We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
Wirral UK
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights on a Groupon deal. We had a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment. The ferry journey from Townsville was fun and fortunately we had great weather. Check in was friendly and efficient, though we had difficulty in opening the security barrier. Initially they thought it was our fault and did not believe us, but when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NeilandBarbara
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Grand Mecure is a short walk from the ferry terminal, apartments are huge. 2 Bedrooms, two bathrooms, big lounge with two leather sofas, views are spectacular, 4 pools and all very nice to swim in. One rooftop where you can get awesome sunset pics over the mountain. Was nice and quiet for us as we went before the school holiday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona L
Ingham
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Our ladies tennis group had our annual xmas break up party here. We were extremely well looked after. Accommodation was exceptional with spectacular ocean views in all apartments we stayed in. We had a roof top pool party that was set up for us by the wonderful management and staff. Everyone was very happy with our stay. Would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank all0uisel
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to host a group like yourselves whom bring a happy cheer to Grand Mercure! The rooftop pool area is a great place to host Christmas functions and we are glad these facilities are being utilized. We would love to have you ladies return next year. Please contact us directly +61 7 47582100 and we are more...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This island feels like an outer suburb of Townsville - a very pretty, unspoilt island with many permanent residents. Go there for the walks, the water, the lovely little eateries and the tranquility. It's not a shopping destination nor is the landscape dominated by tourism development. The Mercure apartments are clean, stylish and contain a fantastic pool - perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina0418
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the natural beauty of Magnetic Island and "unspoilt island" is just how to perfectly describe our beautiful home. Thank you for putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! For any future bookings please contact...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2016

These are truely self contained apartments, 400 metres from the Magnetic Island ferry. The apartments have everything you need and there is a supermarket 300 metres away where you can purchase anything you need to make you stay comfortable. There are two types of accommodation, ocean front or setback, make sure you get the ocean front.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the convenience and natural beauty of the apartments it is hard to want to leave! For any future bookings please contact...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Great location, incredibly friendly staff, but unfortunately the least clean and unhygienic room I have ever encountered. First time I've ever had to complain to hotel staff- they were very apologetic. Also I still don't understand why the bath tub is in the bedroom! Trendy it may be but practical it is not.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaBurrows
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure. I am very sorry to hear of the bad cleaning experience. We hope to think this didn't entirely tarnish your entire stay.

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The location and staff were nothing short of amazing. The rooms were fantastic and the facilities were great. However, upon arrival we were greated by one of the managers who was nothing more than rude and condescending. She constantly spoke to me and my friends in a rude manner and had all around terrible people skills. She warned us of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jacob W
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response. The instructions for all full mooner guests were simple. Fake blood and makeup damages to the room would incur a loss of bond. Unfortunately in today's society, people tend to not want to take responsibility. We have photo images and evidence if you would like me to resend these to you. Please, dear sir, I would...

Blackwall, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Love this place. Second visit. Don't want to stay anywhere else. Great ocean views from the ocean view apartment. Great kitchen with everything you need. Short walk to ferry terminal, IGA and eateries. Clean fully air conditioned apartment and 4 beautiful pools. Excellent reception staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb2072
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the natural beauty of Magnetic Island it certainly makes people like yourself want to return time and time again. For any...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Just had 5 days in sea view 2 bedroom apartment. It was well equipped, quality bed appliances etc. Great spot to watch ferries and wild life. We used public buses or walked and found this great. Buses always on time and took us to all the main places. Iga close by and wine shop about 15 mins walk. Limited contact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaP08
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the natural beauty of Magnetic Island it certainly makes people never want to leave! If you wish to book with us...

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at grand Mercure for 5 nights. It's a nice location I wouldn't at the best on the island as it's pretty much stand alone. You need to get a bus to get to a restraint / cafe/ beach area. My suggestion would be to hire a car while you are here. The apartment itself was good not great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aoife C
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! I am sorry that you found the staff awkward but we have just hired two new staff over the past two months....

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.9 km away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
223 reviews
4.5 km away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
102 reviews
0.5 km away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
176 reviews
1.4 km away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 8 in Magnetic Island
173 reviews
0.2 km away
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holiday Apartments
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holid...
#8 of 18 in Magnetic Island
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With the character of Magnetic Island reflected in its distinctive architecture, Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a secluded sanctuary, with oceanfront accommodation comprising of four buildings nestled around tropical landscaped gardens. Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a selection of deluxe one, two and three bedroom beach house style apartments designed to take advantage of uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and enhance the natural space and lighting with sliding door panels, louvered walls and breezeways and private balconyies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Address: 146 Sooning Street, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Price Range: RM673 - RM1,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Mercure Apartments Hotel Magnetic Island
Mantra One Bright Point Hotel
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island Queensland, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Buy some groceries and supplies on the mainland”
 of 5 bubbles kimw92486, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get an apartment that has a door on the shower and not need a step ladder to get into it.”
 of 5 bubbles Elgrad, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try Peppers”
 of 5 bubbles 41terri, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisC638, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ocean view. It's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 489fional, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5