We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Red Lion

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Red Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of The Red Lion
 Click to rate
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on the eve of my daughters wedding. The staff were really friendly, we were there on a Thursday -steak night and it was very busy - food was very good. Rooms were comfortable, one of the best nights sleep in a hotel room. Would recommend staying and eating there

Thank macca1710
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came in on Sunday for their roasts which was very nice! And good price too. Staff were lovely and welcoming. We had a young lady serve us who was amazing with us, although it was quite busy she made sure we were okay throughout our meal and was very helpful. Would recommend to a friend!:) lovely place.

1Thank freeman1968
Berlare, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an excelent nights stay end of february..arrived around midday from Belgium and diddnt expect to check in ,just wanted to leave car in carpark,but after talking with lady on reception it was no problem our room was ready..Room large and comfortable,nice fresh towels and comfortable bed..Was a bit worried room would be noisey from traffic as we was on...

Thank mrbusy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night en route to France . 10 mins drive to Eurotunnel terminal. Large room with adequate shower room , comfortable clean bed and towels. Lovely cooked breakfast and friendly staff. On the downside was the thin walls , could hear next door snoring and the smallest T.V. ever. Still good value though.

1Thank bn26
Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the RL this evening. We had suet pudding with mash and vegetables. The meal was very good value, very tasty, quality ingredients and served piping hot. The staff there are also amazing and extremely friendly. Good beer served at good prices. Will definitely be visiting again. Which is good for us as it's very close to where we live.

1Thank RichnLee
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Only stayed one night, we were greeted instantly on arrival and shown to our room by a very helpful gentleman. Room was good, spotlessly clean, good bed, plenty of room and tea and coffee making equipment. Bathroom was fine. Had breakfast in the morning which was really good, again fantastic staff. There is free car parking attached to the hotel.

1Thank holidaytime
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Stayed for a couple of nights after Christmas. Staff very friendly, food very good and reasonably priced. Room was very comfortable, warm and spacious. However, as other reviews have stated the tv is rather small, wi if is a bit hit and miss and there was no hairdryer ( I'll remember to pack one next time ). Rooms would also...

1Thank 145dee
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Went with a group of friends, the food was well cooked and good amount as well. Some people only wanted a light bite like jacket potatoes, but unfortunately they don't do meals like that. Clean and friendly place.

1Thank lynjoKent
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed on Boxing Day, greeted by one of the owners (very friendly and couldn't have done more to please), drinks reasonably priced and breakfast in the morning was really lovely (home cooked and good quality). The only downside was the size of the TV which I understand is one of the things to be improved when all the room are...

1Thank christinekay564
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

visited this pub on a few occasions always found the staff polite helpful and really nice ,out for lunch on 22/12/16 and the starter really nice the special of pan fried pork chop very difficult to chew was supposed to come with green beans and saute potatoes we got peas and soggy new potatoes we ordered a bottle of Rioja...

3Thank Row M
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to The Red Lion, Sorry to hear that you were not happy with your lunch on the 22nd, I was not made aware that you had not enjoyed your meal. If i had i would have resolved this for you.My aim is to make sure all of our...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (26)
Room/Suite (6)
Dining (5)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
1.2 km away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
1,661 reviews
0.7 km away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hythe
594 reviews
2.2 km away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
892 reviews
5.5 km away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
189 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are proud to announce the recent management change. Situated in the beautiful town of Hythe, the Red Lion is a perfectly situated for all types of visitors. Close to the beach and only 30 minutes away from Canterbury. Close to Dover, why not spend a few nights before traveling to Europe. Whether its for one night, a short break or a longer holiday you can be assured of a comfortable relaxing stay with us. Each room features individual decor, en suite facilities, TV, WiFi and tea & coffee making facilities. We offer some deliciously tempting menus from lunches to evening meals and some fantastic mid-week meal promotions. Our Sunday lunches are very popular and we would recommend pre-booking your table to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Red Lion Square, Hythe CT21 5AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Price Range: RM346 - RM379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Hythe
Hythe Red Lion
Red Lion Hythe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a King size bed's really comfy.”
 of 5 bubbles 145dee, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were good as we had 8 of them...it is on a main road but did not bother any of us”
 of 5 bubbles 0pamelaa, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay, we only ate lunch time”
 of 5 bubbles 270sueg, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room at the rear, we had a little road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Weekendartisan, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“only used the pub restaurant not the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles thechelskiranger, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5