We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Coal Miners’ Cabins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Coal Miners’ Cabins
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 4 November 2016

The "hotel" is a series of mine worker´s barracks, situated in the near proximity of the main building, where you´ll find a reception, gift shop and restaurant. The rooms are very basic and not up to a traditional definition of a hotel room. Bed linens, pillows, etc. are low quality and uncomfortable. The only furniture in our room – other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Morten B
Spitsbergen T, Resepsjonssjef at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Morten and we are sorry you felt that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are currently in the process of completing refurbishment on our final barrack which will re-open early next year though have made a note of your comment regarding the broken light. We are...

Los Altos
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Staying in Longyearbyen can be expensive. The Coal Miners Cabins offers a very good value for the area. Good - Though the rooms have shared bathrooms there were always plenty of bathrooms available for the number of rooms on each floor. Also a common sitting area in the building. - Rooms comfortable, clean, and warm - Staff extremely helpful -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TCCMember
Spitsbergen T, Marketing Cooridnator at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed Coal Miners Cabin's, and that you received your wallet! Anne

Brescia, Italy
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We didn't enjoy our stay there because we could not sleep there. We paid for the night however we could not use the room because the smell of mold or humidity (we don't know what it was) was too much and one of us had an asthma attack. It was the first time we had this kind of problem, however...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kalispera2014
Spitsbergen T, Marketing Cooridnator at Coal Miners’ Cabins, responded to this review

Dear Kalispera. We are sorry to hear about this. I will check this out. Best Regards Anne

essex
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I booked in here for 2 days before an Arctic expedition of Svalbard and Greenland and wish I'd stayed longer. It's actually not in Longyearbyen but in Nybyen, about a 10 mins walk out of town. The only problem with walking in or out of town is the risk of polar bears at certain times of the year but shuttle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EssexDiane
Taarnby, Denmark
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

I had a very Nice stay at Coal Miners Cabin during my vacation on Svalbard. This is my first stay at Coal Miners Cabin after it was renovated and changed its name from Spitsbergen Guesthouse to Coal Miners Cabin,and I really like the new Retro-style decoration on the interior and its bathrooms. The food at the restaurant is very tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas B
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my dad for a couple of nights before we boarded our expedition ship. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were warm and cosy. There were shared bathrooms but these were very clean and plentiful so no queuing was necessary. Breakfast was delicious and we ate in the restaurant one evening-also delicious. I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sianhicks
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We were in Longyearbyen on a work trip, passing through to Ny Alesund and were put up in the Coal Miner's Cabins. The rooms are simple but comfortable with shared facilities. The corridors are a bit noisy and by the very nature of the Arctic in the summer there are people up and about at all times of the day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed every minute of my stay at coal miner cabins. The rooms are quite basic but kind of cute in a rustic sort of way, and there's a bus from/to the airport for every flight. It's a short walk into town, and all the excursions pick you up from your hotel. You can book some excursions in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica_Alice1988
Reviewed 26 August 2016

All crews are very polite and helpful, the bedroom are clean and tidy, restaurant provide delicious food with comfortable atmosphere. Cost are lower then main city in Norway mainland. Very reasonable price hotel in Longyearbyen. If we have chance to go to Svalbard again, that will be our first choice. A walking distance to city center in sunny summer, cool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Max L
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We chose this place,because we didn't want to spend a whole lot of money on accommodation in Svalbard (and camping seemed a bit too adventurous for our older bones). The rooms are basic (2 beds,wardrobe, desk and a chair),but clean. Curtains are a bit thin for an eternal summer day, but it did not bother our sleep. Bathrooms are shared,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tomas T

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
2.0 km away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
267 reviews
2.1 km away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
2.1 km away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
268 reviews
1.7 km away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#4 of 6 in Longyearbyen
94 reviews
2.2 km away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Coal Miners' Cabins offers reasonably priced accommodation, located in the upper part of the Longyear valley and within reach of mountains and glaciers. The place is an excellent starting point for hiking, skiing and snowmobile trips. Coal Miners' Cabins is the place to stay for those who want to get the real experience of the mining period on Svalbard. Coal Miners' Cabins is located in Nybyen, Longyearbyen's small "suburb" is within walking distance from downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coal Miners’ Cabins

Address: Nybyen | P.O. Box 548, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway (Formerly Spitsbergen Guesthouse)
Region: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Price Range: RM377 - RM740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coal Miners’ Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coal Miners’ Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Guesthouse Hotel Longyearbyen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coal Miners’ Cabins staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Coal Miners’ Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabin closest to the reception build means you don't have to carry your luggage as far and are close the the restaurant too.”
 of 5 bubbles TCCMember, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have magnificent views so I'd recommend any.”
 of 5 bubbles EssexDiane, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Block 2 is the closest to the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 529SimonM, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You will most likely stay in one of the cabins outside of the main reception and bar/grill and the cabins are pretty much all the same”
 of 5 bubbles C9643UKdonnag, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No blackout curtains so you need a sleep mask during Summer.”
 of 5 bubbles scm454, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay