We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hog's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hog\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hog's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 488: English reviews
morpeth
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Three trips in a month, first on a Monday lunch, lovely pork, black pudding and haggis sandwich with chips and well dressed salad,impressed. A Sunday carvery beckoned, very tasteless, chewy meat.Bare footed kids running wild, not the best place for no shoes with glasses everywhere and if the tables are knocked drinks are expensive to replace. A final trip yesterday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann c
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, we are sorry to hear your comment's regarding your food. Carveries are always busy and we cannot unfortunately control every child that is in the pub, that is up to the child’s parents. We will pass on your review.

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We arrived at the height of lunch, very busy. Found a table for 2 in the corner. Nice décor, but crowded tables with little room. Carvery meat:pork and beef were very stringy. Does not compare favourably with Bamburgh Castle inn or Lindisfarne inn, for carvery helpings. Service was fine and staff were fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddtnorthumberland
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, we do get very busy as our Sunday carvery is very popular. Thank you for your comment's - we hope to see you again soon.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

This is our second visit to the Hogs Head and well worth the visit, we were on a winter offer B&B and evening meal for £99. Food was lovely not at all like pub grub, rooms spotless and the staff really friendly. A short walk takes you into Alnwick and there are lots of interesting places to visit. Will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave this lovely review, it is a very good offer! We all hope to see you again soon!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We went to lunch here and liked the internal layout and decoration very much. I went towards what I thought was a buffet but it turned out to be for a private party, a notice to this effect it might have helped. A large family were having a special party for their Grandmothers 90th birthday. They were enjoying a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, please come back and give us another try.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This was our second year the family of 14 had Christmas lunch here. This year we went for the second sitting. Service was very quick and staff were very pleasant. The turkey served was good but a few of the party were not aware they could also have beef as the chef only had turkey to cut. Only when a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will pass your comments on to the head chef.

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

What a night brilliant as ever 8 of us stayed the night fantastic rooms comfortable beds good food smashing entertainment all in all 10 out of 10 for Gary Dan and his smashing staff booked for this new year coming

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review, so pleased you all had a great time. Hope to see you again in the future!

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We have eaten here on numerous occasions and are impressed because it has a very wide-ranging menu with ample choice for vegetarians. There are 5 or 6 dishes to choose from which in our experience is unusual. It gets very busy but you can usually find a table in the large bar/dining area. Service is friendly and prompt. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and review, we will hope to see you again in the future.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Second visit here this month. Food very good quality and value. Large portions and very tasty. Plenty busy enough today, but all staff helpful and didn't feel rushed. Will be visiting again next time we are passing. Thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the rating and review, really hope to see you again soon.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I stayed here with my boyfriend as his birthday present, sharing a double room. The room was spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. The hotel was warm and friendly and all the staff were very attentive and willing to help us with anything we needed, such as helping us finding a taxi when lots of places would not take us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherineflorek
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave this lovely review, please do come back and try more of our food and drinks. Hope to see you again soon!

York, UK
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

The last time we stayed at the Highs Head, we were rather disappointed. Not this time though - our ground floor room was spotlessly clean, bed comfortable and food in the restaurant was excellent - both at dinner and at breakfast next morning. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful, particularly Gary. Recommended !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1000
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, so pleased you tried us again. Please do come back and try some more of our gorgeous food.

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.8 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
975 reviews
12.6 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,164 reviews
11.6 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
317 reviews
13.8 km away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
114 reviews
13.9 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hogs Head Inn
Hogs Head Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At the front of the hotel away from the noise of the A1.”
343owenn, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not to close to the A1 or the bar.”
377stevep377, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“good accessibility on ground floor. Some rooms face onto a road but the double glazing it great - no road noise at all.”
scottishlass026, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get away from the A1 side, there is some traffic noise if you open your windows.”
PaulR369, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can ask for a dog friendly room or a pet free room”
IreneH742, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5