We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
See the most recent reviews
Showing 548: English reviews
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Last stayed here over 5 years ago and the decor appears not to have been changed from it's staid image back in 2010. Quiet room and good sleep but the promised complementary morning newspapers on both mornings never materialised despite assurances from reception staff after the first missing paper. One bath towel on the 2nd night was mouldy, atrocious! Reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard0837
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear richard0837, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I sincerely apologize if there were any shortfalls, particularly with our housekeeping service, that may have caused you inconvenience. Please be assured that your comments are duly noted as we do strive to continuously improve in everything that we do for our valued guests....

Reviewed 13 September 2015

Location is in middle of no way but since I'm with the national holidays tour to Harry Potter then no complains at all. The food can be improve. Breakfast was not too bad. The room was comfortable and clean. What surprise me is the hotel serve Starbucks coffee which is so convenient. The downside is the internet usage, it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jin yee T
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found the teams very welcoming. Please be aware that Internet is free to all IHG Rewards members so worth joining on you next visit. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Steven C General...

Watford, UK
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a weekend as a treat for my parents' 40th anniversary. Having previously had a pretty good experience with Holiday Inn, I had reasonable expectations for a relaxing and comfortable stay. I contacted the hotel prior to their arrival to inform them that my parents were visiting for a special occasion (40th anniversary). No one bothered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suhail
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Suhail, Thank you for posting a candid feedback for our hotel. We regret to see your disappointment with the overall condition of the room, bathroom, WiFi, and our staff during your parents' 40th anniversary. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience these issues has caused them. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team to...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Hi The stay here has been awesome the reason I say this I am writing while I am in the hotel. Location - Superb location very near to the M1. Cabs easily available. Bus stop for London travel right opposite to the hotel. There is also a M&S right next to the hotel, it is open 24*7 Food- The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACSquare
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found the teams very welcoming. Please be aware that Internet is free to all IHG Rewards members so worth joining on you next visit. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Steven C General...

Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor and weren't disappointed. It is near to Harry Potter studio which was the reason for our stay. The staff on reception were polite and efficient, the swimming pool is very clean and tidy. The only let down was that the pancake machine wasn't working at breakfast much to the disappointment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevin j
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Kevin J, thank you for your recent feedback after a stay with us. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and trust you enjoyed your visit to Harry Potter. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon so that you can test out the pancake machine which unfortunately was not available at the time of...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2015

This was one of the better options in Hemel. The rooms were decent with all the typical amenities. What really made it for me though was the breakfast. Being used to the American continental breakfast, the English breakfast was amazing with more choices than I'm accustomed to. I would definitely stay here again for business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yan L
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Yan L, thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found everything to your satisfaction and especially enjoyed our English breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Steven C General Manager

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed while visiting family and friends. The hotel is clean and well maintained, the staff are welcoming and polite. We were greeted on arrival by a smiley receptionist who was very informative about the hotel facilities. On the way to our room we were greeted by a couple of housekeepers which made us feel valued and welcomed. The same...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lazarus C
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Lazarus C, thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. It is nice to see you back again at our hotel and pleased to read that everything met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Steven C General Manager

Plano, Texas
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Holiday Inn is not a brand I am accustomed to staying at during my business travel back in the states, but here it has a different reputation. The Holiday Inn in Hemel Hempstead is a nice place. It is clean. They have a nice restaurant which on my rate included a very full selection for breakfast each morning. The availability...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HisRoyalDoogness
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Thank you for your review after a recent stay with us. I am pleased that we met your expectations and that it was convenient for your needs. I apologise that the internet was not up to standard, this is something we are addressing to ensure guests are not disappointed. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 27 August 2015

For where it is and the nature of the residents, it is, as titled perfectly adequate. Rooms are basic comfortable, not much noise, breakfast is decent and the staff are friendly and accommodating. Better toiletries and laundry bag would improve it. The empty mini bar that doesn't cool anything is also quite strange, but all in all, does the job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Thank you for your review after a recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found everything satisfactory and that all the teams were friendly and accommodating to your needs. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Steven C General Manager

Leyland, Lancashire
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel at 7.30pm after our trip to Harry Potter studios and we had a meal waiting for us. The rooms were very spacious and comfy, with tea/coffee facilities, lovely bathroom and my child had the sofa bed. We all slept very well. The breakfast the next morning was great with so much choice. If we were down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Seli-83
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review after a recent stay with us. I am pleased that we met your expectations and trust you enjoyed your trip to Harry Potter. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. kind regards Steven C General Manager

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
664 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
686 reviews
7.5 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
522 reviews
4.1 km away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
749 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: RM367 - RM707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A back room as it is on a busy dual carriageway”
 of 5 bubbles amandahT3015UG, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ALWAYS CHECK YOUR BILL and avoid any room on the lower ground floor - especially room 28”
 of 5 bubbles mmccnn, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All good standard”
 of 5 bubbles FrankieDP, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Speak with susie!!”
 of 5 bubbles M8766AVtony, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Above reception”
 of 5 bubbles dannydanchev1, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay