We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 589: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Never good when after checking in you are told that your room is 'Just back across the car park.' And the car park borders a building site. Yes, the 'lighthouse rooms" (sic) are character-free motel rooms built around a garden area. All a bit disappointing when you think you've booked a nice period hotel. They call it 'contemporary coastal' but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul C
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Apologies if the Lighthouse Rooms weren’t to your taste, many of our guests prefer to have access to the gardens, but if you were expecting period charm then we recommend you book a room in the main hotel next time.

Reviewed 9 July 2015

This was our first visit to the Swan - but we will definitely be back. All the reviews point out how friendly the hotel is and yes all the staff including evening wait and breakfast wait staff - room was large and comfortable even though we had only booked a few days before going - the bathroom was large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lushrider
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hopefully the first of many visits – thrilled that you found us at our best. Thank you

Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Have just spent a weekend at this Hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. We went as part of a wedding party and the staff couldn't have been better. The Manager being extremely helpful. The food was very good and we were even given a separate room for breakfast with the other wedding guests. We had Room 9 which although didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila A
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

You’re very welcome – hope you enjoyed the wedding and Southwold in general.

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We have just had a lovely family gathering at the Swan Hotel. It is an ideal and comfortable location and the food was lovely - really enjoyed the breakfast made freshly to order! The staff are the nicest, most helpful people - my Dad has mobility problems and they were so supportive without making him feel at all patronised -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review – thank you, always a pleasure.

Reviewed 3 July 2015

Thank goodness for the Swan, traditional English , breakfast with both full English and kippers from Lowestoft and smoked haddock if you fancy- I always do ! The hotel is there for those who like traditional ways but that does not mean to say its outdated far from it. clean with decent public room space and a wide variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David194648
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Always happy to hear you still enjoy our traditional seaside hotel – hope to see you again.

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Stayed at The Swan in Southwold last night. Lovely hotel. We had a beautiful room at the back of the hotel on second floor. It had an enormous bed, spacious room and bathroom and very clean. It had lovely touches, bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities and beautiful toiletries and bathrobes. Its location was perfect on the main road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank papamaria2013
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward to welcoming you back too – thank you for your review.

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Booked one of their special offer stays, including dinner, bed, breakfast and brewery tour. As we had our elderly dog with us we stayed in a lighthouse room, at the rear of the hotel and set around a delightful garden seating area. Very comfortable room, complete with dog bowl and biscuit! Hotel is in a good location and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay – shame you had to leave early – please come and stay with us again and re-book the Brewery Tour – well worth it. Wifi in the Lighthouse rooms is on our 'To-Do' list!

stanmore
Reviewed 29 June 2015

went up for a wedding the night before the event, I didn't expect much from a hotel in a popular seaside resort, but was pleasantly surprised by the delightful room overlooking not only the church but also the lighthouse. Although hotel is on the High Street, my room was very quiet, nicely appointed, everything looked pristine and the pillows are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grandmummycal
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

All aspects covered and great that you found us pleasantly surprising in all areas.

Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

We had the most intimate wedding here and we were treated fantastically well. The staff were wonderful, so very friendly and helpful. We couldn't have wished for more. Our ceremony was in the reading room overlooking the market place, a lovely room. We stayed in a garden room because we took our puppy and that was perfect for us. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

A wonderful wedding, we enjoy making people's special days perfect – thank you.

Manchester
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Managed to get a room on the last minute and wasn't disappointed. My son had a lovely room on the front of the hotel with views of the high street and a sea view in the distance. It was an old style room and very well equipped. We had a garden room which was well equipped, beautifully decorated. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorna M

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.1 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
357 reviews
1.5 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
300 reviews
0.6 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
909 reviews
19.6 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
604 reviews
19.7 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just yards from the Adnams Brewery the hotel has been awarded 4 Stars by The AA and two Rosettes for the food in the restaurant. A short stroll from the hotel is the beach at Southwold with its rows of colourful beach huts and the town has a wide selection of individual boutique shops to browse. Our Lighthouse Rooms in the Garden are Dog Friendly and wheelchair accessible.Brewery and Distillery tours can be arranged for guests and there are plenty of Adnams pubs within walking distance to enjoy a taste of our beer. Please note: Free WiFi is available in rooms in the main hotel only. There is no WiFi available in the Lighthouse rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: RM1,008 - RM1,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a back room but it was just fine, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles nono323, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I loved the garden room”
 of 5 bubbles ALs888, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Superior lighthouse rooms are spacious and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieP766, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dog friendly but state you are taking dogs when you book.”
 of 5 bubbles Steve239, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you plan to do brewery tour consider booking that first as you may get a discount at the swan or crown”
 of 5 bubbles katief594, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay