We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

965 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 963: English reviews
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2014

On our arrival we were offered a large room at the back of the hotel which was very cold and which had a noisy extractor fan from the kitchen outside. I was given the chance to choose an alternative room and all three I looked at were very cramped. As we were just staying for one night this was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm B
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I must confess to being very disappointed that following our correspondence, one still felt it a necessity to write a negative review. I would also like to make specific reference to the offer of a return stay at a preferential rate. the response received from you as follows. "Your responses on both the drinks offer and booklet are...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel for my birthday for one night only and we had a fantastic time. We stayed on their Autumn Offer which comprised of Afternoon Tea, Evening Meal, Breakfast and one nights stay. Our room was a bit tired looking but very comfortable. The food was out of this world it was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M B
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many Thanks for your review. It is much appreciated and i hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, Kind Regards

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

I booked the White Swan Hotel on the Saturday (15th Nov) as a birthday treat for my husband. We were lucky there was an autumn special deal at the time. The location is handy for the coast and nearby towns. The price included breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner, what a bargin! It is an old fashion hotel with a modern...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela B
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Regards

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Had a lovely staff here. The staff are helpful and friendly. breakfast is nice in nice surroundings. great location suggestions for improvements include: - heat the room before the guests arrive. was perfect once the heater had been on for a whie so a minor grumble. - perhaps it might be useful to put signs up asking guests to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katmilne2016
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many Thanks for your review and comments. We do have signs in the bathrooms advising guests but if you could contact us directly and let us know which room you occupied so that we can replace asap. Hope that we can welcome you back in due course Many Thanks and Regards

grimsy
Reviewed 18 November 2014

Would just like to say a HUGE BIG THANK YOU to the White Swan for an absolutely gorgeous Sunday lunch...3 courses and a glass of Prosecco and tea £18:95 per person...best roast we've had in ages...Olympic room is magnificent...service was fab...Please try it..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fytchey
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch at the hotel. we have just started offering a quality Sunday Lunch in our Olympic Suite and its great to receive such positive feedback. I do hope you will come back soon. Regards

Lerwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014

A wonderful location for a weekend break. When we checked in, the 2 receptionists were on phone calls and so we were kept waiting for a few minutes. This was ok, but when the blonde haired young lady did attend to us, she never even apologised for keeping us waiting - or welcomed us to the hotel. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MultiTripper
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I really appreciate you balanced review and i am sorry that not every aspect of your stay was as it should have been. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel. Regards

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2014

The location and staff are the best parts of this hotel. We stayed for two nights on the bed breakfast and dinner package, the breakfast was fine nothing special but adequate,the dinners were probably the worst we had ever had. The leek and potato soup seemed to be missing potatoes, the steak which we paid an additional charge for not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynn s
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. It is never good to hear that we didn't deliver as we should and your comments are very welcome and appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards

Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2014

we were at a wedding at this hotel and it was excellent.the food and staff were brilliant. I was really surprised at how nice this hotel was. we did not stay over but family members did and said the rooms were lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4muriel
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Great to hear that you enjoyed the wedding day. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel. Kind Regards

Cumbria
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We stayed here last week for 2 nights and overall had a good stay. Bedroom was clean and comfortable and food excellent however let down by having evening meal in bar area with breakfast in main dining area...however Karl our waiter on the first night was brilliant and worked efficiently and was so pleasant...he excelled my service requirement

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jackson99
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Overall its pleasing that you enjoyed your stay but clearly not everything was up to scratch. I appreciate your comments and will certainly be passing my thanks on to Karl. Regards

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights last week.Room clean and comfortable, but service in restaurant let the hotel down.Some of the staff in the restaurant seemed too casual in their approach to service and in need of further training.The quality of the food was O.K. The hotel location is excellent for visiting Alnwick Castle, Cragside and the Northumberland coast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many Thanks for your review. I am sorry that not all aspects where as they should be. We continue to train and retrain to ensure that we are providing a quality service. your comments are certainly appreciated and will be acted upon, Kind Regards

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
10.9 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,146 reviews
10.3 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.3 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
328 reviews
17.0 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
17.8 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Price Range: RM491 - RM707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 116 overlooking garden was quiet in March but if guests use outside seating in warmer weather it could be more noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles CJSScotland, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not sure there is one, maybe one of their suites but would like to see first.”
 of 5 bubbles cussie67, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms at the back”
 of 5 bubbles KevinM07, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles 269Jack34, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have to stay at this hotel, you'll need to ask for an upgrade to a superior room!”
 of 5 bubbles jenniferbR7168EY, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5