We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Red Lion

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Red Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 145: English reviews
Cheshire
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Stayed here overnight on a trip to France through the tunnel. Location is very convenient - about 20 minutes from the Tunnel. The Red Lion is a traditional Pub/Hotel. Rooms are basic, but nicely laid out and clean. (Refurb just being completed). The Pub has also just been refitted, in a stripped back style, which was well done. The Beer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pedroboats
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I'm really happy you had a Good Stay, hope you had a good trip to France best Wishes Paul The Red Lion

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

In town on a railway trip with a group of friends and found this place via TripAdvisor app whilst randomly looking for a lunch venue. Stunning food, great quality,... plentiful portions, all hot and fresh... service was excellent and the desserts are to die for.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex B
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I'm really happy you Enjoyed your Meal and we hope to see you again soon best Wishes Paul The Red Lion

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Rooms were clean and nicely decorated with everything we needed....the staff were very friendly and helpful....the food and service was quick and tasty...a great place to stay especially for the venue as its only a few minutes down the road...we had a large group and they accommodated us very well...would 100% stay again and would recommend...10/10

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pamela A
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I'm really happy you Enjoyed your stay and the Wedding went well best Wishes Paul The Red Lion

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed here for a Wedding nearby and the hotel was easy to find, with a car park at the back. The lounge and bar area looked great, it looked like they had recently been done up and they have done a great job with it. The hotel part is looking old and dated, however hopefully this is due to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beccaboo81
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Red Lion, As new owners we value feedback, We took over the Red Lion in Mid August and you are correct we have started the renovating the pub through out. We are currently working our way up to the rooms and plan to start these early...

Dover, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Went with a colleague after work one evening. Good friendly service, great menu choice, tasty food, good portion size, fair price. Has parking. Its clean. It was comfortable with a welcoming atmosphere. I recommend is pub for food. Cant comment on hotel/rooms as didnt stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelk C
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you, for your Review and look forward to seeing you again Regards The Red Lion

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This place is excellent value for money. The room, a kingsize at the back, was large, clean and had a really comfy bed. The shower was good. Breakfast was basic (a couple of cereals, choices of fruit juice, toast, standard full English) but tasty and well cooked. Staff were pleasant, friendly and efficient. All that said, there were some niggles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobNW
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your reviewing your stay at the Red Lion, I am Glad you enjoyed your stay. we took over in mid August and we are currently renovating the Pub and are working our way up to the rooms and plan to start these in early in the new year. i would like to thank you again for your...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

This was the first time we had visited the Red Lion in Hythe to eat. We went on a Saturday evening, booking beforehand. The new owners are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The menu was varied and the food very good. The restaurant and bar area are nice and clean and warm. We all thought it would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traceywFrance
Red L, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank You For reviewing your evening at The Red Lion, I am Glad you enjoyed your Dinner and we look forward to seeing you again best wishes Paul

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent food. Reasonable priced. Wednesday lunch time waitress done an excellent job, was on her own, running restaurant & bar. She was calm efficent & explained menu & waiting times. We could see as did other customers that there was no other staff she could call on. Nobody appeared to be unattended to without knowing why. Those at bar were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diamond7777
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your visit, We are really happy to here you enjoyed your meal. looking forward to seeing you again, best wishes Paul.

Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We turned up here looking to give this place a go for their Sunday lunch. A family of four and service was good. Four Roast dinners supplied and most of it was nicely cooked. Portion size needs adjusting - 3 new potato sized roasties probably not really enough. 1 bowl of veg between 4.....Two slices of pork..... again not really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dan100012015
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank-you for your comments I apologise for your dissatisfaction you had during your recent visit to us . Our Sunday lunches are always very popular and booking is always essential to avoid disappointment ,however on this occasion it seems we did not deliver to our otherwise high standards. I have raised your comments with our chef who is saddened you...

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Room ok shower did not work properly. Room very hot Windows did not open or close properly which was very worrying to be honest fortunate for us everything was OK. Every time we book va booking.com we get very poor rooms. No idea why but this does seem the case. Would not recommend or stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your reviewing your stay at the Red Lion, We took over in mid August and we are currently renovating the Pub and are working our way up to the rooms and plan to start these in early in the new year. I would like to thank you again for your feedback as it is something we value....

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
1.2 km away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
1,647 reviews
0.7 km away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hythe
588 reviews
2.2 km away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
872 reviews
5.5 km away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
178 reviews
0.2 km away
Malt Lodge
Malt Lodge
#7 of 10 in Hythe
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are proud to announce the recent management change. Situated in the beautiful town of Hythe, the Red Lion is a perfectly situated for all types of visitors. Close to the beach and only 30 minutes away from Canterbury. Close to Dover, why not spend a few nights before traveling to Europe. Whether its for one night, a short break or a longer holiday you can be assured of a comfortable relaxing stay with us. Each room features individual decor, en suite facilities, TV, WiFi and tea & coffee making facilities. We offer some deliciously tempting menus from lunches to evening meals and some fantastic mid-week meal promotions. Our Sunday lunches are very popular and we would recommend pre-booking your table to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Red Lion Square, Hythe CT21 5AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Price Range: RM350 - RM389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Hythe
Hythe Red Lion
Red Lion Hythe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a King size bed's really comfy.”
 of 5 bubbles 145dee, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were good as we had 8 of them...it is on a main road but did not bother any of us”
 of 5 bubbles 0pamelaa, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay, we only ate lunch time”
 of 5 bubbles 270sueg, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room at the rear, we had a little road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Weekendartisan, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“only used the pub restaurant not the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles thechelskiranger, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5