We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Craster Arms

Hotels.comUS$104*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$128*
US$104*
US$128*
US$104*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Craster Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Craster Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 338: English reviews
Barnoldswick, England
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Popped in whilst visiting the area on holiday..was seated straight away by a helpful waitress although it seemed fully booked she sorted us a table no problem...took a while to catch her eye to say we was ready to order, but more people were arriving. My husband had burger which he said was lovely but the chips weren't too great..my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zhoddy
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your food and that the service wasn't as fast as you would like. We will be passing your comments on to our chef as we want to ensure all our food is good quality and enjoyed by our customers. We appreciate all the comments made and take the points raised seriously.

Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night at the friendly village pub. Received a warm welcome from Connor who showed us to our room. The pub/restaurant was very busy in the evening and looked like it was doing a roaring trade. At breakfast we were greeted by a lovely lady who provided us with a deliscious home cooked breakfast. Would definately recommend and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aj22882014
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we appreciate it. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward too seeing you again!

Dunbar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

impressions good. very dog and traveller friendly. discount if you stay at local campsite. food was good (pub food ) and not overpriced . staff very friendly and helpful. large beer garden . would advise phoning to book if wishing to eat . no negative comments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomas k
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this review

Thanks Thomas. We're glad you enjoyed dining with us and we really appreciate the review.

Sheffield
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Stopped here for lunch on a family walk. The garden area is lovely and we sat outside with the dog as the weather was good. The pub was not very busy but we all felt that both the bar staff and the serving staff were a bit off hand with us and did not make us feel particularly welcome. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you we're disappointed dinning with us. We try to ensure everyone is made to feel welcome and can only apologise for the staffs attitude. This is not what we expect from our staff, and we will be emphasising the importance of customer service to all members of staff. We will also pass your comments on...

Bradford
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Booked a table after recommendation for lady a hotel we were staying at. Pleased we'd booked as pub was very busy, food and service were excellent. The had some singers on in the evening who were very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
crasterarms, Manager at Craster Arms, responded to this review

Thanks Andrew. Glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of dining with us and that you also enjoyed our buskers night.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Spent a lovely sunny afternoon in the beer garden which allows children and dogs! Kept very clean and tidy lovely flowers and garden. Also sat outside and had a lovely meal served by friendly helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 511dawn
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your afternoon with use and that you liked the beer garden. Always good to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that the staff were friendly .

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

On our first evening of a weeks holiday we ate at the Craster Arms. We were pretty late arriving, the staff found us a table but informed us several things were off the menus as there had been a rush that evening. We ordered Scampi and it was quite good, during the week we visited again this time having steak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Ian. Glad to hear you liked the food and that you received a friendly service.

Downham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed here one night while walking St Oswald's Way. A very nice room, but the restaurant was incredibly busy in the evening. In fact we were served quite promptly and the food was better than you'd expect at most pubs, but being so busy made it a less enjoyable experience. The following morning we went down to the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Richard! Glad you enjoyed the room, food and service. Also great to hear that you Slat water Cafe breakfast was excellent. Thanks again and the review is much appreciated.

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Stayed right next to Craster Arms and couldn't have been happier with the food and the service. They could not have been more accommodating. Friendly and helpful and the food was brilliant. One of our friends had the fish and chips and said it was the nicest fish she had ever eaten! Couldn't fault it. Worth a visit,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CindyA471
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Cindy. We're glad that you all enjoyed all aspects of dinning with us. Thanks again.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Beadnell and visited Craster Arms four times. The outdoor area is great with dogs, but they are also welcome in the bar if the weather necessitates. Food was good although some of the vegetarian options were not available all week. The big disappointment is their service. Queues to order food and drink often stretched right through the bar,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GazzaTrip
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for all your comments. We can only apologise for the long queues you had to endure. We will be looking into what happened the week you visited, as this is not a regular occurrence. We will be talking to all members of staff on the issues you have raised and appreciate you bring them to our attention.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beadnell
6.7 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
6.6 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,164 reviews
9.7 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
189 reviews
16.5 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
978 reviews
0.0 km away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#2 of 8 in Beadnell
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Craster Arms has been serving locals and tourists alike since 1818 offering a true Northumbrian welcome to all its guests. Providing free wi-fi in public areas and serving food all day from breakfast to late evening snacks with local produce including seafood landed at nearby Seahouses featuring heavily on the menu. Our rooms are large, two of which feature seperate lounge areas ideal for families. We are a dog friendly establishment with designated dog friendly areas located throught the hotel and public bar. The Craster Arms is great for entertainment, playing host to local bands at weekends throughout the year from traditional folk to contemporary and tribute acts. In July our fantastic beer garden is the venu for our annual beer festival where ales from our many local micro breweries can be sampled along with great produce and entertainment. The Craster Arms is in an ideal location for touring northumberland with Holy Island (lindisfarne) and Bamburgh castles to the north and Dunstunburgh and Walkworth to the south. Inland 15 miles is the market town of Alnwick with its majestic castle (featured as hogwarts in the harry potter films) and the famous Alnwick gardens and treehouse. Three miles off the coast is the world famous nature reserve of the farne islands, nesting site to over 300,000 seabirds including puffins and razorbills and permanant home to a grey seal colony numbering 2000. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Craster Arms

Address: 2-4 The Wynding | Beadnell, Beadnell NE67 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beadnell
Price Range: RM446 - RM560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craster Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craster Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craster Arms Beadnell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Craster Arms staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Hetton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Craster Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not close to the pub's extractor fan!”
225carolined, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had the family room with a separate sitting room, sofa and fridge”
cityhobgoblins, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would imagine that the rooms are all quiet.”
Marperirish, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms I saw were very nice (Rooms 1 &3)”
644jonathana, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has a large bath, with a shower over. Ok, if you are fit and slightly agile.”
Jeff0901, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$104
TravelocityUS$107
TripAdvisorUS$104
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates