We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship at Dunwich

785 reviews
Save
Traveller (103)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (23)
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good35%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(114 reviews)
“fish and chips”(57 reviews)
“scotch egg”(15 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (785)Write a Review
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
335
274
118
42
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
335
274
118
42
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish and chipsscotch eggdog ownersmarsh viewsuffolk coastbeer gardenpork bellydunwich heathsister pubstable blockgreat lunchdog friendly pubfamily roompielog firemain building
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Building and location spot on however our welcome was underwhelming. Room clean and comfy but not luxurious as booked. The complementary sloe gin was a welcome find. Evening meal was nothing to write home about. Annoyed to hear bar staff moaning about previous customers and...More

Thank ejfrog13
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited a few years ago and considered it to be quite a find hence our return. A few Saturdays ago after a long walk we decided to return expecting the same experience, only to be awfully disappointed. Firstly as entering we passed by what...More

Thank alijames54
Response from GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Ship at DunwichResponded 6 days ago

I am so sorry and disappointed to read your review. The previous feedback that I have received has always been so positive about our hand made scotch eggs. Your dish should have been equal if not better value than your last experience, we are certainly...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beware folks. We were offered a “Stay and Eat” rate of £150 per night, to include a £60 dinner allowance. This was confirmed by (their) e mail. Upon departure, it was denied, despite me showing the evidence. The Ship tried to charge me £448 for...More

1  Thank Nasinleeds
Response from GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Ship at DunwichResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We offer many great value offers throughout the year, but these are generally not available during our busiest times, such as half term. During your initial reservation enquiry we unfortunately offered...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked through the half-price winter offer although, in all honesty, the normal price would have been way over the top. The pub was warm and welcoming and the staff made every effort to meet our needs. The small decanter of sloe gin on arrival...More

1  Thank MathandAndy
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights in a "Marsh View" room. Well worth the few extra pounds for the stunning view of the marshes towards Southwold. The Ship is tucked away in the tiny village of Dunwich in a beautiful area with some amazing history. I'll start...More

Thank Sheila B
View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456157
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$134 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$134 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (103)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (23)
Pool & Beach (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
alliance0193
30 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Shipmanager | Property representative |
Hi there Here's our opening times as requested Monday to Friday Breakfast 8am - 10am Lunch 12pm - 3pm Dinner 6pm - 9pm Saturday & Sunday Breakfast 8am -10am Lunch & Dinner 12pm -9pm (serving food all day) Hope this... More
0
Votes
SouthwoldS
15 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Shipmanager | Property representative |
Hi There, we do have pretty good access to most of the pub and its dining rooms but I'm afraid to say the garden has steps leading to it from all angles which has made it difficult for us to configure for wheelchair access... More
0
Votes
Shelagh M
16 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Gran123CambridgeUK | Reviewed this property |
Simple! Just ask the hotel!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"we had leats hill that overlooked the garden"
Read review
"All saints is at the front on the first floor, while it is a nice room ,it was very noisy."
Read review
"We didnt sleep here. we just ate here"
Read review
"The front rooms have the best outlook but not worth the price tag"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing