We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 449: English reviews
durham
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We stayed on Valentines day which just happened to be the stopover night before our Center Parcs stay nearby and our usual hotel had only availability for a jacked up price Valentines stay To be fair we got a better price at £89 b and b on late rooms than if we had booked with the hotel itself We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canadabound
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently and I hope you enjoyed your holiday at nearby Center Parcs. I delighted you enjoyed your visit and I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry the secondary glazing was not as effective as it could be, I'll make every effort to make improvements. We hope to see you...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights on business in February. The hotel is beautiful and full of old world character, think of wooden paneling and open fires. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is excellent, and if you have dinner included with your room their are no limitations, separate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Saint_PTX
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you very much! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The staff are excellent and very helpful however the food for dinner looked great on the menu - indeed, the starter of pigeon great with a risotto was - but the main course was a strange combination which didn't really work. Breakfast was a huge disappointment - poor sausages, over cooked black pudding and ghastly mushrooms. The scrambled eggs were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheBear54
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you had a bit of a mixed experience, I've discussed your comments with the team and taken the necessary action to prevent any reoccurrence. I sincerely hope you won't be deterred from visiting us again. Kind regards Kate Firth

United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday with my family, and I was very disappointed, I payed almost £200 for just one night in the Victoria suite. The shower and bath both had hair in, the shower leaked, the sink tap wouldn't switch off, dressing table drawer broken,both the remotes for the TV were broke and the back missing, all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you were disappointed in the Victoria Suite, it is such an elegant room and it's a real shame your stay was marred by these easy to fix details. We do carry out regular routine maintenance checks which thankfully must work because on checking the suite today I found everything had been repaired. It's most unusual to receive...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Very easy to get to just off A1 lovely superior room in the courtyard with great shower and super big bed. For a special occasion some extra special rooms in the main hotel also. Staff helpful and service good at dinner in the black and white restaurant but a little forgetful at breakfast. Quality of food for dinner very good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosiejkj
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm delighted you have enjoyed your visits to Ye Olde Bell, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again when you are next making your London trip! Kind regards Kate

Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is by no means cheap but the standard of service is well worth paying the extra for. Rooms are very clean, staff friendly and helpful. It seems to be always busy but the standards are maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave315978
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review, I'm delighted we impressed you with our level of service. The team work very hard to make all our guests feel at home and comments like yours are really appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kate

Hathersage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Following a special birthday afternoon tea in the function room, with melt in the mouth dainty pastries I now wish to return to soak up the cosy atmosphere of this old inn. It is an ideal venue for a (wedding) function with plenty of space for guests to find a quiet spot away from the function room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I love the term "Hidden Gem".......it makes the hotel sound most intriguing which of course we like to think it is! You must come back and visit us again soon, as well as the cosy bar we have two fabulous restaurants to choose from and in the summer you can even eat outside on our beautiful garden terrace. Hope to...

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

My birthday celebrations included a family lunch at Ye Olde Bell, with our ages ranging between 7 and "over 70". As it was Valentine's weekend,other diners must have been saving their celebrations until the evening so we had the luxury of having the dining room to ourselves. Between us all we sampled a good range of the menu, although making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Oh that sounds like a perfect family gathering, I'm so pleased you chose us to host your special birthday lunch, thank you. I'm delighted you enjoyed the food and that the team looked after you so well... they do have a real talent in assessing the appropriate level and style of service, comes with years of experience I expect !...

London
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Enjoyed our recent night's stay at the Olde Bell Inn. From the arrival until departure all the staff were extremely friendly. Our room was in a small courtyard development behind the hotel. The room was well equipped, just a couple of gripes 1) it was difficult to open the wardrobe door on one side as a complimentary tea table was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bazzerlondon
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed and constructive review, particularly the tips about your bedroom. Despite our best efforts it sometimes takes one of our guests to point out the obvious and we're always most appreciative!! I'm delighted you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kate

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to the bell and it was just as remembered. The room was slightly smaller but wonderfully decorated as is the rest of the hotel. The staff recognised us which we we very impressed with. We also had a visit from the head chef to help us pick our tea as were gluten and dairy free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wools90
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm delighted Chef was very helpful...they all like to escape the heat of the kitchen occasionally and they enjoy a chat with our guests. Thank you for recommending us, we are always delighted to welcome newcomers as well as our loyal regulars. We...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnby Moor
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
13.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
10.0 km away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
8.6 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bawtry
365 reviews
5.3 km away
Cherry Park Hall
Cherry Park Hall
#2 of 2 in Blyth
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17Th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star + Rosette and combining history with contemporary style. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Trendy Restaurant Bar 1650 and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu inc creative Rosette dishes plus traditional classics. Hotel Fitness Centre and hair and beauty treatment salons - brand new state-of-the-art Luxury Spa opens Spring 2017. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Price Range: RM577 - RM1,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
6 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel is in the country so I would presume all the rooms are fairly quiet, it might be a bit noisy above the banquet hall,”
 of 5 bubbles Mags1055P, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we have stayed in different rooms and can honestly say all dthe bedrooms are beautiful and luxurious.”
 of 5 bubbles 374lyndab, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not room 7 above the smokers corner”
 of 5 bubbles janicefaulkner123, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just go for breakfast as a non guest- it's very special.”
 of 5 bubbles Jbtomlinson, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the four poster bedrooms”
 of 5 bubbles mickledale, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay