visit us again next time you are visiting North Yorkshire. Kindest Regards The Management Team

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0.0 km away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
421 reviews
6.8 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
2.1 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
647 reviews
15.8 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
443 reviews
0.8 km away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Price Range: RM466 - RM654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Fleece Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Fleece Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms at the front on market days”
660sheilab, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book early for hotel its self”
madrednige, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The higher floor rooms are probably the quieter.”
KenTBarnsley, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was small, noisy and the blind did not stop the light so if you want a good nights sleep, go elsewhere.”
VinceK, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Will stay next time we visit.”
bikerider599, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates