We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 494: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The wedding itself was very good, partly due to bride and groom's organisation and partly the hotel's. The ceremony room looked lovely and the meal hot and tasty. It was a very cold frosty day but sunny so the grounds looked beautiful for photos. A lovely setting and historic building. The evening reception supper was good. Besides the main hall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sjmc50
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with our two mutts. Lovely old building, food good- we ate in both the restaurant and the bar, breakfast superb but the thing that sets this place ahead is its staff. All were helpful, friendly, obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Granted the hotel is still in need of some refurbishment, but our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mutleytrucker
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your praise of the staff they are our greatest asset.

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night, 28th December. The monk Fryston hall was in a nice area and the building has lots of history. The staff were helpful and the room very comfy. The room had a few things that could be Improved but it did not spoil our visit. The bathroom door didn't close, the window clasp wouldn't shut and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I have made a careful note of your comments so that we can attend to them. Thank you for your praise of our restaurant I will make sure our chefs and service staff know that their efforts are appreciated.

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After getting married at this hotel on 23rd December 2006, we returned to celebrate our 10 year anniversary, We WEREN'T disappointed The restaurant was quiet- perfect The staff knew why we were there (I think it was mentioned at the time of booking) The food was excellent Service was better than excellent Drinks were good. Bed huge and comfortable, breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so very pleased that you enjoyed celebrating your wedding anniversary at our hotel. Returning to a venue that has hopefully so many happy memories for you must have felt quite special. I am delighted we lived up to and even perhaps exceeded your expectations.

Prescot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were happy to return to this hotel for two nights in November, and pleased to see its festive decorations ahead of the busy Christmas period. Our room was a little smaller than last time, and at the rear of the building with a view of the woodland. During our stay, we asked for assistance to get into our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for returning to our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the small issue with your room lock, I am pleased that it was attended to quickly. Thank you for your praise of our food and service.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just dropped in for a morning coffee having driven passed too many times before. Very well presented house with wonderful interior. My son played the lounge piano which made a wonderful atmosphere. Thanks to Geoff and Sharon for letting us see the banqueting hall and explore the very pleasant grounds. We'll be returning again- hopefully to sample the menu. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you. Please tell your talented son that he is most welcome to play our piano whenever you next visit.

manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a superior room here last minute for NYE. It is a very beautiful and imposing building steeped in history with lovely grounds in a charming village. All the staff we encountered were so nice and helpful. Our room was large with the most comfortable bed I've slept in for ages. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Yes there were a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mazzaManchester
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us on New Year's Eve. Thank you for praising our staff, they all worked so hard over the festive season and will enjoy your feedback.

England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Impressive 13th century house. Very Grand and old fashioned with real wooden labelling & oil paintings. Rooms were sadly very dowdy. Nice curtains and bedding but old wallpaper & carpets. Light bulbs missing rusty grabrails in bathroom and upholstery worn through on armchairs. In plus side rooms were quiet. Beds were comfy & staff were delightfully friendly & helpful. Refurbishment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarquins
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as the first private owners of the hotel we are committed to reinvesting in our beautiful historic building. Since acquiring the Hall in 2013 we have pursued an ongoing refurbishment plan which will ultimately result in releasing the enormous potential of the hotel. I was encouraged that you found the beds comfortable as many have...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is a little tired and the service was a little lacking at times, but my room was clean, tidy and comfortable. When given the choice of an independent place such as this or a chain I will always go independent. With a little investment this place could be spectacular. As it is, it isn't bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. As private owners we intend to continue investing in this historic building and believe as you clearly do that the results will be spectacular.

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Before our friends wedding day, it was impossible to get in touch with anyone at the hotel on the phone. When we arrived after booking a room were told there was no recording of our booking and were full, but then later said there was a room available. Which with a toddler is not what you want to be told....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cat S
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, sorry you had difficulty getting in touch with us by phone to confirm your booking. The week before Christmas is possibly the busiest of the year but you should still have been able to contact us. You clearly love our building as we do and rest assured as private owners we intend to continue investing...

579 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (258)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (315)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Four Poster Bedrrom (25)
Viewed
Family Bedroom (24)
Viewed
Family Room (28)
Viewed
Grand Four Poster Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Bedroom (22)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin Bedroom (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Bedroom (22)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (23)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monk Fryston
5.3 km away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
11.5 km away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
38.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,289 reviews
3.7 km away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
289 reviews
14.8 km away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Monk Fryston
Price Range: RM424 - RM707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monk Fryston Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cheshire
over a year ago
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Monk Fryston Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a refurbished room with heating!”
 of 5 bubbles Sjmc50, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I ask for a quiet room and on the ground floor and the staff at the Monk Fryston were very helpful to accommodate.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleenr91, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our upgrade to room 9 was a welcome bonus, otherwise smaller room seemed ok.”
 of 5 bubbles Hebron134, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you like history ask for rooms in old hall”
 of 5 bubbles albert070, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The family room is well out of the way in the old part and quiet maybe a good choice if there is a function on.”
 of 5 bubbles ducker450, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay