We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hog's Head Inn

Save
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (17)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good30%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“modern hotel”(8 reviews)
“good size”(24 reviews)
“road noise”(13 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
305
169
62
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
305
169
62
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelgood sizeroad noiselarge partybuffet breakfastrooms are spacioussunday carveryflat screen tvearly checkfamily roomevening mealsteak and ale pielight sleeperovernight stayplay areaexcellent staydouble room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were attending the Cherry Blossom dedication service at Alnwick Gardens so this was a convenient place to stay. Check in is from 2.30pm and when we arrived on a Friday afternoon about 3pm there was no one on the check in desk. Two girls...More

Thank marionspence
Response from Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head InnResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for leaving this review and for your kind comments regarding our Inn and Rooms. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on numerous occasions since it opened as I commute from Aberdeen to Newcastle and always been very happy. However, booked in Sat,Sun, Mon over Bank holiday weekend for a break and was very disappointed. Rooms perfect as usual but the breakfasts were terrible....More

Thank L66KMG
Response from Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head InnResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast. We are very sorry that this did not meet your expectations this time. Your review will be passed on to the Head Chef to ensure a quality breakfast is always on offer. We do...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Marie and I were invited to a friend's wedding in Northumberland close to Alnwick, (pronounced Anick by the locals). Marie booked the Hog's Head Inn. As we booked in we found the receptionist very helpful. As we'd travelled a fair way we decided a drink...More

Thank George G
Response from Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head InnResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving this review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and we do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was clean to a very hi standard and if u didn’t have a dog you would know the hotel is dog friendly. Food and service is fantastic 5 stars all around for that although the drink and room are a little pricier that the...More

Thank David Lee S
Response from Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head InnResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for leaving this review and for your kind comments regarding our food and service. Our breakfast offers : full English Breakfast, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, fresh fruit juices, tea, coffee and hot chocolate, please let us know direct if you feel anything can...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped in for food as we were staying in the motorhome park near by. Not a great vegetarian choice and ended up ordering tomato and basil pasta. I can't really say what the problem was but it was awful, very bitter and bland. I...More

1  Thank Sonicacaca123
Response from Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head InnResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving your review, sorry to read about your issues regarding your meal. I will pass your comments on to the Head Chef about your pasta dish, with around 10 vegetarian main meals on our menu, we do try to cater for everyone's...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Alnwick, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$134 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$134 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (17)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
June M
20 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Honour W | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. I have had a look at the bookings and unfortunately for this New Year's Eve coming is fully booked but the 31/12/19 has availability! Please do call up either the central reservation office on... More
0
Votes
cpluck30
19 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Honour W | Property representative |
Thank you for leaving this question! To ensure you have a bath, please do call the Inn direct or our central reservation line on 0191 580 3610.
0
Votes
June M
16 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Honour W | Property representative |
Hello, We do not have anything available for this new years eve, however we do have availability for 31st of December 2018. I would recommend to call up and book as soon as you can as we do fill up quickly!! Thank... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The Hog's Head is relatively new so rooms are pretty much the same. The only complaint! Marie wasn't..."
Read review
"Room 23 is very spacious and comfortable."
Read review
"One without a spring mattress."
Read review
"Ask for a room looking over the court yard and that will keep the noise down from the A1"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing