We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cooden Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cooden Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cooden Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 743: English reviews
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Staff great, room nice and clean with good view. Watch internet in the beach house annex as it was unusable. Apparently ok in main building. Nice food and terrace was lovely to sit on when the spring sun made an appearance. We stayed after a family party and it was very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thehumpers
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, room and food, we are most sorry to learn there was a problem with the wifi in The Sea House, we will get on to our IT company to look into this.

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here at the weekend. Our room was very small, it felt like we were put in a store Cupboard at the back of the hotel. The shower was so low down that my husband couldn't even stand up in it. The water in the shower was luke warm, yet in the sink both taps were hot! We used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to see you were disappointed with your stay with us. We do have a diverse range of rooms and we are sorry to that the room allocated to yourself was not suitable for your requirements. I would like to advise that the Leisure club has 4 hours of through cleaning overnight and a further 2 hours during...

london
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We have stayed here a couple of times before and we do like this hotel.It is a little bit in the middle of no where but the setting is amazing and you can go on lovely walks on the beach. It is also we feel a little old fashioned and you do feel as if you are in a time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essex1london
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We stayed overnight having celebrated my sons 40th birthday and my fathers 85th. The staff were excellent. Really good service. Had a lovely room overlooking the sea. We had lunch and dinner there and thoroughly enjoyed both.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill E
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and for choosing to celebrate both your son's and father's birthdays with us

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here. Wonderful sea view from our nicely decorated and very comfortable room with a king sized bed and excellent mattress. Breakfast was served swiftly and there was plenty of everything. We enjoyed a dip in the small spa pool and jacuzzi. Evening meals were good pub food, and I enjoyed excellent fish and chips....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return in the future.

Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at CBH over Easter break. Lovely setting, close to station. We had a sea view room which I would recommend. Breakfast choice excellent, well cooked and big portions! Use of the leisure facilities a bonus, especially for us, travelling with teenagers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyroamer
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us with your family.

Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2016

The majority of the services provided by the Hotel were excellent. The Cooden Beach Hotel is the only quality hotel in the immediate area so benefits from a somewhat "captive audience". In the forty years I have frequented the Hotel for food, drinks and functions it has always been overpriced and could never be classed as value for money. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bloobelle
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are extremely sorry to learn of the disappointing service you received during your recent visit which has clearly marred the experience for yourself and your guests and for this we extend our most sincere apologies. Please be assured this is not our usual level of service. We appreciate your considered grading.

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We were in a room 122 and it was nice - view was to the side of the hotel - railway one side ( no noise ) and see the other - yes straight ahead was a wall but no major impact. Service in the Tavern from Debbie and her team was amazing for both adults and children!! Pool was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you and your family had a great stay with us.

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

My sister and I looked at several venues but decided on this hotel. Most of us live locally and we have used it for family events before. We were well looked after -nearly 40 people in the room next to the bar. We had beautiful meals from the carvery. We decorated the room ourselves but the staff were polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A7604TQmike
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to see you and your sister had a great visit , its great to hear how much you enjoyed your celebration with us, thank you for sharing this experience.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Go to say that I have lived close to the CBH on and off since I was about 15 (now 60) as my parents bought a house in Cooden.... recently we sold my mothers house and now when we come down to visit we stay at the Cooden Beach and frankly it is and always has been a great little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rory E
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review, its great to hear you return to us when you return to Bexhill, We are all most fortunate to live in such a fabulous area and are delighted to welcome returning visitors such as yourselves. We look forward to your return.

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
8.0 km away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
9.5 km away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
8.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
9.9 km away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
11.7 km away
Claverton Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: RM430 - RM878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cooden Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cooden Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles daveboul2n, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Opt for a seaview room”
 of 5 bubbles wendyg567, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea views are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles 2JMB, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view family room was fab. Spacious and light.”
 of 5 bubbles karenburgess2016, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea View worth it”
 of 5 bubbles FiStell, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay