We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Wirral
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

I only booked the Crown House Hotel because the hotels that I normally stay at were fully booked. Described as a 'restaurant with rooms' it is delightful. The location is lovely, especially in the sunshine. The room was clean and very comfortable. The biggest disappointment for me was that I had arranged to meet work colleagues in another restaurant for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edna_M0de
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really value guest reviews, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Crown House Hotel. We offer a varied evening menu and we would be happy for you to dine with us the next time that you stay.

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Went for Sunday lunch for the second year running and not a lot has changed, really clean old world hotel clean and really friendly staff. Menu has not changed a lot, Sunday lunch was average, lots of cauliflower cheese but had to ask for more veg, roast potatoes where not brilliant. Desserts varied in sizes the ice cream sundae, crumble...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trevor e
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your Sunday lunch at The Crown House Hotel. Firstly I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for your disappointing experience. It is important to be clear ,for obvious health and hygiene reasons , what the guidelines are re jewellery and nail varnish in the kitchen. It is more important however that these...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2015

it is like a favorite jumper - a bit aged but warm and welcoming. the place is delightful, the bed was the best I ever had in an hotel. the staff is friendly, helpful and welcoming. the guests living room is a wonderful place for drinks with friends or just to read a book. The garden is perfect for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarineGa
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your stay with us was so comfortable. The garden is in full bloom at the the moment, and is very beautiful.

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We had the Crown room with a four poster bed and giant bath. It was amazing.The hotel has plenty of character and charm. We didn't eat at the hotel and they didn't make us feel pressured to. I would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophie7737
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We appreciate all feedback from our guests, and were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Crown Room. We are very excited ,as The Crown Room is our next renovation project. We are keeping the bath, you will be pleased to hear.

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We have visited The Crown House on a number of occasions as it is an ideal venue for family get togethers being within easy reach of M11 and other routes for travellers. The friendly team here are always welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We had my fathers wake here and everything was dealt with very sensitively, food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Artyfartygal
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Crown House Hotel. We do try very hard to make any family occasion as stress free as possible for you. We feel privileged that you choose The Crown House to hold your family gatherings. Tina is very dedicated to our guests, trying to make the day, be it a wedding or a wake,...

Beaminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015

I stopped here for a coffee, wanting somewhere quiet and comfortable after a tiring morning. It was perfect. I had a very comfy leather sofa to sit on and the room had a fire burning in the grate. I asked about lunch and was told that they weren't serving lunch that day, but they could do me a sandwich. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise H
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Crown House Hotel. We are happy to hear that we were able to offer you a peaceful and civilised space to enjoy your coffee and sandwich. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Came here when i was driving through with the Mrs. Lovely place with a unique atmosphere. Food was served fast and tasted great. Staff were very friendly and would definitely go back. I had the rib-eye steak which was perfectly cooked and I had to fight for the garlic prawns we 'shared' as a starter.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neil L
twicksy, Public Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown House Hotel, we appreciate feedback as it highlights issues for us to rectify ,if possible. We were not aware of noise issues with room 10, we are looking into getting a soundproof fire door. We have also noted your comments re privacy. We are truly sorry that your stay with...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed in room 10, which is a good size with a generous bathroom. The bathroom could do with some updating, but the shower was good an powerful and there was plenty of hot water. The room has a large window which overlooks the courtyard, and buildings opposite. I felt very exposed as there were no nets/blinds so we closed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 520Nita
twicksy, Public Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown House Hotel, we appreciate feedback as it highlights issues for us to rectify ,if possible. We were not aware of noise issues with room 10, we are looking into getting a soundproof fire door. We have also noted your comments re privacy. We are truly sorry that your stay with...

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Mothering Sunday lunch. We were given a warm welcome and enjoyed pre lunch drinks. Shown to our table in a conservatory, that looked like it was about to be taken over by a giant triffid. Starters arrived, a dull looking soup (no croutons), an uninspiring prawn and crayfish cocktail, a chicken liver pate, which looked and tasted good and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGuy63
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Crown House Hotel. We welcome customer feedback as, when it highlights issues, it gives us the opportunity to redress them. You capture the ethos of The Crown House in your opening statement; we are an independent hotel, which prides itself on treating our guest the way we would wish to be...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We have just returned from a short break in the Crown House Hotel, we had a lovely four poster bedroom, the food was excellent but don't expect to eat an evening meal after the afternoon cream tea, there just won't be room. The evening dinner the next day was excellent. Above all the whole atmosphere was really relaxing and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John H
twicksy, Public Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you later this year. Thank you for reviewing The Crown House. The garden is now in full blossom, the roses are blooming.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Chesterford
12.8 km away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
241 reviews
5.3 km away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
178 reviews
3.9 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
12.7 km away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
242 reviews
4.2 km away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Crown House

Address: Newmarket Road, Great Chesterford, Saffron Walden CB10 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden > Great Chesterford
Price Range: RM452 - RM549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Crown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown House Hotel Great Chesterford
The Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel Great Chesterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Crown House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quieter rooms are at the rear as the hotel is on the road but it isn't a busy one.”
 of 5 bubbles 250krisv, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask Tina for advice and she will guide you”
 of 5 bubbles DC1958, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“feel pampered in the bridal suite”
 of 5 bubbles 444traceyl, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check if there is a function on in order to avoid noise!”
 of 5 bubbles jonhF2395QR, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Apparently, the good spirit stays in room 15”
 of 5 bubbles jamesfalkener, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5