We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bignell Park Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bignell Park Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bignell Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 409: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I have stayed at the Bignell Park before and unfortunately this visit was my last. The staff are friendly, the food is good, the rooms are clean but looking a little tired and the bathroom on this occasion was poor. My daughter booked for me, using my name and very kindly paid for the room, on arrival there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJH8RN
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel and the feedback given. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience suffered as a result of the issues you have mentioned. The confusion over the name on the reservation was evidently because it had been made by your daughter and her name had been given....

Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this friendly, well-run, country hotel. The staff were very obliging and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious, clean and well-furnished. We took breakfast and dinner at the hotel on both days of our visit. The menu was both varied and excellent value for...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank David B
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We have just returned from a special deal two night break at this hotel. I can recommend this hotel, the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Clean , tidy, and comfortable what more could you need.!! Our deal included £50 off our evening meal which was very good. Breakfast was excellent something for everyone, super fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank MANDY305
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel and your positive feedback on all aspects of your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

We really liked this hotel. Its location and surroundings are very nice. The staff were friendly. The rooms very clean. Next time, when I visit Bicester village I will stay there. It is not expensive. The other hotels we checked online were more expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank jwang86
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel and your positive feedback regarding the staff and cleanliness. I am delighted to note that you will return on your next visit to the area and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

We went with friends for a few days away from Wednesday to Friday. The lady on reception was really friendly & very helpful as were all of the staff while we were there. They gave us helpful advice on the park & ride when we wanted to visit Oxford. The breakfast was really good with a selection of cereals, fruit,...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Julie P
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel and your positive feedback regarding the staff, cleanliness and quality of food. I am delighted that you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your stay and would recommend the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

If you're looking to hire a soulless function room complete with tacky disco then this is the place for you. If however you are looking for a hotel, then best keep driving. Or better still, just don't pay £140 to sleep your car like us. We arrived around 9pm after a long tiring day on the road to discover that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GarethHance
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Saturday 27th June at Bignell Park Hotel. Your comments are somewhat surprising. You did NOT pay £140 for your Bed & Breakfast. It was reduced by the 'ineffectual Duty Manager' to £100, which you agreed was a fair price. The noisy function room below your bedroom was in fact...

Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Arrival- When we arrive the receptionist was lovely and friendly and our room was ready before check in time. Room- The room was lovely and spacious and we had a lovely view. Everything we needed, apart from tooth paste. Location - The hotel itself in located in a fielded area, which is lovely, but my partner renamed it the bugnall...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hannah R
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park hotel and your kind comments regarding the room, staff and food. We are situated in the countryside and in the hot weather have the windows open. With lights on in corridors, it is natural that moths will be attracted to the light and enter the hotel....

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We stayed her before in 2012 and the hotel is much improved since then, as the rooms have been refurbished. However, on our stay this time the radiator was leaking onto the laminate floor and the toilet didn't flush - a quick chat with reception and we were given an alternative room next door for the 2nd night, so all...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank louisecp2015
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel and your comments regarding the staff and quality of food. As you quite rightly point out, we have made a lot of improvements to the hotel over the last couple of years. Our refurbishment programme is not yet complete, more a continual work-in-progress. I am...

london
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Stayed at the hotel with my husband on a wowcher deal - two nights. Lovely peaceful weekend away. Small hotel. There was a wedding going on at the same time which was good for us as we boogied outside to the disco. Staff were so obliging - bar closed when we stopped drinking. Food in the restaurant was lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank helen036
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel and your wonderful comments regarding the staff and food. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

The location is great. Our room was spotless. Reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and they gave us lots of useful information about the area.They recommended us to dine at the Turkish restaurant in town centre, I am glad they did. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank JonesMari
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly, professional and informative on where to go. It is nice to hear that you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
3.8 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
577 reviews
4.3 km away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,571 reviews
20.3 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
21.6 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful hotel, wedding venue and award-winning restaurant situated in the village of Chesterton, Oxfordshire. Bignell Park Hotel offers unique charm and character, whilst providing modern facilities to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, our services and facilities are tailored to meet your individual needs. We offer 22 uniquely styled, beautiful rooms, an award-winning restaurant Oaks, tailored meeting rooms and a charmingly romantic wedding venue. The hotel offers unbroken views across the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, whilst being conveniently located only minutes from the M40 motorway. Only five minutes from designer shopping outlet Bicester Village, Bignell Park Hotel is the perfect place to stay and relax after a long day's shopping. Bignell Park Hotel provides guests with a unique, quintessentially English experience. Situated in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside and enjoying magnificent views, the Bignell Park Hotel offers quality hotel accommodation and is the perfect location for exploring the very best of English heritage and beauty. We look forward to welcoming you to the Bignell Park Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Address: | Nr Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Price Range: RM403 - RM819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bignell Park Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
kent
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bignell Park Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 17 and 33 were lovely”
 of 5 bubbles mariahM1563KI, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“pre-book any spa treatments to avoid disappointment.”
 of 5 bubbles 686chriss, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure about the rooms as we were only here for a wedding reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Forest21, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Light sleepers should ask for rooms on the top floors or be kept up by stomping on plasterboard-like ceilings...”
 of 5 bubbles Gitana-Preciosa, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We only went for lunch .I would imagine all rooms would have a decent view as it is very much in a country area.”
 of 5 bubbles mollyw116, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5