We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

PowderMills Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
PowderMills Country House Hotel
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

602 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for PowderMills Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 595: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

but I'm not able to because I want to be honest. Such a shame as the hotel is in a fabulous location and beautiful setting and I was really hoping that dinner in the restaurant would be delicious and worth every penny. It wasn't, and was very disappointing - not cheap, small portions and service is a bit chaotic. Echoes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsElsea
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

I went with my family for dinner to the restaurant, we were not staying there. I am new to the area and had wanted to try this restaurant for some time. The setting is great and I had high hopes. It was mid week so I knew it wouldn't be busy but my family were only staying with me for...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Sassy1232015
Simon G, Public Relations Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We were sorry and surprised to read your negative comments about the service you received on your visit. The professionalism and helpfulness of our hotel staff is regularly reflected through our excellent review history. We do not staff our bar at quiet times as it is adjacent to the restaurant and someone can be...

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Can't comment on the rooms, only called for afternoon tea, but for anyone considering doing the same I'd say save yourself a bad experience and visit some roadside truckstop. Giving it 1-star is giving it one star too many. Meal was served in a dark and dingy part of the hotel; not really part of the restaurant and when it...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Nottstexplorer
Simon G, Public Relations Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Afternoon Tea at the Powdermills Hotel, we are sorry you felt that way about our service offer. We have now had an opportunity to fully investigate your concerns with our restaurant team on duty. We do not currently serve Afternoon Tea in the main dining room, but in smaller lounge, conservatory and library areas...

east sussex
Reviewed 5 June 2015

A really stunning setting for this hotel, unfortunately the waiting staff let it down, with their lack of customer service, and lack of interest in what the customer is asking for. The room we were allocated was a standard twin, which, basically was a box room. I don't think that 1 small bottle of water for 2 people is adequate,...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank dodgekew
Simon G, Public Relations Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we always pride ourselves on excellent standards of service throughout the hotel and this is reflected in our excellent review history. We are sorry that on this occasion your expectations were not met. We have standard twin rooms available, but not twin box rooms and our room rates have not increased by more than £10...

Bristol
Reviewed 3 June 2015

we stay often at Powdermills over the years and the recent work on the bar and reception work well. As ever a great stay but this time let down by the breakfast. Previously, breakfasts were cooked to order and were superb in quality, quantity and presentation. Now as so may other hotels the pre cooked average choices are available in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nicodemus12
Simon G, Public Relations Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to read of your disappointment with our breakfast offer. A full breakfast buffet has been offered for a while now, but only on particularly busy weekends as it best meets the needs of our guests. Your comments regarding temperature have been noted.

Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Booked for a 1 night break, on arrival a wedding party was underway and the hotel was presented wonderfully, only downside we had to wait quite a while for a coffee as it appeared ALL staff were attending the wedding. Once the drinks were served it was amazing the courtesy and the attention to detail from the staff. We ate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stevfe
Simon G, Public Relations Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We had a lovely night away during the end of May, the hotel is very pretty and the grounds spectacular. The resident peacock was very amusing to watch on the lawn. Our room was a superior twin no 29 and was very elegant and comfortable. We ate in the Orangery restaurant and the meal was good, my starter of ravioli...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sjk0658
Simon G, Public Relations Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your comments.

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015

This lovely hotel set in the East Sussex countryside and very close to Battle has excellent facilities for all types of functions. Our function was a wedding reception and all went extremely well, the food was excellent in fact everything that day at this hotel went so smoothly we were so over impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 123wenden
Simon G, Public Relations Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the wedding reception at our hotel. We are very happy to have contributed to your daughter's special day.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

This place is beautiful there is a lovely lake with ducks at the front of the hotel that you see when you drive in and an even bigger lake at the back with geese and baby goslings . The staff were very attentive and dealt with us straight away and even offered for our luggage to be carried to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thereasa O
Simon G, Public Relations Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comprehensive review of your overnight stay with us last month. We welcome your praise of the excellent food and attentive service that we provided.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Your first experience of the Powdermills is the beautiful grounds and Henry the resident peacock who was strutting his stuff giving us a show. The room was nicely appointed but the real stand out for us were the staff who went above and beyond with every interaction, they made us feel welcome wherever we were - the restaurant, bar, reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaelAndB
Simon G, Public Relations Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and the favourable comments about our excellent hotel service staff. We comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

606 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (327)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (36)
Viewed
Executive Room (47)
Viewed
Executive Twin (26)
Viewed
Junior Suite (47)
Viewed
Junior Suite - Traditional (27)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Standard Double (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
5.0 km away
Claverton Country House Hotel
4.3 km away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
385 reviews
1.4 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
255 reviews
8.0 km away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
821 reviews
25.1 km away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Price Range: RM748 - RM870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PowderMills Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from PowderMills Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a lakeside room if available!”
 of 5 bubbles Brighton_Bites, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wellies are available at the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles lauracmacdonald, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms quite expensive, but there are many deals out there.”
 of 5 bubbles E999XWneilb, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“An executive room overlooking the lake at the back is a good choice.”
 of 5 bubbles peterrichardw2016, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the main building. The suites in the external building really are far more enjoyable not to mention comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles angeladZ7555VX, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5