We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sherwood Hotel

Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Hotel is a Bed and Breakfast situated along the seafront in Cliftonville, Margate. We offer 7 comfortable bedrooms, some offer a fantastic sea view and some with interconnecting rooms for afamily or group of friends. All rooms has its own toilet and shower, towels , toiletries, TV , hair dryer, Tea/Coffee making facilities and FREE WIFI . We offer a of Full English Breakfast and unlimited coffee, tea, toast and cereals . We are closely located to Margate Main Sands, Winter Gardens, Margate Theatre Royal, Genting Casino, Dreamland and restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
90Good for walkers
Grade: 90 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
17Attractionswithin 0.5 km
96Reviews
44Photos
6Q+A
23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 30
  • 10
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I wanted to sleep wth the curtains open to see the sea view. The bright green floodlights played on the front of the hotel all night, so the curtains stayed closed. The view in daylight is of a car park and a derelict crazy god course. The location is walkable from the station
Read more
Response from Ali S, Owner at Sherwood Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, We are sad to hear that your stay is not great. I am sorry about the green floodlights , but this should come off between 1-2 in the morning, We will have to check the timer that has been set . It is very seldom that I have guests that is not happy with this , on the other hand they appreciated it as when they go back late at night , it serves as a light on the road . We will consider changing the light if more guests give us a feedback about having it inconvenient. Sorry about your breakfast sausage, the cook has been reprimanded and given a verbal warning . We cannot change the check- in time as we do not have a receptionist 24/7 , hence, everyone is given a set of key so they can come and go anytime after the check in . We are doing a lot of renovation and improvements and one of them is the plumbing . Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the car park, the crazy golf and train location. However, your review will give other future guests an idea of the hotel location . Your comments and review valuable to us. It is an opportunity for us to recover and make it better . If ever coming back to Margate and wanted to try for another stay with us , please phone us and we will give you a generous discount . Respectfully yours,
Read more
Booked the stay at this so called B and B using Booking.com and read reviews stating that this was of a reasonable standard, how wrong could I have been!!!. These reviews must have been created by the staff or owners as this place is not fit to stay at. I arrived at the property
Read more
Response from Ali S, Owner at Sherwood Hotel
Responded 4 Sep 2018
Hi John , As of Monday , Sept 03 . A Pest control have visited the room and non wildlife living found on bed or anywhere.We have new mattress and a regular pest control maintenance to avoid this problem . We know that you were disappointed that we didn't get to refund you. When you decided to check out within 15-20 min after checking in , you were asked by the lady what is the problem and if it can be rectify .. You said to her , twice "you are used to staying to a nicer room ". We cannot solve " nicer room " right on the spot because we know guests has different preference . She did mention to you about the hoovering as there was a problem when you arrived and she said she would come back to do it so you can settle and leave your luggage. And we apologize for that when you were brought to your room . She never said this to you "she stated that she hadn’t had time" None of the above issue was mentioned upon your departure, because these are all easy to fix. We contacted Booking.com to ask you to further explained so that we can reconsider the refund, however we didn't hear anything back until you've decided to write a review. We are a small running business , and we treat our guests with respect and care and fairness and we understand we cannot please everyone , but we do take on board every negative comment and work hard for betterment as that all we can do. Respectfully yours,
Read more
I been at this hotel for the last 3 nights and i have to say i was very hapoy with everything. Our room was very clean and the staff was alwyas ready to help. The hitel was very quiet and i had a sea view .there is a small outside area and the breakfast was good. I do recomend
Read more
Nice long weekend stay at the Sherwood which was quiet and relaxing. We had a sea view room with a spacious balcony which was nice to spend some time on in the morning and in the evenings before heading into town. The room was very clean with freshly laundered bedding etc. The
Read more
Rooms exactly how described and overall very pleased. Didn’t have time to stay for breakfast unfortunately :( left recipes in room and they were very helpful by sending them over via picture message! Very welcoming and polite! Highly recommended
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementSherwood Hotel
Balcony - En Suite Seaview Room 6
Perfect for Oompa-Loompas
PreviousNext
123
Hi do you have a car park?
Hi , We do not have a private car park. As Andrew have mentioned , there is one in Dalby Square, its free or anything along the sidestreet. There is a big pay and display across the hotel.
0 votes
Show all answers
HI Im sorry we do not have rooms available on Saturday 27th
0 votes
Hi Claire, What room are you looking for and when? You can phone us at 01843 223853 if you need an immediate reply. We look forward to hear from you. Best regards, Edz
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"there is nothing good about this place"
"Rooms 5& 6 have a sea view and balcony."
"Sea view with balcony, pleasant to sit and watch the world go by."
"We had a room with a balcony and sea view room number 6"
"ask for a sea view ..but be aware there are a lot of stairs to climb !"
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of ThanetMargate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing