We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 390: English reviews
Northwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have visited this hotel before and was very happy with it. This time was a special occasion as it was my 60th and we were upgraded to the Castle Suit. Room was great, huge, warm and well furnished. Usual iffy bed but that could just be me being picky. Food wasn't quite the standard as before, water was warm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel from 4th to 7th November on a National Holiday weekend break. We found the hotel one of the better Sheering Hotels we have stayed in. The hotel public areas were clean and well furnished. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The room we were allocated was on the ground floor (as we had requested) and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kathmc
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

found the prince of wales staff very friendly,smartly dressed ,the receptionist treated us like friends,the rooms were spacious and well decorated,no outside noise windows were double glazed.the bar and restraunt were well stocked and well layed out.

Helpful?
1 Thank skittler2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Hotel is on the main A38 Road Nr. Berkeley, Gloucester,. which is very busy. Arrived Monday 31st November for 4 Day break with relatives. Reception nicely decorated with comfortable seating all around. The Bar in next room also had plenty of seating.. Dining room looked as if it had been newly decorated. Our room was at the back which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kenandchris2016
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will look into your comments regarding maintenance issues in the bathroom. It is a pity you did not discuss your complaint regarding the veg portions with the restaurant supervisor or myself whilst you were here so that we could look into it as there is usually plenty and it is certainly not an issue... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First of all can i just say that a previous bad review that says the hotel is suitable for coach holidays baffles me. We pay good money for coach holidays and expect a good standard of accomodation just like everyone else. This hotel is great, the staff make you feel very welcome and go out of their way to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review, with reference to a previous review I am afraid no matter how hard we try we can never please everyone but we certainly do try. I will pass on your praise and thanks to all of the staff and we look forward to seeing you again. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Linkinhorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We came to the Prince of Wales for a wedding reception so can't comment on the bedrooms. Reception is elegant and the welcome was warm (particularly from Toby the Black Labrador). Reception room was well presented. Service was great. Food was lovely. Exploring downstairs continued the elegant theme. Would go back and try a stay

Helpful?
Thank asant2
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, it is always good to receive feedback from function business along with reviews from guests that stay here. We were so pleased you enjoyed the wedding reception and we look forward to seeing you again. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

On arrival reception staff very welcoming and helpful which was the beginning of a very relaxing and happy break. ALL staff were helpful, happy and obliging. Room clean, well decorated and comfortable and bathroom spotless. Food was very good, waiting staff polite, smiling happy to oblige any request. All staff, from maintenance to manager carried out their duties above and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review, I will pass on your praise to all of the team and look forward to seeing you again soon. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
181 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

How anyone can diminish this hotel is beyond me. We have just arrived home tonight from a great stay. We went with quite a large group of friends on a Shearings Holiday and it was the first time that any of us had been to this hotel. From the moment that we arrived to leaving we had first class service.... More 

Helpful?
Thank goldenoldie79
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, I will share them with the staff, entertainers and of course Alan our coach driver. I hope your husband is fully recovered now and look forward to your return. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Great short break family & friends food brilliant room spotless. entertainment FAB STAFF HELPFUL .MUST GIVE A MENTION. TO JOSH. AND MUM & daughter in the bar very pleasant thanks again ps. Give it a try you will not be disappointed VFM 👌

Helpful?
1 Thank davesan2013
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I will pass on your special thanks to my lovely team. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Possibly reasonable value for coach inclusive stay but poor value if travel is not inclusive. On arrival coach passengers would not notice a considerable amount of litter at rear of car park which although deposited by irresponsible visitors should still be routinely cleared by ground staff who also fail to maintain lovely gardens at rear spoilt by abandoned broken wooden... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CJD1147
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay here, as I've said in other responses however hard we try we cannot please everyone. After reading your review and comments on our customer survey site you did not appear to be happy with anything so I am very surprised none of the staff at the hotel were able to remember... More 

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
6.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
8.0 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
9.5 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
367 reviews
34.5 km away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
12.7 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Price Range: RM168 - RM505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Prince of Wales Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Prince of Wales Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 18 or castle suite.”
 of 5 bubbles sharoncD8729YZ, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are quite,and the shower is large.”
 of 5 bubbles skittler2014, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are best as the front is on a very busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles kenandchris2016, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Talk directly with Hotel reception if you have specific needs”
 of 5 bubbles michaelpK182PW, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lifts ask for ground floor before you travel”
 of 5 bubbles davesan2013, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay