We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

916 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 914: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

No lift, so be warned, we were on the 3rd floor but... great hotel, staff were all lovely especially Claire nothing too much trouble all staff REALLY friendly.We went to Alnick on a short break, to see the castes but forgot they all close in the winter!!! Would return to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whitewitchHull
James T, Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving your comments. I very glad to hear you had a great time with us and in Northumberland. We would love to put in a lift but due to being a listed building we are unfortunately are unable to do so. Hope to see you very soon.

leeds
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from a really great weekend in Alnwick . Met up with brother and sister in law as we live near Leeds and they live in Glasgow so half way! We were not disappointed with the White Swan ! Our Rooms were excellent . Clean warm and modern and included nice toiletries , tea coffee hot chocolate and delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel12369
James T, Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for finding time to leave your comments. I am very happy you have enjoyed your stay. I am also happy to hear the staff were friendly as here at the White Swan we stride on our customer service. I do hope to see you very soon.

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay at The White Swan Hotel. We stayed on the 25th November in room 6. We were instructed that our room, a double at £100 a night was along the corridor and through the door on the right. We set off to find ourselves back out of the building in the freezing cold trekking towards...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 657Christine657
James T, Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your time to leave us your comments. I would like to apologise for the issues you experienced. We are planning refurbs in the hotel but as you can appriacate this work can not be done at busy times. We do take all comments serious and without them we can not stride forward as a hotel or business....

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family stayed here July 2016 while spending a couple of days in Alnwick. Entrance, foyer, dining room and bar area were all great but the bedrooms in the back wing were run down and very ordinary. Felt like a shabby travel lodge. Breakfast however was pretty good and the restaurant a fun feature.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheSafariSpecialist
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The White Swan for the second time, & will definitely be returning. The room, service & food could not be faulted, the location is excellent & atmosphere is so welcoming. Thank you to everyone for a lovely stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevandjohn_5861
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated at the start of the town the location was excellent. Clean, comfortable with a good breakfast choices and selection. The breakfast/function has stunning wood panels and Windows with history behind them. Really friendly and a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
london
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The crew of the White Swan were trying hard, and helpful. But the iceberg was the Alnwick Suite, our room, and the food! We have often wondered what really was the difference between 3 White Star OK and 4 White Star plus AA rosette superiority. We soon found out during our stay. Yes the dining room of the Olympic is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stanley h
Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Having booked and stayed many years ago I was most impressed by the dining suite, the Olympic Room. When the business meeting opportunity came up for us to stay in Alnwick I wanted to share the experience with my colleagues. What made it particularly good was the excellent service provided by the hotel staff who made every effort to facilitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCSwee
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Dates stayed 19 Oct to 22 Oct 2016 (3 nights). This hotel has history. Our room was in the old part on the second floor with views to the rear over the Olympic Dining Room. The decoration had been brought reasonably up-to-date although the windows had not been replaced – the bathroom window did not close fully and both it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian/Julia B
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stopped off here for a bite to eat while staying near Alnwick. It felt a bit like stepping back in time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the resturant was very pleasant. Bearing in mind we were quite late arriving the full menu was not available but the food we had was excellent and reasonably priced. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip C

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
10.3 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
10.9 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,075 reviews
21.7 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
12.6 km away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
95 reviews
0.8 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#39 of 70 in Alnwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Price Range: RM459 - RM739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Remember there is no lift. Our room 214 was very spacious.Powerful shower.”
 of 5 bubbles whitewitchHull, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have had upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles 57stanleyh, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main hotel are in keeping with the character of the building, the annexe rooms are a little more functional.”
 of 5 bubbles JCSwee, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This hotel has no lift and there is a mix of old and new rooms. Older rooms may be slightly larger but new rooms may be more comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles TheBakerFamily2014, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Interesting place, worth a look.”
 of 5 bubbles Z6288KGphilipc, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay