We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ashburnham Place

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Battle
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Ashburnham Place
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Start your review of Ashburnham Place
 Click to rate
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This is a Christian Centre that has the Orangery tea rooms attached to it that are open to the public. The tea rooms have great staff and great cakes. There are seats outside which are lovely in good weather. There are some lovely walks which you are able to use and it all has a lovely peaceful setting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fozie2016
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Orangery Tea Room.

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

A little hidden gem in amongst the beautiful landscape of Ashburnham Place. Children's little play area, great coffee and cakes to die for what else could anyone want? Oh of course giant mouth crumbling scones topped with delicious jam and clotted cream. Tick And friendly staff. Tick

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ifour-design-agency
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Orangery Tea Room.

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Visited here for the first time with friends - extensive country house grounds to explore - go to reception and they will give you a map for the footpaths etc. No Dogs allowed. Afterwards try the Orangery tea rooms - tasty sandwiches and soups, large selection of teas, coffees and cakes - comfortable surroundings with additional outside tables for nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pevensey
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Orangery Tea Room.

Battle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We were frequent visitors here because the setting is beautiful. Sadly, the last time we visited we were disappointed. The sandwiches had bread that had no butter on! the houmous was runny....yuk! We asked for mayonnaise and were told by the waitress that they were very busy (they weren't) and we'd have to wait.....eventually the mayonnaise arrived but at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toj1
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback, and for visiting the Orangery Tea Room.

Caddington
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Spotted the Orangery sign as we passed by and stopped in for 11's. Wonderful grounds and location and a very interesting building with some fascinating history. Enjoyed the tea break in a very busy tea room but sadly the service was a little rushed and the loo's could do with some attention.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Orangery Tea Room.

N. Ireland
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Accommodation basic but clean, adequate and comfortable. Food generally very good. Large basket of fresh fruits available at every meal. Fresh baked cookies served with coffee at 11am and fresh muffins prepared for coffee at 4.30. Beautiful surroundings with lovely walks around the grounds and walled gardens where a lot of the fruit and veg are grown for use in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RiceNI
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

In the Orangery with friends, we enjoyed the most fabulous afternoon tea and then explored the grounds within the estate. Mini sandwiches, tea, scones with cream and cakes...all very fresh and well presented.Staff were helpful. The only downside...wasps...attracted to the yummy jam! I don't think many people know about this lovely location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackieHooper
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Orangery Tea Room.

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Visited Ashburnham place I had tea and cake in the orangery which I was disappointed as the cake I chose to have was stale on returning the cake the staff were very helpful and replaced it. Altogether I enjoyed the surroundings as it was very tranquil I will look forward to another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernib33
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback.

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had coffee and delicious cake, in the orangery which is very restful. The staff are pleasant and helpful. With a lovely wander around the grounds. And a visit to the church there. It is so tranquil with beautiful lakes plus some wild life when we were there. We look forward to another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen c
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Orangery Tea Room.

Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Was blown away with the beauty of this place. Amazingly well kept grounds with plenty of options for sitting and enjoying the scenery as you walk. Entry and parking is free which is so rare these day. The Orangery has a lovely menu with more than enough options for a lovely lunch. Pricing again is so good and reasonable considering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
Adam P, Director of Sales at Ashburnham Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Orangery Tea Room.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battle hotels
0.0 km away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.0 km away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
0.0 km away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#3 of 5 in Battle
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
189 reviews
0.0 km away
St Benedicts Byre
St Benedicts Byre
#4 of 9 in Battle
18 reviews
0.0 km away
Crowhurst Park
Crowhurst Park
#3 of 8 in Battle
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We provide a place for retreat, rest, refreshment and connection for people from all walks of life. Ashburnham Place is stewarded by the Ashburnham Christian Trust and is home to a serving community of Christians from many traditions. We are set in 220 acres of stunning grounds and gardens with three lakes and an abundance of nature. Our commitment is to serving and resourcing people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashburnham Place

Address: Battle TN33 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Number of rooms: 120
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ashburnham Place staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London
9 months ago
4 months ago
London
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ashburnham Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not having stayed here, and not sure how as it is not a hotel.”
57eileenc, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“not a hotel so you will not get to choose your room.”
MCollinson1, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Target/ Patmos Lodge are quietest. Tent Hill House facing the car park and the Link rooms can be noisy. Moore House good for families.”
Exmoorgirl, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Not a hotel”
Whistledown, 21 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms in a lodge are larger.”
bonniel212, 5 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5