We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glidden House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Glidden House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glidden House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 585: English reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I spent one night here and it was great. Clean, safe and wonderful location. Nice Italian restaurant Trentino next to it. You can walk to the museums that are located on a green next to the hotel. Free parking on site and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odeke D
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear Odeke D, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Laura Brdar Front Office Manager

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Came in for a quick stay while supporting a friend at the clinic. The room was beautiful and clean and breakfast was incredibly amazing with a wide selection of meats, cheeses, baked eggs, and fresh bread. They even had an espresso machine! Parking was free and it is in a beautiful area. Only downside was that i was travelling alone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear Leslie S, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Sincerely, Laura Brdar Front Office Manager

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I stayed 3 nights here in September after leaving a terrible hotel. I was in heaven! A wonderful, pleasant staff, beautiful surroundings, comfortable beds, CLEAN rooms, great breakfast, and free parking. I do not have one complaint. Worth the money as far as I am concerned. Thank you Laura for saving my vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nhum3662
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear nhum3662, We are so pleased that you discovered the Glidden House on your recent visit to Cleveland. I am so happy that I could help save your vacation! We look forward to your next visit! Sincerley, Laura Brdar

Hudson Valley, NY
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We were here for a wedding held at The Glidden House (think paint :) ). The rooms were spacious and well decorated. The front desk was great. The rate includes a European style breakfast, You will have a hearty breakfast. I thought I was in Prague, The hotel is on the campus in beautiful University Circle. Lots of museums in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DHudsonValley
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear DHudsonValley, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return on your next visit to Cleveland! Sincerely, Laura Brdar

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Though it's technically near Case Western Reserve, this hotel is essentially in the middle of campus, as it is surrounded by classroom buildings. Students even cut through the parking lot on their way to and from classes. Some may find this annoying, but I liked the vibrancy of the area. I went for an early-morning run, and many people were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear Ron S, Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to Cleveland! Sincerely, Laura Brdar Front Office Manager

Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

What a lovely affordable place to stay while visiting University Circle. Easy walk to Mitchell's ice cream and Little Italy. Plenty of other restaurants and sand which shops. We felt very safe walking to Little Italy and back after dark. The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. Perez at the front desk was helpful and Billy is a charismatic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ro M
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear Ro M, Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the area and found the staff to be friendly and attentive. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Laura Brdar Front Office Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I traveled here with my sister during the summer. (I also stayed here once in 2008.) This property is anchored by a lovely mansion built in the early 1900s. (The rooms were added on to the back of it.) The rooms are very nice and comfortable. Breakfast is included and is served in the mansion dining room, which is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finetimez
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear finetimez, We are so pleased that you enjoyed visiting the University Circle area during your recent stay at the Glidden House. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Laura Brdar Front Office Manager

Webster, New York
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I didn't want to pay $30/day to park downtown and so came across this place. Wow! What a find! The location on Case Western's lovely campus is perfect. The hotel is very elegant and clean and we were happy with our room. All the staff we encountered were so warm and friendly. The free breakfast was comprehensive and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikkidaitrip
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear nikkidaitrip, Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased that you "discovered" the Glidden House on your recent trip to Cleveland! We hope to see you on your next visit. Sincerely, Laura Brdar Front Office Manager

Georgia
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I had a lovely visit recently at the Glidden House. The facility is just beautiful and the staff are quite friendly. The only complaint, and it is a big one, is there is virtually no insulation between the rooms. I was up much of the night listening to the television of the room next-door and hearing the man snore. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hokie1989
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear Hokie1989, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. We hope that you return to the Glidden House to give us a second chance to impress you. Sincerely, Laura Brdar Front Office Manager

michigan
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We were probably the only people in the hotel that was not attending the on-site wedding. During the day and evening of this wedding, we had little access to anything outside of our room. We went off-site for a drink and found a coffee shop to read. In the evening the music and DJ were very loud. Fortunately it stopped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mich4122
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review

Dear mich4122, Thank you for the review of your reccent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Laura Brdar Front Office Manager

333 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Francis Kavanagh Glidden Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double (32)
Viewed
Standard King (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
7.1 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
7.4 km away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
6.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
7.0 km away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glidden House

Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Price Range: RM652 - RM1,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glidden House staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Richland
over a year ago
Richland
Mineral City, Ohio
Elgin, Illinois
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Glidden House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room in the newer section was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Mikesalter, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The suite well worth the price. We had a corner unit that was large and sunny and had a partial view of the park across the street.”
 of 5 bubbles lauri_amber, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the west side are over an outside bar area.”
 of 5 bubbles mich4122, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room when you reserve”
 of 5 bubbles psyduck1947, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A queen bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Dorten, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay