We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hog's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hog\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hog's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 455: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Well appointed and spacious rooms. Excellent bed and bathroom although for the price it was something like an upmarket Premier Inn. Call me picky but I think hot food should be served on hot plates - didn't happen for dinner and there were only cold plates available for the buffet breakfast. Has the potential to be a really good hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dizzyjazz
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - and you are not being picky at all - we couldn't agree more! Our plates are usually lovely and warm - apologies that they were not. Your comments have been passed on to the kitchen team.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Had three very comfortable days here staff were superb and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and had everything you could possibly need. We had mriblem when first arrived but the staff sorted I,to out immediately .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Midgemere360
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

We're pleased you had a comfortable stay - and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cymru/Wales
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We stopped here for dinner and, as a vegetarian I was given three main course choices. I chose the bean burger which was flavoured with smoked paprika. When it came I could not eat it because I found the taste dreadful. I did not want pasta or risotto nor did I want a savoury tart but I found the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pengoch
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a very constructive review - we are bringing out a new menu with new vegetarian dishes on it. Our kidney bean burger with smoked paprika is very popular but we do totally appreciate taste is a subjective thing - and did exactly as we would much rather do - find an alternative dish for you and make...

Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Booked on our behalf by a family member whose wedding we were attending at Alnwick Garden. Beautiful hotel grounds, lovely restaurant/bar area, outside play area for the kids, lovely big room for the 6 of us with complimentary tea and biscuits, very modern, clean bathroom, amazing breakfast included to suit all tastes. Only downside is very uncomfortable pillows and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clarabelle2177
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. Our pillows (and mattresses) are being replaced so hopefully you will notice a difference!

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

After being let down by a taxi company to take us to an evening event (2 adults 5 children) at the castle Gary offered to both take us there and collect us. He was an absolute star! This was obviously above and beyond the call of duty (even missed his break to take us!) We are so grateful for this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dlish79
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

He is a true diamond! Thank you so much for such a lovely review and for the feedback. Gary leads a great team of fellow gems! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Stayed here by accident when our booked hotel had a boiler failure. A friendly welcome, a clean spacious & comfortable room. Only "complaint" is that while handy for the A1, it is not in Alnwick town itself - but half a mile outside & gets a little road noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrkerr
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

I was visiting Alnwick for a wedding and there weren't a great number of options that I was confident in. Turns out I picked a very good hotel that had a very good management team who were very helpful and advised on local services. The breakfast buffet in the morning was exactly what I want in a full English breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey L
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Well you came to most people's first choice anyway! Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - and for such a special occasion. Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

All ok, close to Alnwick on the terrible A1. very convenient place to stop going north or south. Didn't stay, just stopped for a hearty breakfast. Lovely sausages and bacon, but ..... Are the mushrooms tinned? If so, then not good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irving-m-1210
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

No tinned mushrooms in our kitchen thank you very much!! Delighted you enjoyed a welcome pit stop. Call again soon.

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016

A pleasant hotel room with good outlook, but noisy due to the proximity of the A1. The hotel was built just after 2011 and I'm surprised that it did not have air-conditioning as befits modern hotels. Then the windows could stay shut when it's hot to cut out that noise. There is an arcane pricing regime from £130 to £160...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nineteenhundred
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We get a lot of feedback about the A1 - a lot of people comment about how quiet it is - and having stayed at both the Hog's Head and in town and city centre hotels where there is a lot of noise from revellers - the Hog's Head is quieter every time! If you...

Nottinghamshire
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We had a couple of child-free days at our disposal and decided to have a few days in Northumberland. The Hogs Head was our first choice as we had eaten there before and liked it. Our experience was think Premier Inn then up a notch. Slightly more expensive than PI, but the breakfast is included. The room we had was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dottie007
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

And what a brilliant review - we do hope to welcome you back again very soon.

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
916 reviews
11.7 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
12.7 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
95 reviews
13.8 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
309 reviews
15.5 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hogs Head Inn
Hogs Head Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very little to choose as all rooms were of similar standard with no banging doors, noisy air conditioning, traffic noise or cooking odours.”
 of 5 bubbles davideQ4792YJ, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Have a room on the traffic side because if there is a party u can sometimes hear that.”
 of 5 bubbles ellieg25, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front of the hotel over looking the carpark/Bar as it will be quieter and away from the A1”
 of 5 bubbles s70rmp, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Away from road”
 of 5 bubbles Midgemere360, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A room not facing or side on to the A1 would be an advantage,”
 of 5 bubbles nineteenhundred, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5