We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Sherwood Forest

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Sherwood Forest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Sherwood Forest
 Click to rate
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Thank you Yvette , my daughter left a beloved teddy after staying on a school trip, Yvette searched through the bedding to be sent to laundry to find her, and rang back as promised- great customer service appreciated by both myself and my daughter .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank odelleg
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hostel, friendly staff and handy location. A couple of minor niggles let it down, compared to others we have enjoyed staying in. Seating and lighting in the lounge was very much functional rather than comfortable/ambient. Disappointed that we couldn't make ourselves a cup of tea - facilities available but no tea bags. Tea charged at £1.50 a cup. Felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viverella
Alan K, General Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we welcome all feedback and suggestions for improvement. Although we do not provide tea & coffee in the bedrooms we do have a bar serving hot drinks as well as a self catering kitchen for guests to make their own. Glad overall you enjoyed your stay with us and our...

Swaffham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Just came back today from staying here for two nights. Great little place. Breakfast was nice. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The hostel is very clean too. Great staff, great stay. I arrived at the hostel in dusk and found it really easy. Great location too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Staceyparry
Alan K, General Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hostel. Great to see you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We had a fantastic half term (Oct) stay with our 3 Grandchildren. Loads to do in the area. The staff at YHA were very friendly & helpful. The kitchen was well equipped for self catering & the restaurant offered value for money with their meals. Would recommend YHA to others. This is our second stay with YHA our first being...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janegary2016
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

All in all, this was a good hostel to stay in. It wasn't easy to find, as it was off a side road. Sign postsing was good, once you got to within 100 metres of the place. This was the first YHA we stayed in 10 years ago, and hasnt changed much. Staff where friendly and helpful. Didnt help that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
Alan K, Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hostel. Great to see that you enjoyed our breakfasts and evening meals. I will pass on your comments to our catering manager in regards to offering a larger selection of gluten free food. I hope to welcome you back to YHA Sherwood Forest in the future.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stay here for 4 nights what a fantastic place the staff were great, The rooms are clean and tidy and the kitchens are the same. There is also a restaurant also where meals are good and very reasonable. Lounge area lots of games, books with tv and plenty of outside tables and sitting area, also parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Herbert532
Alan K, Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for positive review, We're glad that you had a good time, and hope to see you again soon.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Lovely setting and friendly staff who were very helpful. The en-suite room was clean and functional. The pre-ordered breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. The self catering kitchen was well stocked and clean. My only criticism is the poor sound insulation and banging doors - the door closure mechanism needs adjusting and that would be the problem solved! Very close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bexy101
Alan K, Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review, We're really glad you had a good holiday with us, and we look forward to having you back!

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

As July can be an expensive time for short breaks with families you must explore all the opportunities a modern day YHA can offer. We booked a family room which was adequate with bedding provided and towel hire at £2 if needed. Wet room ensuite with additional toilets and shower close by for the morning rush! Would recommend the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael F
Alan K, General Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Fantastic review, very pleased to hear that we have converted you to the joys of staying with YHA. We are sure you will enjoy exploring our amazing locations across England & Wales and we look forward to welcoming you back to YHA Sherwood Forest.

aAt my desk
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Great setting and well looked after by Nigel the warden. Edwinstowe a lovely wee place to visit. Short walk to Sherwood Forest visitors centre and the Major Oak. We had a family room with en suite. Great vfm as was breakfast. If we holiday in this area again it would be our first choice for accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank windyatmydesk
Alan K, General Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. I will pass on your kind comments to Nigel and we do hope you will stay with us again the next time you are visiting Sherwood Forest.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Staff were Amazing, really helpful & friendly. Rooms were spacious & clean. Bedding was clean & fresh. Some of the doors could do with having the spring closure mechanism repaired as slamming/banging doors....wakes people up!! The shared kitchen is ideal for late night snacks too!!, The food & drinks were perfect.....the whole place is Brilliant & we recommend it for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bexappeal
Alan K, General Manager at YHA Sherwood Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a trip advisor review to highlight your great stay with us. We really enjoyed having you here for your special weekend (Nigel had great fun judging the fancy dress competition :) and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
0.3 km away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
166 reviews
7.9 km away
Clumber Park Muthu Hotel and Spa
16.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Dukeries Lodge
Dukeries Lodge
#5 of 6 in Edwinstowe
173 reviews
0.6 km away
Marion's Manor
Marion's Manor
#2 of 6 in Edwinstowe
49 reviews
2.9 km away
Sherwood Castle Holiday Forest
Sherwood Castle Holiday Forest
#1 of 4 in Newark-on-Trent
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Sherwood Forest

Address: Forest Corner, Edwinstowe NG21 9RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Price Range: RM136 - RM547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Sherwood Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your YHA Sherwood Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Sherwood Forest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some family rooms have a private terrace.”
Bexy101, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“no in room wi-fi, however strong signal in communal areas”
MikeP_Mawsley, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“family ensuite rooms over look car park and have a small patio outside - allowed for personal entrance, useful with small children”
751SarahR, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are quite noisy if there are kids running around upstairs.”
janeg149, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a patio as that way you can sit just there at night and relax whilst the kids play.”
jennifersW9740AX, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5