We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

737 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 736: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We cannot fault this place! We were upgraded to Earl of Sandwich suite and WOW! Absolutely lovely but bottom line CLEAN. Roll top bath that takes 40 minutes to fill and so big I could float, nice toiletries, super staff who were attentive without being intrusive but the best was yet to come . . . . the food!!! Menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulette_vernon1
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and I am sure we will be seeing you again.

sevenoaks
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for a one night short break on the spur of the moment which meant we could only have the smallest room. This was well presented and comfortable . We had dinner there that evening and were most impressed with the quality and presentation of the meal which was delicious . I must also mention Andy and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelboy72
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you review and especially for your kind words relating to our staff, I have passed your comments onto them and thanked them on your behalf, hope to see you here again soon

Worcester
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location in lovely Southwold - fascinating historic property - Duke of York room lovely with a ceiling which makes it truly memorable - breakfast splendid choices, everything we chose had great products very well cooked - dinner, superb flavours, excellent presentation, and all skilfully cooked - staff all good at their jobs while being helpful and cheerfull. We knew...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PePeUpton
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

So great to see we exceeded your expectations, high praise indeed. thank you so much for your lovely review

Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We are away for my husband's 'special birthday' and had booked Sutherland House last November based on the good reviews it receives. We stayed in the Earl of Sandwich room which has the double ended slipper bath in the middle of the room. This concept sounds great, however the bath takes around 20 minutes to get to a 1/4 full...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roose1
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear guest, sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay in the Earl of Sandwich room, perhaps you may wish to try the Duke of York room next time, this has a slipper bath and a shower.

Soham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Choose Sutherland House for its central location and price. Was not disappointed! Modern room, clean and comfortable. Had evening meal in the restaurant. Food was excellent. Hoping to go back later this year. Staff helpful and cheerful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

So pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and you will be back. hope to see you again soon

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in the Earl of sandwich room. We were thrilled on arrival, very warm and freindly greeting and loved the room. However it all went horribly wrong when we wanted to sleep! The noise of creaking floor boards of the John Sutherland suite in the attic above was unbearable. The bathroom above us was directly over the head of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat T
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, whilst I am delighted to read you enjoyed your meal with us; I am obviously disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Based upon the feedback we constantly receive, we understand that whilst a vast majority of our guests book here to enjoy the experience of a 15th century building with its...

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Sutherland House is run with the aim of being great. In my opinion, they succeed. We stayed in the Duke of York room, which had the anticipated beautiful ceiling and a wonderful bathroom (tip: make sure that the shower curtain goes all the way around the bath!). The decor is quite modern, which isn't quite what I was expecting, but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 284harryp
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you so much for your kind words, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us

lou896
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in the John sutherland suite which is based in the attic of the house. For the price i would have assumed to have some little luxuries such as little shampoos, conditioner etc, and a small bottle of wine or some local produce on arrival. The room is lovely with a big lounge area which is lovely to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lou896
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, perhaps if you decide to visit us again you may wish to try the Earl of sandwich room with its amazing slipper bath

Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We are regular visitors to Southwold, not least because of Sutherland House! We have stayed in their VERY SPECIAL rooms in the past (and loved it!) but on this occasion we booked just for dinner (booking in advance is recommended). As always the recption we received from Andy and his staff was welcoming and friendly and the food was superb!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Smiffy2013
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

So glad you came back to see us and had a nice time again, hope to see you soon

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2014

From the moment we arrived, we felt very welcome. The Owner met us and carried our bags to the room. The John Sutherland Suite was clean and comfortable. On the first night we dined in the hotel, the food was excellent and the wine suggested went down well. Only regret, we had booked just two nights. Will definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stan S
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I was so pleased to read you were made to feel so welcome and I am glad you will be coming back to see us,. see you soon x

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.3 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
304 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
363 reviews
0.2 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
736 reviews
6.4 km away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
610 reviews
19.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: RM487 - RM1,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
8 days ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 rooms in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 581nigelh, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not Earl of Sandwich”
 of 5 bubbles 433janeg, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The top floor suite is well worth the trip up the steep stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles 739rachaell, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Duke of York Room is large and has beautiful period features”
 of 5 bubbles G567OGphilb, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Pack your earplugs”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamsLondon, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay