We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
See the most recent reviews
Showing 590: English reviews
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Loved this Holiday Inn. The best one I've ever stayed at. Cracking rooms, great atmosphere and polite and helpful staff, plus the food was very good and we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. This one is hard to beat

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve H
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are all delighted to hear that you consider us to be a great hotel and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Your comments are very important to us. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Great hotel, near services and just off A1. That said, it is very quiet, modern and well set up. Modern reception and seating area, bar and eating areas. Rooms are good, modern and clean. Food was good, reasonably priced, if only it took a while to arrive when we dined. Breakfast was good, and gym well equipped and modern, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheeksontour
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and consider us to be a great value accommodation provider. We hope that we can welcome you back again. Kind regards Pat MacInnes general Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Realy friendly staff nice big comfortable room, excellent choice well cooked breakfast,good deal to include day out at beamish quiet room and a doddle to find just off a1. Would recommend for business or pleasure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such great feedback on your recent stay. Your comments mean so much to our hard working team and we are all really pleased to hear that you would recommend us. In our humble opinion there really is no better compliment to receive than that. We hope that we can welcome you back to stay with...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We got this on a very good deal, to be honest we weren't expecting a lot but this place really surprised us. Location was perfect for us, the room was spacious and very clean. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was brilliant, something for everyone and lots of it. We also had an evening meal there, my choice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mancs12
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review. We are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations, this always lovely feedback to receive. It is also great to hear that you will recommend us and that you would definitely return to stay with us again. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Essex, England
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Friendly staff; carpets in hallways in dire need of replacement (badly fitting and ruched up catching wheels of cases and tripping unwary travellers); the building is tucked away behind a McDonald's with poor signposting; breakfast average (and I was very ill for 2 days afterwards although it is hard to prove exactly that it was Holiday Inn's fault).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pd7
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We are aware of the issues with our hallway carpets and are awaiting our carpet layers to come and fix this as soon as possible. The carpets were laid only 8 months ago so are actually very new. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Stayed two nights at this clean, tidy and hospitable hotel. Very quiet at night despite being in close proximity to the A1. All the staff we met were very friendly and are a credit to themselves and their management team. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with copious amounts of hot water in the shower and free newspaper in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernieapp
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy the meal that you ordered. I have passed this on to our Head chef so that she can take this up with our butcher. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts and appreciate...

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Comfortable Holiday Inn with a pleasant atmosphere in a non descript service area off the A1. Newly refurbished, clean, friendly receptionists. The air con (more accurately older style air blowers) was noisy so we opened the window instead. Even with the window open it was quiet at night. We understand the air con units are going to be replaced. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil190776
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice quiet stay. The area around the hotel is very peaceful and even though the hotel is situated close to the A1, we are just far enough away so that this is not usually a...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Stayed here on a Travelzoo deal which included admission to Beamish. The hotel has ample parking spaces. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. The room was modern and clean, the only thing that I didn't like was the hand wash basin was in the bedroom rather than in the bathroom. The evening meal was excellent 3 courses all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian12082015
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Your excellent 5 star review is very much appreciated by our team and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back again to the hotel. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Very nice two day break here with a Living Social voucher, comfortable hotel and friendly staff. Car required though, as it is in countryside, though walking distance from local pubs. Good centre for sightseeing in County Durham

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redhammer69
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Your 5 Star review means a lot to us and we are thrilled to hear that your stay was great. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General manager

Derby
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We stayed at the hotel as a base for visiting relatives in the area and to visit Durham and the coast. We had a very comfortable stay at the hotel and although it was very busy with coach tours we didn't hear anything from other guest rooms or the corridor, the reception also advised us the best time for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonandmarkuk
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. We are all delighted to hear that everything about your stay was good. At this time of year the hotel is full of guests of all kinds and we try to ensure that everybody is looked after with equal care. We are also pleased to...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
4.9 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
722 reviews
7.8 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
674 reviews
6.8 km away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: RM213 - RM436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles TheBeardedLlama, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles jintyjan2, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet room ask for one facing the fields 2nd floor right at the end of the corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles Oxfordcameraman, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 22 was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles katemX3005PF, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room I had was nice and quiet on First floor....”
 of 5 bubbles holiday1122, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay