We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 650: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

57 Members of our U3A attended here on Wed.7.12.16 for a 3 course festive lunch followed by tea/coffee/mince pies. The Hotel is beautifully situated, although our coach driver did have a bit of a squeeze to access the path to reception. It was well worth the effort. The food was really good, piping hot and efficiently served considering the size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie A
Hebburn, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights. As there was a wedding at the venue we were placed in the Parkers Lodge as the Hotel 'might be a bit noisy ' - never heard a thing !. Evening meal freshly cooked and not a long wait despite the busy function elsewhere . Room , warm , clean , comfortable. Breakfast cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Absolutely fantastic stay, the food in the restaurant for the evening meal was one of the best we have had in a long time, we had the steak and it was really good quality and cooked to perfection. Great welcome reception was lovely and very welcoming

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsj04
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had noise from neighbouring room, walls thin. Only one bath towel for a couple. Apart from frozen Brussels sprouts food was very good. Liked the position of the hotel and views we had a very good deal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
Alesund, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Needing a hotel near Rochdale we found this very pleasant solution. The hotel is well placed for views & some peace. There seemed tobe a little slow on check-in, but soon found out that the hotel had lost all communication from the world, due to very, very heavy rainfall a fews days before, in fact damaging 2 cars when trees...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil03091947
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't fault this hotel. Had a great stay and loved the lounge area. Very cosy and authentic. Nice to see the history of a place being preserved. Food great, staff friendly and rooms very comfy. Will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
St.Paul, MN, USA
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant has great food for a reasonable price. The hotel is located on the bluff with a great view. The hotel and rooms are well maintained with the antique feel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandamN341UT
HtrappGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel, I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us and you enjoyed the charm of our country hotel. We would love to welcome you back in the future, Warm Regards Jamie Proctor General Manager

Batley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disappointing considering rated top hotel in Burnley. Small room for so many guests, not enough tables and chairs for everyone, average buffet, small portions of meat pie and desserts. Pretty average really.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 24Senior24
HtrappGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I am sorry you were underwhelmed by your experience. The seating plan was prearranged with the Bride & Groom and second helpings of the buffet are always offered to the guests. We did receive excellent feedback from the Bride & Groom, but we thank you for your comments, we welcome all feedback to continuously improve our...

Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from staying at the Higher Trapp again, all 17 of us had an amazing time again....trust me you will not be disappointed with this hotel or it's fabulous staff members. We are a family group that travel on weekends away together quite a bit....our ages ranging from 10 to 82......and before we left yesterday we all booked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emer E
HtrappGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am absolutely delighted to read your positive feedback, and I will be passing this onto all the team that served you during your stay. Ray, Sheila, Jess, Ann and the rest of the team all work extremely hard to offer our guests a fantastic experience...

Beaminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite a find to be close to motorways but still in the countryside surrounded by fields, close to Pendle Hill. Originally would have been an interesting old house but it has been (I think) over modernised under the Best Western branding, with little left. Unfortunately when we visited (midweek) there was a lively Wedding on which rather took over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rauma

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
6.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
7.3 km away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
7.0 km away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
288 reviews
6.7 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Address: Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Trapp Lane | Simonstone, Burnley BB12 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Price Range: RM302 - RM520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Burnley
Burnley Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Stroud, United Kingdom
Shaw, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“din't stay”
 of 5 bubbles MarjorieA83, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Parkers Lodge is peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles 535shanew, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Was disappointed that there wasn't even a bar of soap to wash your hands but reception redeemed themselves with a full complementary bathroom bag”
 of 5 bubbles mrsj04, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Neil03091947, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The lodge is just as good as the main hotel however it is a little walk across the car park”
 of 5 bubbles emere2013, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay