We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Smugglers Cove

Save
Share
Brook Park West, Valley Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 3TP England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (5)

About

#12 of 20 hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 38 rooms hotel by Marston's Inn's situated 1.5 miles from Clacton SeaFront. The hotel sits next to a 180 seater Family Carvery Pub open 7 days a week.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Room features
Clothes rack
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
63Reviews2Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 13
  • 4
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Margaret O wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Another great visit to this pub with my father and husband. Delicious food delivered by friendly, kind and efficient staff. Everyone deserves a 5 star review, especially our waitress, Lisa! 👍🏻👍🏻❤️❤️
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Smugglers Cove
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our food and will certainly pass on your positive feedback to the team but especially to Lisa. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Read more
K&M rates plates wrote a review Nov 2021
Sidcup, United Kingdom798 contributions398 helpful votes
We checked in quite late at night so didn’t really see much of the hotel. The check in was easy and the night porter was helpful enough. The room seemed nice and clean, bathroom was nice and spacious and the TV on the wall was big and worked well. Unfortunately my wife found a cockroach on the floor in the morning which was very disappointing, we didn’t have time to let the staff know but hopefully the cleaners would’ve spotted it on the middle of the floor and they will address the situation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry McArdle, General Manager at Smugglers Cove
Responded 16 Nov 2021
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you didn't have a great stay with us. We have passed this onto the housekeeping team and we have investigated it further.
Read more
Peter C wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
always amazing food and always feel welcome whenever we visit!! team are always happy to help Lisa marie star member polite, happy and a valued member of the cove. will definately be eating again!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry McArdle, General Manager at Smugglers Cove
Responded 7 Oct 2021
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your meal. I will pass this great feedback on to Lisa and we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
anna s wrote a review Sep 2021
Essex, United Kingdom8 contributions
Had a lovely meal in the pub/restaurant great service by Lisa Marie very friendly and helpful Visited on a Wednesday took part in the weekly quiz good fun even though we didn’t win Warm welcoming pub x
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry McArdle, General Manager at Smugglers Cove
Responded 30 Sep 2021
Hi, Thank you for the review, i will pass your kind words along to Lisa
Read more
Lichfield_Traveller wrote a review Sep 2021
Midlands53 contributions25 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights while visiting family in the area. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Clacton on Sea adjacent a retail park, too far to walk into town so a car is needed, however it does provide great access to the road network for visiting local attractions. There is a large free car with two Pod Point electric vehicle chargers, unfortunately an error in bay markings as resulted in one of the usable charging bays being allocated for disabled persons. The hotel is run like a motel with only no full time reception, guests ring a bell and a member of staff comes across from the adjacent pub, when we arrived a staff member came over immediately. Check out is simple with a box for electronic room keys being in the reception. Throughout the corridors and at every fire door there are pest control boxes, however unlike other reviewers we did not actually see any bottles or other insects. Rooms were a good size, storage for clothes was limited to an open hanging rail, adequate for a night or two, but not ideal for longer stays. Bed was a king size and was very comfortable with decent pillows, the room had good quality blackout curtains, so we had a good night sleep. The bedside plugs include USB charging points, a nice feature that other hotels should also provide. The bathroom was well presented with good lighting and over bath shower, the water pressure from the shower was a little low but functional. At night the room was quiet with no road noise. The optional breakfast was available in the adjacent Smugglers Cove pub a short walk across the car park. Breakfast was a mix of buffet style continental and table served hot food, tables were clean however with the risk of COVID we were a little concerned that all diners were handling the milk jug handle and tongs for the bread. Cooked breakfast was very nice. We also had a meal in the pub one evening, staff were accommodating and friendly but appeared to be under pressure rushing around, food was reasonably priced although the quality of food was okay and served hot, Overall we enjoyed our stay and would happily come again for a short one or two night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry McArdle, General Manager at Smugglers Cove
Responded 30 Sep 2021
Thank you for your kind review, Hope to see you again soon
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexClacton-on-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Smugglers Cove
What are some of the property amenities at Smugglers Cove?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Smugglers Cove?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Smugglers Cove?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Smugglers Cove?
Conveniently located restaurants include Robin Hood, Thai Vintage Restaurant, and Smugglers Cove.
Are there any historical sites close to Smugglers Cove?
Many travellers enjoy visiting West Cliff Theatre (2.7 km), Jaywick Martello Tower (5.3 km), and St. Mary the Virgin (7.3 km).
Is Smugglers Cove accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.