We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 600: English reviews
York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night on Sunday- we knew the hotel through stopping off for coffee on long journeys so decided it was ideal for our stop over needs.I phoned ahead to ask for the heating to be turned up in the room and the single beds to be pushed together ( accessible room ) The room was far bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBDYork
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you think our hotel is fabulous. However we are so sorry that we let you down on our room service breakfast. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and it should be served to you in the...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in Holiday Inns all the time and usually the food is pretty reliable. This was so bad I couldn't eat it - cold, tasteless, lumpy mash, over cooked veg. I did complain and they didn't charge me for it. Due to the location there is no other choice of place to eat in walking distance either so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ness1976
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. We are all so disappointed to hear that you had a problem with the food you ordered. Rest assured this will be dealt with accordingly and improvements will be made. We are so sorry to have let you down during your stay. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a couple of nights while doing business nearby. Hotel is very close to the A1 and has plenty of free parking. Had dinner on two evenings - both meals were delicious, with quick and friendly service. The room was not good though. Had a room on the ground floor. The heater didn't work at all, just made an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldfatandtired
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. I would firstly like to take the opportunity to apologise for the noise disruption which came from other guests. Unfortunately we did have some less considerate people staying with us recently who returned to the hotel after having too much alcohol. We did deal with this...

Essex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I use Holiday Inn hotels all the time, and this is not the best ambassador. The hotel looked tired in parts My bed had stained sheets (not nice) and the pillows were lumpy, tells me they needed replacing. I must say the staff were very friendly, but did lack some training. I had a meal in the restaurant, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USADriver
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and thank you for your communications with our F & B Manager Daniel Lawson. We apologise that you had cause for concern during your stay and appreciate the constructive feedback you have passed on to us. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Convenient to A1 but behind services so don't expect to go for a walk anywhere nearby, surrounding area not great. Hotel clean n up to date. Bar and restaurant area feels more like a corridor no atmosphere. Ground floor rooms noisy with creaking floor boards above. Executive rooms worth the upgrade far more spacious and much better decor. So great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you find our hotel to be clean and up to date. We have two different types of rooms within the hotel, executive and standard. I am sorry that you find our standard rooms to be not too your taste. Thank you once again for...

Gt Yarmouth
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is right by the A1 but you can't hear it. Rooms are clean and tidy. The food, well I had their classic burger and it was great, with cheese and bacon extra. Really tasty. Staff very friendly, so all in all good value especially as an IHG member.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Per W
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent feedback we are pleased that on your first stay everything was good for you. We hope that this is the first of many stays with us. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As with most of my hotel reviews this was a work stay. Holiday Inn never disappoints me. Seamless check in , comfortable warm room and great staff . Being January the restaurant menu was reduced due i would imagine to the time of year. Nevertheless plenty of choice. Thank you Holiday inn !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Your comments are so kind and we are so pleased that we never let you down. We hope that we can welcome you back to stay again. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the holiday inn for a surprise family party. The room cost us less than £40. Normal rate was over £120 per night. I have stayed in better but i have stayed in a lot worse. The staff were really nice at reception and the bar. The next morning the price included breakfast. At less than £20 pounds a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased that you found our hotel to be "superb value". We do our absolute best to provide the best service and facilities that we can, whilst also making sure that our prices are realistic for our guests. We hope that you will return...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Stayed here with my husband and sister on our South Coast Trip. This hotel is nice- quite busy when we were there. The food was great. The staffs were excellent. They were prompt when we needed something for our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank einna218
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that everything was great for you. That is fantastic news. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed over for a works do, arrived at 2:30 greeted by a lovely receptionist. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, fantastic value for money. The bar tender Marc went above and beyond any expectations, he was friendly and happy to help in any way he could. He even went to the trouble of contacting his girlfriend to find out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reannewade
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and dinner with us. The comments you have made are so fantastic and we are all so chuffed that everything was great for you. Our team really do care about the experiences that our guests have while they are with us and these comments...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
4.9 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
711 reviews
6.8 km away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
21.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: RM245 - RM437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had accessible room 19”
 of 5 bubbles LBDYork, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Ness1976, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor - it's very noisy (noise comes from inside the hotel). Rooms near the reception suffer from a creaky floor above.”
 of 5 bubbles oldfatandtired, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles TheBeardedLlama, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles jintyjan2, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5