We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pontlands Park

Booking.comUS$119*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$119*
US$119*
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Pontlands Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pontlands Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

My wife and I had dinner in the hotel restaurant and found the food amazing but lacked atmosphere. The staff were ok but felt like they were bored and we picked up on this during the service. I had the lamb which was amazing and my wife the had the Chicken which was also very tasty. The food was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit for dinner. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal but surprised and disappointed by the comments about the staff and will look in to this. With regards to the atmosphere it is very hard to know what different people want, we always have background music in the restaurant and lounge...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Following major surgery and recovery my friend drove from Berkshire to treat me to afternoon tea. As she had no experience of dining in the Chelmsford area she asked me to recommend. I chose Pontlands Park for its locality and from positive past experiences. The setting and surrounding land is pictureque and the sun was shining so all was good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzannempoole
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit for Afternoon Tea. I can only apologise that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations and our usual high standards, I have asked that management look in to all of the points you have raised and speak to the staff involved. Jason Bartella Managing Director

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We booked to stay here as we were invited to a function on the Saturday evening. As we were guests at the function we got a discount on the room when booking, a great impression before we have even arrived! We are arrived at 13.00 and were pleasantly surprised to find our room was ready and we could check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leez1601
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear that we exceeded your expectations from the moment you booked right through to when you left. I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Jason Bartella Managing...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Our daughter and her partner held their wedding here and from the initial planning right through to the wedding breakfast it was 1st Class. The staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were super. Our grandchildren want to return next weekend to go in the pool again! The rooms were comfortable and clean. The buffet and the breakfast were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lensheelagh
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your daughter's recent wedding with us here at Pontlands Park. I am pleased that everyone enjoyed the very special day and time with us. We would love to welcome you all back very soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We use Pontlands Park for our business meetings and I have to stay the staff are fantastic from when you check in the day before,throughout the meeting right until you leave. Nothing is too much trouble and I appreciated Jo's smiling face at reception after a long journey. Throughout the meeting everything was highly organised and we were hosted in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chanty93
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your most recent meeting at Pontlands Park. I am pleased that the team always look after you and you and your colleagues during your visits and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director

Hockley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Pontlands Park is a very pleasant venue and the sun was shining on the aftenoon we arrived for tea. Access is easy for wheelchairs and although ramps are available I didn't need them for the two small steps. Staff were very friendly and we were served promptly with tea and coffee while we waited for the afternoon tea to arrive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit for Afternoon Tea. Most of the points you make are very positive, you liked the venue, the service was good and other than the fact you felt the ham might have been a little fatty you seem to have liked the food. So I am a little confused as to why...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Would just like to thank all the staff at pontlands hotel and restaurant. They made our stay absolutely fantastic. The hotel is top notch and the service was faultless. We woukd highly recomend this hotel to all our family and friends. The food was fantastic and the setting was stunning, inside and out. Would give this place more stars if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enzo2392
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and were well looked after by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Jason Bartella Managing Director

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We visited Portland Park for a birthday dinner on March 1st. We used some vouchers purchased from Travelzoo and had an excellent meal. The food was superb and the service was excellent. Will certainly be returning again as it was so good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent birthday celebration with us. I am pleased you all enjoyed your meal and were well looked after by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Pontlands Park. Our room was huge, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is set in lovely grounds, just right for a leisurely stroll.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanS32
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We loved every aspect of our stay for two nights on business in this hotel. Friendly staff, big room with a nice bathroom too, got a good breakfast, what more does a traveller need? Parking? Yes, right in front of the hotel. They even have a loading station for electro mobiles. We also enjoyed the food very much, the chicken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcel M
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Pontlands Park. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, as well as easy parking most people also want free wifi and we have that as well! I will make sure your comments about the pie are passed on to the kitchen team. We look forward to seeing you back again...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Baddow
6.4 km away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
6.9 km away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
357 reviews
23.3 km away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
526 reviews
25.9 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,424 reviews
4.4 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Pontlands Park

Address: West Hanningfield Road, Great Baddow, Chelmsford CM2 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford > Great Baddow
Price Range: RM554 - RM999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontlands Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontlands Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontlands Park Great Baddow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pontlands Park staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pontlands Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms look good”
Johnpenn, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a higher floor rooms on the ground floor very warm”
christineg679, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive rooms are lovely, but ask for a room away from the main staircase if possible.”
wooflett, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very the standard room are very good here although no air con”
CHS56, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 65 has a door to an adjoining room if you are staying with other family members.”
shirleyann50, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$119
TripAdvisorUS$119
Agoda.comUS$119
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates