We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

PricelineUS$78*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$154*
US$78*
Great Deal
US$82*
US$82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

742 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 675: English reviews
Start your review of Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
 Click to rate
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My daughter and I paid $730 for two nights at Castaways. The room was spartan and charmless. Not only is there no turndown service at the hotel, but under the excuse of a public holiday, our room was not made at all or fresh towels provided. Never ever seen that anywhere else in the world. When I called to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benoitj507
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear benoitj507, Thank you for choosing to stay at Castaways Resort & Spa and for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry that you felt that the room was charmless and that we were unable to meet your expectations throughout your stay. I apologize for the miscommunication, however although our regular automatic turndown service is not performed on...

Innisfail, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The main part of the hotel looks nice but the rainforest area looks considerably older, the pool was nice but the bathroom in the rainforest rooms was really disappointing. I believe there is better value and more modern rooms in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank david_shorten
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi David_Shorten, Thanks for your comments. Our Rainforest Property is a little older than our Beachfront Property; we completed a renovation of the Beachfront property in 2010, however we only purchased the Rainforest Property (previously Mackays Motel) in June 2015 and not yet renovated these rooms, to allow us to keep the lower price-point available. Considering that all guests have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed 3 nights at Castaways in late March. We were lucky enough to get a room on the top (third) floor which had a balcony and great view of the beach. The room itself was clean, spacious and had all the basic amenities you'd expect. Didn't actually go in the pool but it looked nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Rancelot
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi Sir Rancelot, Thank you for your review and thanks for choosing Castaways Resort & Spa for your stay in Mission Beach! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again for your next relaxing escape. Happy Travels!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here a couple of months ago with the kids for lunch, called before booking and asked to see if is it ok for our 4 girls (2 families) could have a swim while we ate, no trouble we were told, it was so lovely that we stayed and had a few cocktail and friends of ours (guests of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VLIrvine
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear VLIrvine, Thank you for your feedback, however I believe that your title ""Money Hungry Grubs" is ill-informed, insulting, defamatory and I do beg to differ. Our pool is reserved for our in-house guests only and our policy is standard for all guests, whether spending $6 or $600. I do however apologize if you were told otherwise over the phone...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room in desperate need of updating..mould on tiles/silicone peeling from around bath from a quick fix. Laminate cupboards/desk peeling...quite a bit more could be written...Overall not worth the money paid. A letter of complaint was sent to manager outlining all that was wrong and how disappointed we were...no response whatsover! Only plus of this "resort" would be the friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imagine692017
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi imagine 692017, I'm sorry about your recent experiences here at our resort and thank you for highlighting some observations from your stay with us. I apologize, I'm not sure when you sent your letter, but I have not yet received it - when I do I will be sure to respond, as all feedback it of the utmost importance...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The family room was clean, cozy and comfortable. Nice pool, lovely beach and great views of the ocean. We really loved the atmosphere of the place. The restaurant served delicious meals. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a lovely hotel in a lovely spot and we will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronika V
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Thank you Veronika, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe Travels!

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolute beachfront location - palm trees, amazing sunrises, coconuts on the beach. The hotel is roomy and the staff are pleasant and helpful without getting in your face. Prices are ok and certainly reasonable for the location and the ambience. Our room was a resort suite with two queen beds and was very comfortable and looking straight over the garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertJohn59
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi RobertJohn59, Thank you for your review and thanks for choosing Castaways Resort & Spa! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with and I hope that we'll be seeing you again in the future. Safe travels!

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was great, room was big, breakfast was really nice, pool area was extraordinary, beach access is easy and the beach is really nice. We enjoyed every second and regret that we did not stay longer... :-(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kreuzband-Tom
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi Kreuzband-Tom, Thank you very much for your kind review! It would be our absolute pleasure to be able to welcome you back to Castaways and I hope that we till some time, hopefully for a longer stay... Happy travelling!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

While my parents were in town my partner and I decided to take them to Mission Beach for a night and it was beautiful. Castaways was great! We had a beach front, 2 bedroom apartment, that walked straight out into the pool area. It was perfect for the 4 of us. We are from Cairns and my parents are from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purdy G
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Wow, thank you Purdy G! We're so glad that you had an amazing stay with us and can't wait to have you back again (hopefully for more than 24 hours next time!) happy travelling!

Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Mission Beach, a tiny village right on a beautiful curved beach fringed with coconut palms. The Castaways Resort living up to its name, lovely 2nd floor room with large balcony overlooking the sea. Check in was simple, receptionist pleasant, friendly and efficient. A nice pool where you can actually swim. A good selection available for continental breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi Philip W & thank you for your wonderful review! Your description of Mission beach is exactly how I picture our beautiful little village. Thank you! We're glad that you had the chance to stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!

383 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
5.5 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
149 reviews
1.7 km away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
250 reviews
3.2 km away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
360 reviews
3.0 km away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
78 reviews
7.0 km away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 23 in Mission Beach
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Price Range: RM362 - RM898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cronulla Beach, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great view from the third (top) floor.”
Sir_Rancelot, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a beachfront room with pool access!”
, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beachfront Balcony Room”
Solarpowered_12, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Third floor room with balcony is best for sea and beach view”
brianwR6658FB, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want a room with a Ocean view do not book in the rain forest area.”
CocotheClown2015, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$78* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$82
Hotels.comUS$82
ElvolineUS$154
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates