We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Coopers Hill, Willingdon, Eastbourne BN20 9JD England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$81
View deal
PricelineUS$81
Vio.comUS$81
Agoda.comUS$81
eDreamsUS$81
EtripUS$81
TripadvisorUS$81
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (86)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (9)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Chalk Farm Hotel is a unique and quirky hotel set in the Sussex village of Willingdon. We are also a Grade II listed building and a training centre for adults with learning disabilities. Facilities include -En suite Bedrooms -Breakfast included -Lounge Bar -Beautiful Gardens -Complimentary toiletries -Tea and Coffee Making Facilities -Bath and Hand Towels -Rooms are serviced daily We also hold functions and weddings. *Please note that most of our bedrooms feature low beams.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
150Reviews4Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 35
  • 13
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Debbie S wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for 2 nights, beautiful location, lovely clean room. Ensuite however was very small and water pressure was rubbish making having a shower difficult. Lovely Thai restaurant 5 min walk away. We had booked and paid for our stayed through booking.com so was hugely surprised when we got asked to pay again on checkout. When stated that we had paid through booking.com we were asked to display proof!! When proof was obviously shown by us, no apology was made, other than ok as a comment. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TravelUpsAndDowns wrote a review Sep 2022
Canterbury, United Kingdom176 contributions52 helpful votes
Stayed here just for one night for work, totally not what I expected of Eastbourne, this area is more inland in the country side, so incongruous to how I thought of Eastbourne (seafront, beach). Lovely people, I wanted a bath in the room, so they put us in the family room, with 1 double and 3 single beds - there were only the two of us, but it's the only room with a bath tub. They also recommended a nearby pub for dinner. Yes, the decor is dated, but it's comfortable. I had a good night sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The family suite is the only room with a bath tub.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rahul R wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions
Beautiful quintessentially English hotel set against the idyllic countryside of the South Downs. Thoroughly memorable stay and great breakfast, lunch served in the beautiful garden. The hotel is on Chalk Farm which inspired George Orwell’s Animal Farm making this a historic place to visit, not just a place to stay. Proceeds go to support children with learning difficulties
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chalk Farm Hotel LDC, General Manager at Chalk Farm Hotel
Responded 7 Sep 2022
Hello Rahul, Thanks for your lovely review! Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel soon. Take care.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lydia B wrote a review Aug 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Not been here for 20 years but ideal for visiting family locally. Not changed much in 20 years! Looking very tired and bedroom furniture & especially en-suite needs updating (water pressure not great) but it was clean & comfortable & the breakfast was very nice. Did ok for what we wanted.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chalk Farm Hotel LDC, General Manager at Chalk Farm Hotel
Responded 7 Sep 2022
Hello Lydia, Thanks for your honest review. We are glad you re-visited after 20 years! Apologies that you had problems with the water pressure. But we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope to se you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Well if you dont want to have fun time. This is the place to go. Never have i ever been so disapointed in a venue as this. Should be on hotels from hell. Easy make top 3. On a lovely summers day had outside band. Till 8pm. Hmmm told to turn music down at 7pm. Really indeed we was. Had disco booked from 8pm untill 10pm . Gets better. 34 degrees indoors. And they shut all windows and patio doors as music to loud outside. So have to go inside and listen and sweat our bits off. Actually couldnt get worse. Ohhh you wrong. At 10pm we are told to go inside and all those not staying at hotel must go. You couldnt make it up. The organiser had paid for exclusive use so booked all rooms. We thought. Over 4k spent so not a premier inn (been better though) rooms were awfull. The worst i stayed in. Then there breakfast in morning. 1 dry egg. Chipolater. Half tomoto. Few beans. Rasher bacon. A mushroom. Half slice bread. Coffee was ok. Just. So if you wana book this hotel. It cheaper and far better to pitch a tent on the downs . Final point you need to be 4ft tall to get in shower 🙈 .and in this review i could have gone on. But think i been kind to them Ps the only thing missing was john cleese and manuel from faulty towers. And poor night porter who served us breakfast #Rant over
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chalk Farm Hotel LDC, General Manager at Chalk Farm Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Hello, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the party. We have certain license rules in regards to music, especially with it being outdoors. We are in a residential area and the band were playing a bit too loud for our neighbours. Again due to licensing rules, we are not allowed to have any windows or doors open while music is playing past 8pm. Not ideal in a heatwave but we are unable to break rules due to the weather. The party ending at 10pm had been agreed prior to the event and you were welcome to finish your drinks before leaving the venue. It clearly states in our events brochure that 'exclusive use' is regarding the downstairs of the hotel and does not include the bedrooms. We did have other guests staying in our bedrooms which the organiser was made aware of well before the event. Sorry but I am not sure where the 4k figure has come from as we do not charge this amount for parties or accommodation? As the original part of the building was built in 1609, please expect low ceilings and beams. Thanks for taking the time to review. We have taken your comments onboard.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mancityblueboy wrote a review Aug 2022
East Sussex, United Kingdom2 contributions
I attended a 60th birthday party here 13/8/2022 it was the worse experience I have ever had at a hotel, Live Music was booked and agreed in the garden. between 4pm and 8pm at 7pm the band was told to play quieter?? disco booked for the evening and agreed until 10pm bear in mind the temperature on this day we were not allowed to have a door or window open the room was like an oven, everyone was outside as no doors and windows open music was only being enjoyed by the DJ what a waste of money. At 10 o clock all guests that were not staying in the hotel that night must leave now the security started tipping the guests out of their chairs there was no advance notice given for this to happen guests that had just purchased drinks had to just leave them and residents must go indoors ?? I am a 70-year-old disabled person it felt like I was being told I must go to bed at 10 pm. we had six of the 8 rooms booked the security carried on moving us indoors. moving chairs and tables around. I have worked in the Hotel business for 50 odd years, owned and run my own Hotel for 10 of those years, and in all that time I have never seen these things happen, or have been treated like that. The bedrooms all need renovation. and updating.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: go some were else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chalk Farm Hotel LDC, General Manager at Chalk Farm Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Hello, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the party. We are based in a residential area and respecting our neighbours is important to us. Unfortunately the band was playing a bit too loud. Due to our license we are not allowed to have windows and doors open while entertainment is playing past 8pm. I understand this wasn't ideal during a heatwave, but unfortunately we are not able to break our licencing terms. It was agreed the night would end at 10pm prior to the event and you were able to finish your drinks before leaving. Again due to our licensing we are not able to have people chatting and drinking in the garden past a certain time. Thanks for taking the time to review. We have taken your comments onboard.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M smith wrote a review Aug 2022
28 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
My now husband, and I just had our wedding here on 30.07.22 and it was the most perfect, magical day we could have asked for. Chalk Farm hotel is a stunning venue. We had an outdoor wedding with full use of the inside. The staff were amazing, they put my Vision into reality and it couldn’t have been more perfect. The layout, decor and attention to detail was next to none. Nothing was too much trouble for them and it felt like they really cared. All our friends and family said how beautiful the venue is and how amazing our wedding was, and we absolutely agree. We couldn’t fault it and couldn’t have done it without the help of the team. Food was incredible, staff incredible, night porters incredible. Just all round perfect experience and we couldn’t be more excited, happy and grateful to be Mr & Mrs Dunn and embark on our new journey knowing we just had the most perfect wedding at Chalk Farm. Thank you so so much to everyone especially Tina & Harriet. We can’t wait to get the professional photos back and share !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chalk Farm Hotel LDC, General Manager at Chalk Farm Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Hello, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you so much for your review. We are so glad your day was perfect and we have passed on your message to Tina and Harriet. Take care and enjoy married life!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lichfieldsteve wrote a review Apr 2022
Alrewas, United Kingdom91 contributions35 helpful votes
Stayed here for four nights whilst visiting friends in the area. Good location witi easy access to Eastbourne even if using public transport. Hotel itself is a little tired but perfectly functionable - not unsurprising given its age. Clean enough without being excessive and good service throughout our stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: It is what it is - it does what it is good at - good simple accommodation as a sensible price
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chalk Farm Hotel LDC, General Manager at Chalk Farm Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Hello, Thank you for your honest review. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Take care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SOAGIRL wrote a review Apr 2022
United Kingdom113 contributions68 helpful votes
Me and my friend stayed here for a few nights as we were visting Eastbourne. The hotel is nice, basic but nice The guy who works behind reception was really great host and very helpful. We stayed in a family room which had a double bed and 2 single beds it was very spacious but a very small ensuite. The whole room is on a wonk/slant when you sit on the toilet you slide into the shower wall. Our only issues whilst here was the breakfast. It wasnt very good, small portions, low quality ingredients and very greasy everything tastes of oil. I wouldnt recommend paying the extra for the breakfast package. We only ate the breakfast once and left without breakfast in our last day snd got it somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chalk Farm Hotel LDC, General Manager at Chalk Farm Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review. The original part of the building was built in 1609, so expect a lot of character with sloping floors, low ceilings and beams. Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the breakfast. Hopefully we can welcome you to the hotel again soon. Take care.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Giovanna wrote a review Mar 2022
Surrey, United Kingdom162 contributions56 helpful votes
Nice,quiet location ,gardens looked good,too but let down by poor quality mattress and very squeaky bed!When we arrived I had to use our phone flash light,as there's no outside lighting. Bed squeaked at every turn,so sadly I hardly slept,mattress was thin and not the usual hotel quality I am used to.Toilet was so narrow that if you're bit taller than average you'll bang your head on the ceiling. Shower was the same ,I am 5ft4 and my head touched the ceiling in the shower cubicle.Not powerful either.I wouldn't stay again as comfort when it comes to sleep is vital in any hotel establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chalk Farm Hotel LDC, General Manager at Chalk Farm Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are currently making our way through the rooms and changing our mattresses for new ones. Brand new lighting has also been fitted in the car park and surrounding paths. As the original part of the building was built in 1609, there are a lot of narrow spaces, low ceilings and beams. Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexEastbourneWillingdon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHALK FARM HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 101 Photos (Willingdon, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chalk Farm Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Chalk Farm Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Seven Sisters Pub (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chalk Farm Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Chalk Farm Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chalk Farm Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chalk Farm Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Red Lion, Thai Village, and Cafe Willingdon.
Is Chalk Farm Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Willingdon.
Are there any historical sites close to Chalk Farm Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alfriston Clergy House (6.6 km), Michelham Priory (7.3 km), and Redoubt Fortress & The Pavilion (4.5 km).