We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Beales Hatfield Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beales Hatfield Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

619 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beales Hatfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 611: English reviews
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here last night and were really impressed with the quality of the food in the restaurant. We both had the special for our main which was sea bass, and absolutely delicious, please pass our compliments to the chef! The waiting staff were also very attentive, and the speed of service was great as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lauren2607
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that in particular that the food exceeded your expectations. The trouser press/ironing board lives in the wardrobe and had unfortunately just been removed for repair and we hadn't yet refixed it inside its dedicated space behind wardrobe doors. This is being...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Thank you for a fantastic weekend. Excellent food and beds to die for. We booked this hotel as a base for walking/cycling having seen a deal on Secret Escapes. I was a little concerned that it would be noisy as it was right on a busy road, but it was soundproof. The staff are all very friendly and attentive. Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catherinehA6306FS
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel following your stay on a Secret Escapes deal. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that in particular you found the hotel to be so quiet. I have never been disturbed by traffic or any other noise when staying here, and even in midsummer with the windows open, there...

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

The rooms are clean and well equipped with everything you need. We stayed with a party of 10 people and had a table booked with an extra guest that joined us for an evening meal. Prior to the time slot we were told to order before 7.30pm as there were a party of approx 50 people in another restaurant otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sparky775
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel, I am glad you thought the rooms were clean and well equipped and that you thought we are a nice hotel. While I am sorry about some aspects of the dinner and breakfast I think it is a most unfair review. It is perfectly reasonable of us to request that a party...

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

My Fiance and I decided to return to Beales hotel and visit the restaurant for a Valentines day meal. The OutsideIn restaurant is exquisite, it is perfect for a romantic evening together as the lighting is soft, the chairs are comfortable and the food is beautiful. I ordered the white onion soup to start and the flavour was spectacular, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whygraine
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of Valentines Dinner at Beales Hotel. I am very aware that the review below yours paints a very different picture of the same evening, and although I am able to say that we will do better next year, their review did seem very harsh. Therefore I am delighted to read that you had a...

hatfield
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Having visited Beales a few times for their excellent new years eve celebrations, we decided to give their valentines dinner a try. What a disappointment the restaurant had no decoration, the tables did not even have tablecloths there was nothing to indicate a valentines event at all. We were given half a glass of something sparkling on arrival and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tim w
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Valentines Evening at Beales Hotel. You have already been in correspondence with our General Manager Chris Hall who has rightly stated that it is a difficult balancing act to achieve between guests dining as part of Valentines evening, and those simply dining in the hotel restaurant during their weekend stay. He has...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

Hotel it self is modern. Good facilities. Warm bathroom floor is very comfortable duting the winter. Bath rooms are well equipped. Quality bath products. Good coffee and tea making arrangements. Comfortable bed. Doing good cleaning job. On negative side find the staff members less friendly and not pleasant. No greetings or smile. Experence no signal issue with most tv channels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MalakaSilva
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel. I am glad you found so many aspects of the hotel to your liking, including the heated bathroom floors, the housekeeping standards, the tea and coffee making facilities etc. If you have a problem with the TV signal, please just inform our reception who will arrange for a re-tuning or a room...

bristol
Reviewed 10 February 2015

This place does conflict me. It is probably the best hotel in Hatfield. Modern, clean, reasonably priced, and a bit individual, being decorated with original art. But it is let down by its restaurant. The food is good enough, but the service is slow slow slow. I'm conscious any place can have an off night due to staff being sick...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mordak
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel. I am glad you think it is the best hotel in Hatfield, our hundreds of Tripadvisor reviewers certainly think it is too. I am genuinely mystified by your comments about the speed of service, I have reviewed the most recent hundred or so comments by our guests and have not found one...

Wigan
Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

This is the 2nd time ive now stayed at this hotel and both times the room smelled last time it smelled of fish this time stale smoke. The beds move at the slightest touch so be very careful not to rest against it and fall or run over someones toe so on. Decided to eat at the restaurant in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl-Leanne84
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

I have reviewed this case in great depth with our team. All who were on duty and were looking after your party of six in the restaurant have commented on your rudeness and boorish behaviour in front of other guests. What you have failed to mention in your review is the fact that the two dishes that you sent back...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2015

My wife and I stayed at this hotel the past weekend, on The Saturday night. As we expected, early in the year and most likely a business hotel during the week, the hotel was very quiet. We had a drink in the bar, and dined in the Outsidein restaurant. Our meal was a delight. Each course was just the right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave M
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park, I am glad we looked after you so well, and that the staff were a credit to the hotel. Your maintenance points are noted, and we are investing in new beds, new restaurant furniture, and new bar furniture, a total bill of about £22'000 just in the next month or...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Stayed here for the night on Christmas day, Location was perfect and walking distance from family. Modern hotel and I thought the hotel room was fabulous and great value, All very new, the artwork throughout property is inventive and interesting. One slight issue, the bedroom felt brand new, but if you flush the toilet with a little force the water...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Malcolm C
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel. I am glad you liked the room and the artwork throughout the hotel which comes from the students and staff of the Fine Art department at the University of Hertfordshire, just behind the hotel. I am sorry you were disturbed by an alarm in the middle of the night, this was indeed...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
4:36
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
11.8 km away
West Lodge Park Hotel
1.9 km away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
0.3 km away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
6.7 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
1,973 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Cuisines: International, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Price Range: RM388 - RM700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel UK - Hertfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
London, England, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Inverness, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive rooms are very well equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles leejont, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight on this occasion”
 of 5 bubbles 839alans, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the first floor are best and towards back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 704karenm704, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check the Beales website for photos of ALL rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles chris0241, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor room was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles garyking56, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5