We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 390: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2015

the hotel was well situated for visiting friends in Tewkesbury and stroud,and we visited Berkley castle where we were taken around the castle by a very informative guide who made the tour very interesting, if you check with the staff at the entrance they will advise when a guide is available,our hotel was excellent the food was very good and... More 

Helpful?
Thank rbevr
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had a great weekend for your wifes birthday treat and got to visit the castle during your stay here, I always reccomend joining the tour as you get so much more interesting information than when you walk around on your own. We look forward to seeing you again on your next... More 

Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We have just spent a very relaxing week-end at the Prince of Wales. Very homely and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and cheerful. Even though the hotel is on a main road it did not cause any problems. Ian Lockier the musician on Saturday evening was superb.

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise J
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and will pass on your comments to all the staff including Ian one of our many talented entertainers. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We have stayed at the Prince of Wales for New Year for the past 4 years and it is great. Decided to book for bank holiday weekend - 22nd to 25th May and we were not disappointed. Although it was very different from New Year, the service was just as fantastic, the staff (all the same from our last visit)... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, its been great over the years to build up such lovely relationships with our regular guests and always a pleasure to welcome you back, barely a week goes by now where we don't have returning guests which is absolutely wonderful. It seems strange with the lovely summer sunshine outside to be talking about New... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2015

We had a 3 night break at this hotel.The reception was friendly & efficient.We had arrived early but our 2 rooms were ready.The rooms were spacious & clean with tea & coffee making facilities.The breakfasts & dinners were well presented with ample choices The waiter was brilliant & remembered all of our choices on all occasions.The meals were not big... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank johnje2014
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, so pleased you found time to visit Berkeley castle, such a fantastic piece of history and right on our doorstep! Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2015

we have just returned from a very pleasant stay at this hotel,we were on a shearings coach holiday 5 day break,our room was large and airy and very clean and comfortable,the food was very good with plenty of choice served hot and speedily by our waiter bogdan.the entertainment was excellent although the girl on the second night made us feel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bassyLeeds
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Shearings five day break. We started our break in Essex then to the interchange. And started our short journey to Berkeley in the Cotswolds . We arrived at the prince of wales bay hotel after a lovely drive we arrived at 1500 hours we had a lovely welcome from Louise the head receptionist. We were given our room 31first floor... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank fluffyessex1
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a glowing review, its lovely to see some of the staff getting a personal mention even though as you say they all work so well as a team. I passed on you message to Alan which gave him a chuckle!! Melanie Mann General Manager More 

peterborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Just on way home from a Shearings holiday to Prince of Wales. What a great hotel the rooms, food ,entertainment and staff were all excellent. Our waiter Bogden was such a professional young man and all the staff we encountered were great. We were in the rear of the hotel in room 20 and it was very bright and also... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank countya
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Love the title of your review - thank you for your comments, I will pass them on to all the staff Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Arrived back recently from a 5 day Shearings coach break. Our coach driver Alan was excellent and so knowledgeable of the area. On arrival at the Prince of Wales Hotel check in was good and we were allocated a room on the 2nd floor which had been newly refurbished with a lovely scenic view to the back of the hotel.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank janus274
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I will pass your praise on to all concerned, you made reference to slow service in the restaurant at breakfast but I must point out it is impossible to serve everyone immediately if guests choose to come into the restaurant all at the same time, we currently serve breakfast between 8 & 9.30 am and... More 

Sherborne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2015

The welcome was wonderful as usual. Room always very clean and comfortable. Food excellent value for money. Entertainment also very good, especially Ian Lockyer who is exceptional. We have stayed numerous times and will continue to do so for many more years. We just love this hotel and cannot even find a small criticism.

Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia H
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out to post a review, as always it was lovely to see you both, I think you are fast becoming part of our little Prince of Wales family. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Hi, Spent a week in this hotel as part of the Shearing's Coach Tour. Isolated location but as we were part of a coach tour and out everyday this was fine. Very pleasant hotel with a lovely bedroom that had been recently refurbished. Very clean,plenty of hot water ,tea/coffee facilities etc. Unfortunately toast cold every single morning with out fail... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Betsie2015
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I find it quite unusual to hear comments that we are not friendly or welcoming at the hotel as the feed back we receive is usually very positive. With regards to the tipping procedure, the staff never expect gratuities but are always very appreciative if they receive any, if we don't leave a basket out... More 

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
6.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
8.0 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
9.5 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
367 reviews
34.5 km away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
12.7 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Price Range: RM167 - RM502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Prince of Wales Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Prince of Wales Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 18 or castle suite.”
 of 5 bubbles sharoncD8729YZ, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are quite,and the shower is large.”
 of 5 bubbles skittler2014, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are best as the front is on a very busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles kenandchris2016, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Talk directly with Hotel reception if you have specific needs”
 of 5 bubbles michaelpK182PW, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lifts ask for ground floor before you travel”
 of 5 bubbles davesan2013, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay