We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Talbot Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Talbot Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Start your review of The Talbot Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nipped in for lunch with the wife and child, there's a notice on the door saying due to size restraint no dogs or push chairs can be taken into the bar, not the most welcoming of signs but as it was a nice day we sat outside. The courtyard has plenty of tables and little through traffic (pedestrians) so the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardPrince
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is becoming our local preferred place, as Wenlock has a varied choice of pubs and restaurants the Talbot is definitely worth trying. It has just had a makeover has that homely feel friendly attentive staff open fire what more can you want as well as great food. As a local we support local businesses but can honestly say you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Our friends live in Much Wenlock and we always go to The Fox (excellent pub) but they had a christening on. We did try The Raven so the Talbot was the third option. We were very pleasantly surprised. Little old fashioned pub, that was also very busy, but the Sunday lunch and the staff were excellent. Attentive staff, hot delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kay d
New Zealand
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

My partner Claire and I stumbled upon this little gem of find, in a slightly concealed courtyard off the High Street in Much Wenlock. It was the ideal place to rest up for relaxing refreshment with tea and coffee . . . Is it a pub or a cafe? It doesn't really matter as the staff were friendly and welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theoriginalbubster
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We were treated by a friend to a meal at the Talbot between Christmas and New Year. We received a warm welcome and sat in the dining room by the fire. The menu was varied and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - well cooked and presented and plenty of it! We will definitely be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _downes816
Swindon
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Visited the Talbot inn whilst staying in a holiday cottage nearby. Roaring log fire, friendly and welcoming staff and a wonderful home cooked roast dinner made for a very worthwhile visit. And all for the bargain price of £8.95. The only disappointment is that I live too far away to pop in for another great meal!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SwindonEggnog
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Ventured to this local Inn and encountered a warm welcome from local people. Good warm food at sensible prices. Splendid atmosphere. Fast service along with hearty helpings. Locals were happy to chat which is a bonus when your on business and travelling alone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Having been to this pub several times when I've visited Much Wenlock camping I was looking forward to our visit and meal. We booked up for a Saturday night knowing that previously how busy it gets. When we arrived it wasn't it usual bustling atmosphere and didn't seem as busy as on previous occasions. A young waiter attended to us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hatty64
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

On our way back home from our holiday we were passing through Much Wenlock and decided to stop. So glad we did, after a quick look round (as it was passed lunchtime) we didn't think anywhere would be still serving food BUT there was The Talbot Inn with a very delicious menu! Inside is very quirky, but cosy and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeni P
Reviewed 3 October 2016

my wife had the salmon excellent! I had the sirloin steak absolutely. Awful . Cooked as I asked for Medium rare but full of inedible gristle . One to avoid in the future. A 10 oz steak 4 oz inedible. So sorry! I really was looking forward to the food having read the reviews.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Sarah B, Owner at The Talbot Inn, responded to this review

First I would like to apologize for your steak you ordered,after reading your review we checked our remaining steaks and found they wasn't up to our normal high standards.we then stopped using that particular batch.We at the Talbot would love you to come back to see us and have another meal on the house to apologize.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Much Wenlock hotels
0.2 km away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
399 reviews
0.0 km away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
104 reviews
0.1 km away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#1 of 9 in Much Wenlock
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wenlock Studios
Wenlock Studios
#1 of 5 in Much Wenlock
58 reviews
1.5 km away
The Plume of Feathers
The Plume of Feathers
#5 of 9 in Much Wenlock
102 reviews
1.0 km away
The Withies Campsite
The Withies Campsite
#3 of 5 in Much Wenlock
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Little country inn run built in 1361. We have 6 en-suite rooms all with tv and tea and coffee making facilities. A private car park on back. Quite surroundings and peaceful breaks for everyone. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Address: High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Price Range: RM330 - RM440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Talbot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Talbot Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only ate here, but we are definitely going back to stay there”
 of 5 bubbles JeniP31, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“this is a very quite hotel , it is a listed building ,beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles sheilac949, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 very quiet away from the public bar”
 of 5 bubbles richardtZ3738VC, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms perfectly adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles christ046, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay but kept coming back to eat”
 of 5 bubbles pat75125, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5