We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

281 reviews
Save
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (5)
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“oysters”(15 reviews)
“dover sole”(12 reviews)
“sea view”(24 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (281)Write a Review
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
136
80
39
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
136
80
39
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoystersdover solesea viewan amuse bouchepigeon breastserved on hot platessorbetsea frontblack puddingsuperb foodweekend staybar menufull englishhaddockpleasant stayate hereseafront hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I’m visiting a dear friend and wanted to see what Dunkerley’s had to offer as he is here every Monday as part of the Rotary Club. Well, it was definitely good! For starters, they serve my favourite Gin - Rhubarb & Ginger. We were going...More

Thank Shama J
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great bar, great food and great staff! Room was not overlarge but was comfortable. The food is the thing though, very well presented in a formal setting witho and pomposity and utterly delicious. The folk beside us wanted something "off menu", which seemed to be...More

Thank Alanilford
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A fantastic little restaurant. This pub/restaurant is fantastically positioned on the deal sea front with a beautiful window view. The food was very traditional british food. I was greeted with by a very friendly bar man who showed me and my cohorts through to a...More

Thank Ben B
Reviewed 14 January 2018

The staff were fabulous, the service wonderful, the food in their old fashioned but really comfortable dining room was superb, their chef was clearly very experienced and paid attention to detail Mr Dunkerley and his team of brilliantly trained staff made our stay really great....More

1  Thank CORDELIA P
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at Dunkerleys. A good quality, clean, friendly and very good value hotel set on the seafront. Our room was large enough and was warm and very clean. We received warm and friendly service from all the staff, housekeeping,...More

Thank CJL49
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345656
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Beachfront
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
J M
Good morning Dunkerley's My wife and I stayed with you on Saturday June 24th, this was in celebration of our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We have stayed with you on 3 / 4 other occasions and always had a good experience. Sad to say this time was a huge disappointment for us both. From ordering our starters and main the wait seemed to last forever, in fact it was 2 hours, yes 2 hours from ordering until our mains were delivered to our table. My wife had ordered the Asparagus with the poached egg and Hollandaise. My wife asked if she could forgo the poached egg, when it arrived at the table it consisted of 3 tiny sprigs of Asparagus and a splattering of Hollandaise at nearly £8:00 was this value for money " I think not " a couple of extra sprigs of Asparagus in place of the poached egg might have helped or even some Parmesan shavings just to make it look like there was more on the plate. We were offered no bread, our wine order and drinks to forever to come......not good. In fact the table next to us came in after us and got served before us including their starters and mains, again not good. The next morning at breakfast things hadn't improved, again service was poor and very slow, so much so a couple waiting for their breakfast got up from their table and went next door to the Cafe. When booking out I mentioned the above to the lady on reception and she duly made a note of our concerns and said she would have it dealt with. When booking in my details were taken including phone number and email address. I was expecting a response from Dunkerleys but it fairly obvious this isn't going to happen, which probably tells me something about your customer service. Would I say I had value for my £200 + one night stay...... probably not. Hopefully you'll take note of my comments and take steps to insure they are not repeated. Regards.
3 July 2017|
Answer
Response from IndianaMimiTravels | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience! That is no fun at all. We stopped in for a late lunch (did not spend the night as we were staying in Dover). It was very slow customer-wise and we received our wine and lunch in a... More
0
Votes
Michael G
17 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ian D | Property representative |
Hi Michael Still going strong Dunkerleys is 30 years old thursday 22nd june good to hear your kind words hope lifes good for you Regards Ian
0
Votes
john z m
7 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Bob K | Reviewed this property |
There's a parking lot close to the hotel (on the map) the 'circle' behind the library. Paid parking until the evening and starting again rather early. There's another (between Union and Duke Street) a little further away... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Stunning views over the English Channel."
Read review
"Front rooms overlooking the English Channel & Deal beach & pier are the best"
Read review
"Sea view rooms available. Top floor is a bit of a climb, especially with luggage, but staff will take your..."
Read review
"Ask for the double room on the corner, great views of the pier and sea!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing