We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 482: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were really looking forward to christmas lunch at Monk Fryston hall this year as the setting is really lovely, and the christmas atmosphere really nice. Unfortunately the food doesn't do it any justice. The christmas lunch was plain and uninsteresting most of it seemed to be reheated and a lack of care taken. Big thick undercooked carrots, sprouts like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent 2 nights here with my wife and had a most pleasant time. Our only issue was the shower in our room didn't work, but this was soon resolved with no problem by the receptionist and duty manager with an upgrade to a very nice room, and the shower worked just fine. All the staff we came into contact with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hebron134
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your 2 night break with us . Thank you for your comment regarding the shower fault which we will be looking into. It is pleasing to hear we responded quickly to upgrade you and ensure your stay was not affected.

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

It is a while since we visited Monk Fryston Hall restaurant and we were bitterly disappointed. We have been going there for many years and our last visit was not up to expectations. However two weeks ago we decided to try again. I am very happy to say we were delighted, both with the food and the service. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PapillonAvril
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to find a returning guest who has noticed the improvements we have achieved. Your praise for food and service is gratefully received.

Tibshelf, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a two night package here from Secret Escapes. It was great value for money and we really loved our stay here. We had an absolutely huge room, twin aspect, barrel vaulted ceiling, 4 poster bed, enormous bathroom. I believe that the hotel is refurbishing it's rooms and our room was not one that had been refurbished but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased your enjoyed your two night stay with us. Selby Abbey is often overlooked as a place of local interest nearby but as you say is well worth a visit. Much of the stone for the Abbey was excavated in Monk Fryston and a recent archeological dig in our grounds showed evidence...

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we paid £25 per head for a 3 course meal the portions were discusting . the main course contain 2 sprouts 2 small pieces of turkey and 1potatoe it was rubbish .I will advise the firm I was with never to use the place again . the bar prices were extortion . we would have been better staying in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank markwood01
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry your meal did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are currently endeavouring to achieve a 2 rosette rating for our restaurant and the quality of our food has recently been very highly praised. Whilst accepting your disappointment with respect we are a hotel and not a pub/carvery and the emphasis...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here with a large party for a birthday occasion and had a really nice time. The manger was incredibly accommodating and really looked after all of my family. I'd highly recommend staying here for a nice county escape. Not too far Leeds as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rmazza85
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Four of us have just returned from a two night secret escape deal at this lovely hotel. We had a beautiful 3 course meal on the first night and two delicious cooked breakfasts included in our deal. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We loved sitting by the open fires in the two lounges. The drinks and bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annielouise64
Quenington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Monk Fryston is an unusual hotel ... yes, it needs refurb still in some areas, but, it is clean and has a lovely atmosphere. The staff are really friendly and very helpful. Our room had been refurbed .... and was really nicely done. Too hot!! Had heating off in minutes of arriving! Bathroom was due an upgrade, but still clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jdmd2015
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chef will be delighted that you enjoyed our food.

Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this Hotel for my wife's Birthday, what a disappointment. The Hotel is a lovely building but in dire need of some maintenance. The central heating did not work in our superior double room and when I complained I was offered other rooms but the heating was not working in those either. I was told that they were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJLHARPER
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry your stay with us was marred by a temporary heating issue especially as it was a special occasion for you. We have our heating engineers attending to the problem at the moment but of course that does not make up for your disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight after attending a wedding reception here. The hotel is located in the lovely village of Monk Fryston, which is midway between Leeds and York. My overall impression of the place is that it needs some work. The food, drink and service were all perfectly good but the interior needs a lick of paint at the very least....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdsvarley
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your praise of our food and service. My partner and I took ownership of this lovely historic building just over three and a half years ago we have been on a long journey of refurbishment. We have redecorated 90% of public areas but...

573 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (252)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (315)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Four Poster Bedrrom (25)
Viewed
Family Bedroom (24)
Viewed
Family Room (28)
Viewed
Grand Four Poster Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Bedroom (22)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin Bedroom (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Bedroom (22)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (23)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monk Fryston
5.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milford Hotel
11.5 km away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
29.1 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
285 reviews
21.0 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
38.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Monk Fryston
Price Range: RM431 - RM717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, HRS, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monk Fryston Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cheshire
over a year ago
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Monk Fryston Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our upgrade to room 9 was a welcome bonus, otherwise smaller room seemed ok.”
 of 5 bubbles Hebron134, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you like history ask for rooms in old hall”
 of 5 bubbles albert070, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The family room is well out of the way in the old part and quiet maybe a good choice if there is a function on.”
 of 5 bubbles ducker450, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try and be alocated in the main hall ,if at all.”
 of 5 bubbles 785tomj, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our ground floor room suited us perfectly as our dogs were invited along.”
 of 5 bubbles Q4840CXjane, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay