We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Victoria Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 872: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

The service is lacking, the food is expensive for what you get. There were empty glasses left on the tables even though they had plenty of time to clear them as we asked 3 times where we can sit and there was food on the floor. Pork belly was soggy and the dish was literally pork with mashed potato with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliza P
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on your recent visit. I am very shocked that you say the service is lacking as we get such positive feedback on trip advisor and face to face. I can only apologise that there were glasses left on the table, by no way is this an excuse but during busy...

Tysons Corner VA
Reviewed 5 September 2015

The title of this review captures my very conflicted feelings about our stay: the room was comfy, the breakfast fine, and the view from the "Castle "room truly is one of a kind and I bet can compete with any view anywhere in the world. But it simply is not a welcoming place, as is noted by quite a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tommyg2230
Newcastle
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Visited last night, location is brilliant, restaurant fantastic, service in the restaurant and for breakfast second to none, service upon arriving and departing- minimal, cleanliness in the room not good, finish of the room not good, attention to detail - poor, reception needs a reality and personality check, to not even be asked how our stay was is shocking, I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VickyS1989
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We travelled up from Durham for a meal. We arrived to find that it was the Bamburgh fair. Everywhere was very busy. We were seated in the bar as we had our dog with us. We ordered Sunday lunch and waited. The restaurant was very busy also and the customers in there seemed to be getting priority over the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairehepp
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding your visit on Bank Holiday Sunday, we always welcome customer feedback and were sorry to read the negative review you gave us. Of course by letting us know about our short fall, gives us a chance to put things right which we are constantly reviewing. Summer is always busy in...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We had a double room, no 2, for my husband and I which was tired and dated and dingy with a bad view over the hotel roof. The bathroom was huge but also needed an update as the grouting was mouldy and the sealant around the bath looked dirty and there was a patched up hole in the side of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelley0960
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you felt that we didn't quite match up to your expectations and were disappointed with the rooms. I am pleased that our staff were able to move your mother to a more suitable room. Our housekeepers do try to make sure the rooms are fully cleaned each day, I have drawn your comments to their attention regarding the mould...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We have just returned from another excellent stay at this hotel. Room, food, drinks all of a very good quality. We always opt for breakfast in the room as we can state the exact time of its arrival then eat it at leasure, and it always arrives hot. Dogs are welcome in bar area but if anyone wants a meal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P3860GKtracyl
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

We were delighted to read your review on trip advisor, after your returned visit to stay with us. Room Service is a nice little extra which we are only too happy to provide. Our staff always try to make sure there is no delay in bringing up food and appreciate your comments. We are so pleased that you found the...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Spent 2 nights here in a superior room with every comfort, including a spa bath: very welcome after a long walk! Spotlessly clean......crisp, white bedlinen and fluffy white ( not bandage!) towels. Fantastic view of castle from our balcony window. Restaurant food varied and well cooked. A welcome, relaxing break after a very busy family time!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ju48lin
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel, I have past your comments on to our Housekeeping team. We always try to maintain a high stand both with accommodation and staff and linen as you noted. The superior room with the spa bath is wonderful and relaxing and I agree has a stunning view of...

Taunton
Reviewed 28 August 2015

The room was small and was overlooking the rear extractor fans noise.Had it not been so late I would have declined the room on arrival.It appeared the room had not been serviced for guests. The receptionist whilst polite and helpful explained that we were lucky with the room as they had a cancellation. Restaurant full so bar meal taken. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter L, Thank you for your constructive criticism, we are always try to maintain a high standard, and are sorry to see the negative review you gave us, by you letting us know about our short fall gives us a chance to put things right and move on. The hotel is a beautiful Victorian building so unfortunately we are...

Northallerton
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed ourselves! Good value for money, good size room and bathroom, stayed in a standard room. Breakfast was fabulous, great choice of cooked breakfasts and nice restaurant and bar area, highly recommend. Dogs welcome, nice outside seating area and lovely building in a great place.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lewhogg12
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lewhogg12, Thank you for taking the time in writing a review on your recent visit. I am very pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and we seem like we ticked all the boxes for yourselves. I hope if your in the area you would come and stay with us again.

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Read previous trip advisor reviews and feel I must have visited some parallel universe. Have stayed in hotels elsewhere in UK for less money and far better quality. The photograph of twin room did not reflect the reality. Room was tiny and made even smaller by the sloping roof. I couldn't stand up in areas. At best the room should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank widwylie
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

I was sorry to read your review that you felt justified in making, Our hotel is a beautiful Victoria Building, where the ceilings are of different heights due to the dormer windows in some of the rooms., thus making us limited as to what can be done to rectify this problem. We have taken your comments on board about this...

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Accessible Superior Room (30)
Viewed
Castle View Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Second Superior Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Third Superior Double Room (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
10.7 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,124 reviews
0.0 km away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
180 reviews
6.7 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
21.7 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
943 reviews
37.2 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Bailey's Bar & Restaurant
Bailey's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. The hotel offers exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bar and Brasserie, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Price Range: RM410 - RM780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Victoria Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Carlisle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newcastle
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Victoria Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Could request a castle view.”
 of 5 bubbles jbpb2016, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best to enquire”
 of 5 bubbles AJLM7378, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They have weekend deals (including evening meal) and it was not an expensive trip.”
 of 5 bubbles 669Rose, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“our room 16 was at front of hotel but had very comfy bed and had everything that we needed”
 of 5 bubbles critchlow517, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms that face the main street or castle”
 of 5 bubbles U123PUandyp, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5