We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

853 reviews
Save
Traveller (431)
Room & Suite (87)
Pool & Beach (71)
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good34%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lap pool”(14 reviews)
“the main hotel”(10 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (853)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveller rating
279
262
123
69
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
279
262
123
69
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastlap poolthe main hotelpalm treesthe ground floorcoral seadunk islandfantastic locationbar and restaurantday bedprawnsstinger netport douglasbedroom apartmentfamily roomoverlooking the beachthe great barrier reef
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
161 - 165 of 781 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

I had one night in the Rainforest part of the hotel. Unfortunately I have to confirm that a lot of cockroaches are in the bedroom. So the night and sleep were very uncomfortable. The service is good even the breakfast. But who thinks eggs are...More

Thank Hixxy83
Reviewed 4 November 2016

What a beautiful location! As a local I don't always get the opportunity to enjoy our own backyard but when I took the opportunity to have a well deserved weekend away, I am so glad I picked Castaway's resort. Located right on the beach with...More

Thank EuroChik
Response from Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission BeachResponded 5 November 2016

Greetings from Mission Beach EuroChik! Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad that you chose and enjoyed Castaways for your backyard escape - it is so true that we so often lack the time to relax and really enjoy the jems right on...More

Reviewed 31 October 2016

For the price and from the pictures on the website, I expected more. The website said the rooms had been renovated in 2014 but the furniture was worn, the walls were badly damaged and paintwork chipped. The rooms are looking a little tired and run...More

1  Thank LMM44
Response from Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission BeachResponded 2 November 2016

Thank you for your review LMM44; I'm sorry that the standard of the room that you stayed in was not up to your expectations. The resort was renovated in 2014 and we are constantly striving to improve the facilities. I have passed your comments on...More

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We were here for only 1 night. Castaway is a very nice hotel right at the beach. We had a great time drinking cocktails by the pool (they were really good!), and our room was spacious with a view of the ocean from our terrace....More

1  Thank Charlotte C
Response from Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission BeachResponded 2 November 2016

Thank you for staying with us Charlotte C! I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the beautiful weather; cocktails and tapas by the pool is the perfect way to spend your afternoons here at Castaways. I do apologize for the pests in...More

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely location and staff eager to please. My room disappointing a structure hides our view. Felt we should of been warned. Pool lovely but not heated like at port Douglas. Refreshing though. Feels like Fiji. Towels provided for pool. Large. Breakfast included.More

Thank Prue W
Response from Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission BeachResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you Prue W, we are lucky to have such a great team of staff here - hard not to be motivated when we live in such a wonderful location! I apologise that your room had a slightly obstructed view; I like to think that...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
13132333435157
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room Service
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Banquet Room
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (431)
Room & Suite (87)
Pool & Beach (71)
Dining (19)
Hotel & Grounds (263)
Bathroom (7)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
AusFrequentTraveller
21 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Jasmine P | Property representative |
I've driven back to Mission Beach after the night tour at Paronella Park and it has been no problem at all. Just take it slow on the back road bends and you won't have a worry - it's about a 30-40 minute drive to Castaways... More
1
Vote
Andrea F
11 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Jasmine P | Property representative |
Apologies, much too in response to this question, however the same answer still applies - our earliest guaranteed check in time is 2pm. However if on the day a room should be ready earlier, guests are more than welcome to... More
0
Votes
cameron82
28 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Jasmine P | Property representative |
A little late in response to this question, however YES! We do provide complimentary beach and pool towels at the resort.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for a room facing rhe pool and beach. Low-rise hotel with rooms on just 3 floors."
Read review
"Make sure you get the third floor in the main building, better view"
Read review
"1st or 2nd floor for view."
Read review
"Front ocean view room with a balcony , the spa suite is also excelant"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite