We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Outback Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Outback Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of Outback Motel
 Click to rate
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Probably one of the best if not the best place to stay in Winton. The hosts are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are quiet and very tidy and up to date. The motel is close to the Tattersalls Hotel which is an excellent place to eat

Thank mikecarolmcgrath
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing our little motel. We are quite proud of it and will pass your words about the tidiness on to our cleaners. It is the interaction with our guests that is the most enjoyable part of our job. Best of luck in your travels.

Sanctuary Point, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ben General Manager did a nice meet and greet. The entrance quite fresh and modern. All the rooms are upstairs , there is a lift. The beer garden is being worked on. The main bar has a pool room and and staffed by a great team. Jennifer and Chloe take care of all the customers in a very professional and...

Thank Brock P
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Don't know how this got on our reviews but I am sure that Ben and everyone at the North Gregory Hotel looked after you wonderfully. That's what we try to do in Winton.

Reviewed 17 February 2017

Once again I had a good stay and clean room. Staff and owners are always friendly and remember who you are when you come back. When I travel for business to Winton I always stay at the Outback Motel. The owners even contact you when you leave an article in your room and arrange to mail it back to you...

Thank Derek W
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Sorry we were so slow responding Derek. Have been on holiday. Thank you for the kind words. We try to do our best and always welcome back our customers.

Woolgoolga, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I am glad I checked the last review before posting mine. My dog was more then welcome and received many pats from the friendly owners! Rooms were neat and well kept. The friendly owners spent a lot of time ringing friends and other establishments to check the road conditions as both Kynuna and Juliet Creek where closed. I wouldn't stay...

Thank ADOS_49
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Ados_49 for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have both of you and your lovely dog here. As a matter of fact it seemed like pet night while you were here and everyone and their pets were great. Checking road conditions and trying to know what is happening with road closures is part of the service...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

After offering extra money if we could keep our dog in the room on his own bedding we were given a bunt no, my dog has never been on a chain before so I was nervous to keep him chained outside with no front gate, ended up having to lay in the car with him anyway so people walking past...

Thank 19evelyn93
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you had so much trouble with your pet. If you are travelling with one it is always advisable to ring ahead. At the time of booking in you were told that you could not have a pet in your room and after you had checked in and paid you let us know you really wanted...

Zilzie, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Nice motel , everything works and it's clean and comfortable the owners are very pleasant to deal with and reception is fast and efficient. As I say it is not a 5 star hotel but you are in outback queensland so enjoy the hospitality. There is no restaurant here at the Motel , but there are plenty of places in...

Thank johnsy123aus
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Happy Travels.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I personally thought the room was expensive compared to others I have stayed in, however when in remote areas I guess you don't have a choice. It was convenient to the hotel where you can get a good meal.

Thank Kathleen120
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you felt our prices were expensive but we are on a par as being one of the cheapest motels in town and on a par with any in the region. As you say it costs way more to live and shop in a remote region with our linen costing twice as much as any on...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I was particularly impressed with the friendliness and warmth of the hosts, Jan and Ray. The room was very clean and comfortable, with lovely thick towels and a generous supply of tea and coffee. Breakfast was hot, delicious and on time. Location is ideal, being close to bakery, hotels, library, shops and pool. I'll be back!

Thank bsher14
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely comments. As I often say it is really easy to be friendly to great guests. Will pass on your comments to our fantastic cleaners. We look forward to seeing you again.

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

On the main street into/out of town. Easy to find, easy to park with undercover parking. Met with great smiles and appreciation from I think it was Ray and Jan who just got back from holidays that same day and still smiling. The room was great, clean, tidy and smelt welcoming. Has everything you need, fridge, microwave, tv, toaster, kettle...

Thank Etonbeach
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

I am really sorry we have not responded sooner. Missed it somehow. Thank you very much for reviewing. We are hoping to build more rooms soon so will make sure we can fit a comfy chair into them. We will pass on to our wonderful cleaners the comments on the rooms. Thanks again.

Emu Park, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My sister and her husband are travelling with us, we have a caravan and they stay in motels or cabins. This motel is one of the best. They have a lovely room and are very comfortable. The managers are relief managers but could not do enough for them. We would highly recommend this motel.

1Thank Pamela R
RayandJanWinton, Owner at Outback Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing. Sorry I have been a bit slow responding but just getting into the swing of things after our holiday. So pleased that Peter and Jenny looked after you so well. We look forward to meeting you if you return.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (25)
Room/Suite (6)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (1)
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Room/Suite (2)
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winton hotels
0.3 km away
North Gregory Hotel
North Gregory Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winton
263 reviews
1.2 km away
Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
0.4 km away
Matilda Motel
Matilda Motel
#5 of 5 in Winton
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Winton Outback Motel is centrally located in the heart of historic Winton. Home to the wonderful Age of Dinosaurs Museum and stopping off point for the Dinosaur stampede Winton is a must see. The Quantilda Museum part of the Waltzing Matilda Centre is still operating and construction of the new centre is not far away. The motel is close to excellent dining and outback pub experiences. The property offers 20 new and newly refurbished rooms including three upstairs family units. All rooms have private bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Free parking onsite and off-road. Come along and meet your friendly hosts Ray and Jan who love to show you around their home town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outback Motel

Address: 95 Elderslie St, Winton, Queensland 4735, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Price Range: RM456 - RM505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Outback Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Outback Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles mikecarolmcgrath, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed as a couple.”
 of 5 bubbles Etonbeach, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 15 to 19 are a little away from the main hotel which we thought was good”
 of 5 bubbles Snarper, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“talk to Jan or Ray...all rooms looked OK to me. There were newer family units.”
 of 5 bubbles kenp992, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I think any room is as good as next. All rooms being good. Book it.”
 of 5 bubbles jbech, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5