We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown House

Expedia.comUS$103*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 25 July 2015

After reading other reviews I was expecting a type of countryside inn, which also had rooms. I thought there would be a focus around the dining. My room itself was in an adjacent annexe and was comparatively small. There was no adequate workspace, and I would not regard this as any kind of hotel for a businessman. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian_do_Guincho
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Firstly, we are truly sorry that you found your stay with us so disappointing, I have tried to contact you to find out when you stayed, so that we could investigate further. We are genuinely sorry that your dining experience was so appalling, as I said I would have liked to have been able to find out who was on...

Reviewed 16 July 2015

The Crown House is a surprising find in a small village, and has great charm. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are very friendly. I was most impressed by the full English breakfast which was really first class. Mind the low ceilings in some of the corridors if you are tall! Our ancestors were shorter than we are.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your breakfast. We do love this old listed building. You are right there are a couple of areas where ,if you are very tall you may have to be careful,but most of the hotel is fine. If you were very tall it may be worth being in The...

Cambridge, England
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Crown House is a pleasant family run hotel. It avoids corporate uniformity, and as such comes across as a little erratic, but they try hard and I found it charming. Check-in was informal. My room was reasonably spacious and very nicely decorated and well equipped (bath and separate shower, and a bidet for washing my socks). There are a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Afterbrunel
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really do appreciate customer reviews,so thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. We are very lucky to have a wide selection of rooms, we do have ground floor rooms, but it is as you say, a good idea to check when making your reservation with us, especially if mobility is an issue. The plates...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Stayed for one night. Wasn't my first choice, but when my original hotel was fully booked, stayed here instead. Very pleasantly surprised. Nice staff, reasonably priced, clean and relatively comfortable. Room a bit cramped, so wouldn't recommend for a long stay; but, for one or two nights, it's fine. A bit rural, but good walking trails in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DipCourier
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Crown House, I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you when your other hotel was fully booked, and that you had a pleasant stay. We have various room sizes, if people want a bigger room and we can move guests we are happy to do so. We do allocate the larger...

UK
Reviewed 30 June 2015

we stayed here for one night found it on my apple map by chance very nice hotel friendly staff the room was nice the double bed was a bit small dinner was ok lovely cheese board tho the breakfast was great (buffet) couldn't fault it i would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JILLSHAX
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really value customer reviews,thank you for taking the time to post this one on The Crown House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your food and liked your room. We have a variety of bed sizes, perhaps if you return you might like to try one of our super king size beds. Our Four Poster beds are antique and...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Pleasant hotel, nice room, good powerful shower. Room was in the block across the courtyard. It was up a spiral staircase, which was fine for us but if your mobility isn't great you could check that you don't have to negotiate that. Quiet at night. Staff very helpful and human. Food fine, maybe a little overpriced for what it was,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Crown House,we are really pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. The Crown House is a very old hotel, we do have rooms on the ground floor for people with mobility issues, and yes it is a good idea to check with us where your room is, especially if booked on line. we...

Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Near to Cambridge 10 minutes by train, station nearby. Lovely hotel, great food, nice ambience, helpful friendly staff. Set in a lovely quiet village. We stayed in the main building, grounds beautifully kept. We are already planning our next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are very lucky at The Crown House, being both tucked away in a pretty village and yet so well placed, to be, as you say convenient for the train to Cambridge or London. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us

Reviewed 19 June 2015

We stayed in the courtyard across from the main hotel. The room was clean and nicely decorated.. Liked the exterior of the hotel – very pretty. Good value stay. The staff were very friendly. If we are in the area again, we would stay here. Would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AwA123
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Crown House Hotel, it is appreciated, especially from an experienced reviewer such as yourselves.We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

First I would like to say after reading the reviews before staying at this Hotel on arriving I wondered if it was the same place. On arrival in reception the floor looked like it could do with a good sweep, but we had a warm welcome from the lady on reception and she gave us a choice of two room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn E
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We, as a team, work really hard and genuinely care about our guests. We would have found it helpful if you had spoken to us at the time of your stay as we are unable to identify some of your photographs, they have been taken at very...

Dartmeet
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I was taking part in a B&B television reality TV programme, and was put up at The Crown House between reviewing competitors' guest houses. Well I thought it beat the lot! It is privately run, the rooms and food are of the highest quality, and the service first rate. When I found out all of this cost less than £100...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
twicksy, Public Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay with us,such a review from someone who is also in the hotel and hospitality sector is especially valued. We would all like to wish you good luck with your future ventures.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Chesterford
13.0 km away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
250 reviews
5.3 km away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
184 reviews
3.9 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
12.7 km away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
250 reviews
4.2 km away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Crown House

Address: Newmarket Road, Great Chesterford, Saffron Walden CB10 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden > Great Chesterford
Price Range: RM458 - RM556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Crown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown House Hotel Great Chesterford
The Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel Great Chesterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Crown House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See website for four poster beds etc in the main house. Alternatively standard rooms are available in the stable block. Pet friendly.”
jacquic859, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“I'm guessing the stables annex opposite may have been a bit more modern than rooms in the main hotel, and are quieter.”
AdamD186, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My nephew and his new wife spent the night in the Bridal Suite, which they were very happy with and well catered for”
181hazelb, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“quieter rooms are at the rear as the hotel is on the road but it isn't a busy one.”
250krisv, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask Tina for advice and she will guide you”
DC1958, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$103* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$103
Booking.comUS$107
Orbitz.comUS$103
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates